We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Punta Uva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great B&B in Punta Uva”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for a week in March 2014 in the Toucan cabina. The cabinas are separated by lush foliage so they are very private. There was a small kitchenette with a stove and fridge so you could cook a meal but we never cooked there. Estelle & Florian are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. When it rained, they dropped off an umbrella and were very helpful on advising us on the local area. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and have not had better service, all with a genuine friendly smile! The breakfasts on the patio were fantastic!

The location is great if you want to relax. Punta Uva beach is a short walk away and is one of the most spectacular beaches you will ever visit. On the Recife side you can find a spot where you are virtually all alone if you like. Having the bicycles is fantastic as you can ride into Puerto Viejo or Manzanillo. You will see everyone drives around on bikes. The road to PV is flat and easy and there are no pot holes as some reports have suggested. There a few hills getting to Manzanillo but it's generally an easy ride. It's a wonderful way to explore the area and feel connected to it. Bring a light for at night! The road is dotted with many small restaurants with the most selection being in Puerto Viejo. You can also hop on the local bus to get to PV for around $1 which was quite comfortable and easy. They will stop right in front of the lodge. A taxi is about $10 to town.

Don't miss the Patty Man who rides up the road every day with the most delicious home made patties!

This area is great for travelers who want to get away from it all in paradise. The jungle around the area is filled with Howler Monkeys and other wildlife. There are no large resorts, Hard Rock Cafe, McDonald or Subway. Thank goodness! The towns around are rustic and not fancy so if you want to bring your high heals for a night on the town, this area is not for you. This is a beach bum, surfer town where all you need is flip flops.

We were extremely pleased with Pachamama Jungle River Lodge and will hopefully return again in the future!

Thank you Estelle and Florian for a wonderful stay and give Linda and Letize a pat for us! Hope to see you again!

Cheers, Gary & Tracey

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you Tracy and Gary for this wonderful review. It goes straight to the heart. We are delighted that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us.
We will be happy to welcome you again at a future stay.
All our friendships
Estelle, Florian, Letize and Linda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    28
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
62
167
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Rustic cabinas each with its own artwork on the walls. We were in the perezosos cabina, which gives a sitting room. This was helpful because the bedroom was almost entirely taken up by the bed, which had mosquito netting--helpful in preventing bites but making it hard to sit on the bed. Ceiling fans but no ac-- ac generally not needed most nights. Lighting in the cabina is a bit dim. Don't expect a hot shower, but the heating unit at the shower head takes the chill off. Front porch provides seating area, table, and hammocks. Nice to have a safe in the room. Estelle and florian bought the lodge about a year ago. They're a really nice couple and very helpful. Every morning Estelle brings a homemade hot breakfast with lots of fruit. Some wildlife on property and across the street , including a troop of howler monkeys. Bicycles available to borrow to ride into town or to beach. Tip: bring flashlights that strap onto your head for cycling to restaurants at night. Also be sure to use lots of deet. If u take a cab it's $10 to go to town or any place between the hotel and town because the taxis are based in town-- more to go beyond town or beyond the hotel in the other direction. It helps if u like to walk or bike ride to get around. One beach area is across the street with a short walk. A relaxing place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slands2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are pleased you had a relaxing and comfortable stay at Pachamama and thank you for having expressed your opinion.
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pachamama is everything it is advertised to be and more! Estelle & Florian are marvelous hosts--friendly, helpful, charming, and they go out of their way to be accommodating in any way they can. For example, when my arrival flights were cancelled (twice!), they put much effort into arranging and rearranging my transportation from the airport so I would not need to spend my 1st night in San Jose. And even though I did not arrive @ Pachamama until 1am, Florian greeted me at the gate with a big smile. After many days of frantic travel arrangements, I immediately felt welcomed and could finally relax. And it just got better from there. Estelle & Florian felt more like friends throughout my stay. And on the day of my departure, Florian was up at 6am to see me off at the gate, again with that big smile.

I spent 2 weeks in Los Perezosos in Feb 2014. The casa is charming & comfortable, with ample space for 1-4, and everything anyone could need in the kitchen for quick and simple meals. (It is also well built and maintained--not even one gecko snuck in!) The many screened windows and ceiling fans provided wonderful airflow; air conditioning is not needed. Nor is the mosquito netting for the bed, but that is a nice touch for those who may be concerned. The daily housekeeping service could not be beat. My apologies for forgetting her name, but she too does a wonderful job, and is also very pleasant, as well as unobtrusive. She left the casa spotless every day.

The grounds are lovely and Florian obviously works hard to keep them so. The river is another pleasure. I spent 2 hours one evening in their raft on the river, just watching and photographing all the monkeys, birds, a sloth.... It is a very short distance one can go, due to a downed tree, but I do recommend it. Although, you do not have to do even that to see the wildlife. Just step out onto your terrace. It is not everywhere in CR where one can stay and see howlers, spidermonkeys, capuchins, sloths, a huge variety of birds and butterflies, etc all in the back yard, but at Pachamama you can!

Estelle was also wonderful in taking the time and initiative to show me things she knew would be of interest to me---beautiful spiders, the birds nesting on their terrace, and a path into the jungle along the river by which I enjoyed many morning hikes. The bikes are always available, as are Florian and Estelle if you have any questions or need help making arrangements for an activity/outing. They are truly the best hosts one could hope for. Oh, and I know that everyone raves about the delicious, not to mention large, breakfasts, but I must do the same. They are fantastic. A morning can get no better than sitting on your own terrace, watching the jungle world, and indulging in those incredible breakfasts! If you have an early event planned, Estelle delivers your breakfast the evening before. Estelle considers this "normal", but it certainly is not common most anywhere else. Estelle & Florian make their guests feel special!

The fantastic Punta Uva beach and a small grocery store truly are just a 5 minute walk away, Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo easy bike rides. Plenty nearby restaurants; I had thought I might rent a car when I was there, but found I never needed one. Pachamama is ideally located. I spent plenty of time in both Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo. While both of those towns have their advantages, I would highly recommend Pachamama if you are looking for the best of everything CR's Caribbean coast has to offer: it is clean, it is quiet (except for the fun jungle sounds, of course), it is a true jungle experience, the best of the coast's beaches is right there, it is a birdwatcher's/photographer's paradise, wildlife abounds, and it is easily accessible to the national parks and other activities. (Do not miss the jaguar rescue center---a unique, impressive, & vital organization. A fun tour too, both for adults and kids). But best of all, Pachamama now has Florian and Estelle.

Thank you Florian and Estelle, for a fantastic vacation and everything you did to help make it so! I love to travel, and rarely go to the same area twice, (as it is a big world), but you and Pachamama will forever be one of my very favorites and one of the very few places that I would like to return to. Best of luck and everything else to you!

PS. Say Hello to Letice and Linda from me too! ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 727bonniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks, Bonnie, for this wonderful review. It goes straight to the heart.
Our housekeeper, Maria Antonia, also enjoyed the comments about it. She will thank you.
We took a lot of pleasure to make your stay as pleasant as possible and are happy to know that this is the case.
A thousand thank you
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in the Casita Los Colibries. Florian and Estelle were extremely helpful and warm during our entire stay, and were a pleasure to stay with. They provided fresh beach towels each day of our stay, and replaced them each morning with new dry ones, which was totally unexpected and helpful. Estelle even provided hats for us on a particularly sunny day when we were going out for a horse-back riding tour.

The included bikes were awesome, as the area at Punta Uva is a little scarce of close restaurants. Selvin's Restaurant, about 0.5kms North was delicious - try the Red Snapper and the Rondon while you're there. El Refugio Grill is about 1km South, and was one of the best restaurants we visited while we were there... definitely have Estelle or Florian make a reservation for you, as there are only 5 or 6 tables available. There's also a small grocery store about 100m's South which had a pretty good selection to fill our fridge. With our bikes, we were able to ride north about 3kms to Playa Chiquita, which has a few awesome restaurants (Jungle Love, Pita Bonita, etc).

If you're planning on riding at night, definitely bring a headlamp with you! Very helpful for navigating the road (as there are sections without street lights). I've read other reviews mentioning how treacherous and pot-holl filled the roads are between Puerto Viejo and Punta Uva, but I didn't find this to be true. There must have been recent paving in the area, as the roads are completely flat and easy to ride. We rode right into Puerto Viejo quite a few times during the day, and it was absolutely no problem.

The rooms were spotlessly clean every day, and the housekeeper always waited for us to leave in the morning before sneaking in to clean up the place. There is a safe available in the room, which worked perfectly for us. Breakfast was delicious each morning, with an assortment that usually had crepes, homemade muffins, or granola with a bowl of fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, spreads (fruit, peanut butter, and maple syrup), and more. We experienced howler, whitefaced, and spider monkeys all around our room while sleeping in the hammock on the deck, and saw lots of birds and other wildlife as well.

We tried the small motor boat tour that goes up the river about 1km. It is a short journey, but we saw a huge amount of wildlife in the 1.5hrs we spent out on the water. Estelle and Florian also took photo's of us in the boat and emailed them to us that evening. That brings me to the only 'con' we had while we were here... Internet access is very spotty, and when working is very slow. Don't arrive planning on taking care of any business (which you probably shouldn't be doing any way!). If you'd like to book any tours, let Estelle and Florian know and they can phone for you instead of trying to book online. Regardless, I found the best time to use the Internet was first thing in the morning. Unfortunately, the ISPs in Costa Rica have not gone further south than Playa Cocles or Chiquita, and they are relying on a slow expensive 3G cell phone service to provide the Internet.

We stayed for 7 nights, and could have stayed much much longer without becoming bored. We travelled on the bus to get here, which was an ok experience, but we decided to take a tour to return to San Jose. We booked the Tortuguero Canal and Banana Plantation tour with adventure connection through Gecko Trail Adventures, which was an awesome (and mostly private) way to return to San Jose after we were finished.

Estelle and Florian are obviously taking great care of the place, and are doing an awesome job keeping up the repairs in each of the cabins. It's a huge amount of work to stop the rust and corrosion from the humidity in the air, but any issues we had were dealt with the same day, and fixed. We had a wonderful stay, and will definitely return some time.

Thanks so much again, Estelle and Florian!!

Room Tip: No A/C in any of the rooms, I believe. We stayed in Casita Los Colibries, which had a hammock on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased with the many details you provide on your stay with us. We make every effort to be attentive to our guests and to best meet their expectations. We are very happy when we reached our goal: "Relaxing and carefree holiday for our guests"
thank you again
Regards,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As great as the Trip Advisor reviews have been, Pachamama proved even better than our expectations. Florian and Estelle were a pleasure to deal with; so helpful, thoughtful, and warm. We stayed in Casita Los Colibries, which was perfect; with everything we needed (we spent eight nights). A couple of pleasant surprises: we never had to use the mosquito netting and we never had to use bug spray. The breakfasts were terrific, changing somewhat every day. Always including lots of fruit, coffee, juice, yogurt and some variation of crepes, pancakes, granola and or toast. The location is perfect; away from the Puerto Viejo crowds and within walking or biking distance of several different beaches (Punta Uva was closest, an easy walk, and our favorite) and several good restaurants. If you come by car, they have a parking area on the property. When we returned in the afternoon our casita was always completely made up and spotlessly clean. They also supply beach towels, which is nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Many thanks for this notice, that once again fills us with joy.
We are very happy to know that you spent a pleasant stay in Pachamama.
Thank you for giving as many details about our services: breakfasts plentiful and varied, daily cleaning (we have high standards Regarding the quality and cleanliness of the houses we reserve), safe and secure parking, provision of bicycle and beach towels ...
A thousand thanks
Estelle

PS: I also took a lot of pleasure to meet you and to advance my English with you. Friendships.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Pachamama Jungle River Lodge is a beautiful retreat. It is far enough out of the way to be relaxing and free of the noises of the city. It was a great value for the quality of the accommodations and with a wonderful (and large) breakfast included every morning. The bikes (which were included in the price of the rental) made it easy to get around around and visit Puerto Viejo (8 Km) and Manzanillo (6 Km) whenever we felt like getting out of nature for a bit. The beach was a short walk away as well as a decent small store with a bus stop right outside. Estelle and Florian were the best and provided us with everything we asked for and several things we didn't even think of, like a flashlight for riding bikes at night. We stayed here for 11 days and never found ourselves bored, though, it can be a little out of the way if you want to experience the nightlife of Puerto Viejo. However, there are plenty of great restaurants a short bike ride away and a small gas stove top was in our casita which served well for cooking simple meals. We even took the opportunity to walk along the beach from Punta Uva to Puerto Viejo and am confident in saying Punta Uva is the best beach. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: No pools or fitness centers, but the Caribbean Sea and awesome nature hikes more than made up for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattFid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Season Greeting! We’ve just completed our first year as owner developers of Pachamama. We would like to thank everyone who helps us to see this special project came in life. Saying we have finished is a joke as we are always willing to improve our lodges thanks to your helpful comments. So now we can say that the new Pachamama is here waiting to welcome you.
Thanks for all the support and reviews. It has been a great year for us starting and sharing this new experience with you in our Jungle River Lodge.
Happy Holiday among us! Blessings.
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I last week spent 7 nights at this awesome little treasure in the jungle. We loved the area for its quiet relaxing atmosphere. But what I want mostly to mention is the excellent and very attentive service Estelle and Florian provided. We couldn't have asked for more, they were there to answer any questions we might have. Also, it was really nice having your breakfast served daily to our front deck. Yes, we loved the sounds of the wild howler monkeys and the plush jungle foliage which made us feel we were deep within the jungle but were only minutes to the most beautiful beaches. Estelle and Florian made us feel like family and on our last night we had purchased a bottle of rum in which Estelle delivered to our deck with glasses, candle, flowers, lime and ice bucket. That was so sweet of you Estelle and Gordy and I will never forget our stay with you. We look forward to our next visit and we would definitely recommend Pachamama for anyone looking either for some peaceful or romantic time, this is the place.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great, depending on your party size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many thanks for your great review and your kind words. We take great pride in taking good care of our guests and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was our pleasure meeting you and looking forward to seeing you back at Pachamama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,441 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#2 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Property: Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Address: | between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Jungle River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge,” Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river. Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pachamama Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing