We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful space and Awesome hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Pachamama for three weeks and had a wonderful experience there. The new owners, Estelle amd Florian, were two of the most sincere, kind hosts we have ever come across. They made us a wonderful breakfast every morning and they were always available to answer questions and give advice on what to do in the area. They even had us over for carribean rum punch and hors d'oeuvres. Our rooms were cleaned every day and we always had fresh beach blankets waiting for us every morning. We really enjoyed the free use of the bicycles and used them almost every day. The space that Pachamama sits on is a beautiful tropical garden setting with many different flowering plants and trees. The cottages are very comfortable with good privacy. We really enjoyed seeing howler monkies, white faced monkies, three toed sloths, poison dart frogs, and all the different tropical birds right from our porch. Did I mention that they are a short walk away from the BEST beach in the area:) If you are looking for a laid back tropical setting with great service at an awesome price, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewT857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Matthew and Dear Candy, thank you for sharing such a great review. We feel very proud to learn how much you enjoy staying with us and how much you like the services and attention that we provide. We feel also very proud whenever our guests leave as happy as you did
There is nothing more we want than to see a smile on our guests´ faces, that way, we are going to be sure that our efforts were accomplished. We are always doing our best to provide our guests with everything they need and the most welcoming and friendly atmosphere to make their stay with us a wonderful experience.
Once again, thank you very much for your visit
Happy Holidays!
Yours truly, Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Tocanes (Toucan) room for four nights at the end of November/beginning of December. It was a great experience that I will definitely remember and hope to experience again some day.

I'm not going to lie, I was a little leery upon realizing our cute little cabin had bug screens on all the windows and around the bed so you could leave the windows open as it had no a/c. Granted, I go camping - in tents - which have no a/c and leave me much more exposed to critters, so I'm not quite sure why I was thrown off for a moment. I'm going to blame the day of travel and the fact that sometimes I can be a tad prissy.
HOWEVER, I very quickly got over this hesitation after I looked around and saw how clean the cabin was, the screens were secure (kept the bugs/insects out), and the grounds were beautiful. The shower had hot water (the trick is to not turn the water on too much as the water heater is in the shower head) and great water pressure! It was nice to pretend that the little cabin was our jungle home for four nights.

My absolute favorite thing about the cabin at Pachamama was listening to the sounds of the jungle at night/early morning. If we had stayed at a place with a/c and sealed windows I wouldn't have heard what I called the "hipster frog" and his apathetic "meh....meh...meh", the ghostly sounds of the howler monkeys, or just the sounds of the wind moving through the jungle. It was such a welcome change from honking horns, loud motorcycles, and general city noise. You feel so close to nature, in a good way - on a comfy bed and in a clean cabin.

As for the owners...they were amazing. You can tell the two of them really care about the experience of the guests and the maintenance of the property. They were very thoughtful; leaving umbrellas for us, bringing us fresh picked bananas from their garden (which were sooo good), and even brought us breakfast the night before we left to store in our fridge because we had to leave at 6am. I'm going to give a special call out to Estelle, I have never met another person in the hospitality business who is a sincere and kind as she is.

The locations is great, Punta Uva is right across the street, the jaguar conservatory is right down the road, the "nightlife" is 5km down the road, and it's very safe.

Over all, would I recommend this to friends? Yes
Am I looking forward to returning (hopefully) one day? Yes

Room Tip: They have bikes and kayaks at your disposal...bonus!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for Excellent review. We appreciate that you provided so many details to potential guests including the cleanliness of the room!
Every day we do a thorough cleaning inside but also outside the house, in order to limit the insects that might come to disturb you during your stay. Mosquitos nets on the windows and on the bed also limit mosquitoes in homes.
I am very touched by your few words to me. Thank you very much, it's really very nice.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Pura vida
Estelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Recently spent a weekend at Pachamama. Rooms are nice and the location is good. However, what sets this place apart is the friendliness of the owners and little extra perks: Breakfast and bikes included! Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Pachamama as the breakfast and the free availability of bicycles.
Thank you so much for the Excellent review and 5 stars!
Sincerely,
Estelle et Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, and it was great experience. Our room was simple, but clean. We also had a porch where we could relax outside.

The owners were great - we got a delicious breakfast every morning, which was great to wake up to. They were so thoughtful, even placing two umbrellas on our door when it was raining, and serving us a bottle of rum with glasses, a bucket of ice, lime, and decorative flowers. Two bicycles were also provided for us. It's these little details that make this place a gem.

Also, this place is more in the jungle, but there is still a nice beach right down the street. Overall, Pachamama was great - affordable, and an excellent way to experience Costa Rica

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review "5 stars". We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast served on your terrace and our other services. We do this with great pleasure because your satisfaction is our greatest reward.
Pachamama is, indeed, in the jungle. It is for that, that you can see three different species of monkeys, tucans, frogs and various other animals.
Thanks again for taking the time to write a nice review.
Estelle & Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband & I stayed at Pachamama in Sept 2013 for 7 nights in the Toucan cabin.

Estelle & Florian were WONDERFUL hosts. They were responsive, organized & gracious. The accommodations were very clean. The shower had hot water with good pressure. The included breakfast consists of plenty of delicious food including Estelle's homemade muffins & lots of tropical fruit.

We chose this location because of it's proximity to Punta Uva beach. We needed the included cruiser bikes to be able to get to dinner & other activities as we did not rent a car. The bikes were in good condition & served us well. Pachamama was a quiet romantic option along the river & outside of the towns but close enough to be able to access everything by bike (a number of good restaurants within a 20min bike ride - bring headlamps for the night rides).

We felt this option was excellent value for the price. The hosts are thoughtful & were available for all our needs. We really enjoyed our stay (zero complaints!) & would highly recommend Pachamama.

Room Tip: Toucan room was a perfect option for 2 people. 2 hammocks on the balcony to relax ;)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for the Review! We really appreciate it you taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy that you had such a great vacation.
We hope to see you again.
Estelle & Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great location with private attention from Estelle and Florian.

The place is located just next to Punta Uva in the middle of Manzanillo and Puerto Viejo. Estelle and florian give private attention and provide all you would need. With bicycles (provided) you can easily commute and enjoy the beaches and the local town. Make sure to stop by the nearby restaurant and chocoart shop for ice cream!

The only cons to the location is that the property is adjacent to another property which can be noisy (occasional sound of motor vehicles). And it is far from main town for those looking to spending the night partying (which is not what this place is for). If you come to puerto viejo to drink and party then i would reccomend one of the many hostels in town, otherwise this place is a scenic and romantic getaway.

I am afraid of giving them 5 stars because i hope they are not booked out the next time we try to reserve the same place!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anubhavshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for writing us a nice review.
It is true that Punta Uva is a quiet, romantic and perfect for discovering the wildlife. Punta Uva is located in a preserved site: Gandoca Manzanillo wildlife refuge.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Estelle et Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Pachamama and had a wonderful time. Estelle and Florian were very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable.

Breakfast each morning was huge and delicious (fruits, breads, juice, coffee, sometimes meat and cheese or avocado). On our last morning we were to leave at 6:00 a.m. so we told them the night before, thinking we would leave without seeing them and they insisting on making breakfast the night before and put everything in our fridge to pull out in the morning!

Also, having bikes available for use was very nice - we were able to ride up to Puerto Viejo very easily, or down to Manzanillo.

The cabin we stayed in was exactly what we needed (the smallest one - I don't recall the name) with a full size bed and mosquito netting, small kitchenette, bathroom, and nice covered porch with a table and chairs, and two hammocks. The howler monkeys woke us in the morning, but you just get used to waking up early! We enjoyed going down the road by bike to restaurants, the beach, and the Jaguar Rescue Center. We thought the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123,456,789,176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Gérant at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It's very nice to know that you had a good time with us.
You have chosen the casita "Los Tucanes". Not very large (30m2), but we have optimized the best space so that you will find all the comfort you need. We are pleased that you enjoyed it.
Again thank you for choosing Pachamama for your stay in Puerto Viejo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#2 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toucan Stay Inn
The Toucan Stay Inn
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Address: | between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Jungle River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge,” Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river. Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pachamama Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo
Pachamama House And Bungalows

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing