We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Estelle and Florian were the perfect hosts to a perfect stay. We stayed in Los Monos with our 21 month old and Estelle emailed me in advance to ask what he would like for his breakfast. I was very impressed with her thoughtfulness. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and delivered to our terrace each morning.
There is no air conditioning, but the house was cool and welcoming and beautifully decorated.
The lodge is situated a few minutes walk from a gorgeous beach that our son happily, and safely, played on. There are plenty of quality restaurants within a short drive or bike ride.
We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review and your kind words. It was our pleasure meeting you and look forward to seeing you back in Pachamama soon!
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    28
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
61
165
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge in the Los Perezosos bungalow. Pachamama is a well-located, beautifully natural, and very comfortable place to be.

The jungle setting couldn't have been more intriguing. Most days we sat on our porch and watched families of howler monkeys play in the trees 40 to 60 feet away. The kids also found little lizards, blue morpho butterflies, and a couple of toucans. You felt enveloped by trees and the sounds of the jungle. The lodge is removed from the road by just the right amount of distance. In addition, the lodge is a short walk to the main entrance of gorgeous Punta Uva. For these reasons, Pachamama is one of the best located accomodations in the area!!!

Our family of four had plenty of room in our bungalow. The beds were fairly comfortable and all had mosquito netting. Breakfasts were delicious and hearty. The fridge was almost full size and wonderfully cold. The kids loved lying in the hammocks on the porch. I liked having the place cleaned every day and having beach towels and a hair dryer provided. My husband enjoyed using the WiFi as he relaxed on the porch.

Estelle and Florian were accommodating and friendly hosts. They provided breakfasts on the nights before our early morning hikes. Our children enjoyed them very much and their assistance in spotting animals in the trees. They even lent our son some picture cards for this purpose.

This place is a very good value for the money. I researched many accomodations in the area and this one came out on top in many ways and at a lower cost. We visited from April 5 -12, 2014.

Two things to consider: Pachamama is a 10-minute drive from Puerto Viejo and the water that comes out of the faucets is discolored during dry spells. As much clean drinking water as you want is provided from a large jug your bungalow.

Pachamama exceeded all of my expectations. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!!!

Room Tip: Los Perezosos is a good choice for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SnickerFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Many thanks for your review and 5 star rating. The many details you provide on Pachamama can be very useful for our future visitors.
We are really happy that you and your children have availed most of your stay in Punta Uva with us.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Costa Rica. You are welcome.
Once again we would express our sincere thanks for your kindness

Pura Vida
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for four nights in the casita Los Colibries, and I have to say we had very high expectations for our stay based on the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. It is a rare thing indeed to head somewhere with such high expectations, and to have those expectations not only fully met, but well and truly surpassed and exceeded - but this is indeed what we found with our visit to the delightful Pachamama Jungle River Lodge. There are not enough words in the English language to capture just how wonderful our stay here was, but having travelled widely in Costa Rica - I would happily recommend this wonderful lodge as the nicest place that I have had the pleasure to stay. Estelle and Florian clearly care very deeply about their guests, and this care was evident on a continual basis throughout our stay - from the delightful breakfasts served daily to our deck (including the best crepes ever tasted!), to all the small added extras (umbrellas on a rare rainy morning, the flashlight to get us to dinner etc.!).

Having stayed in Manzanillo, and visited Punta Vjelo - there is no doubt in my mind that anyone making the pilgrimage to this delightful part of the Caribbean coast, should stay in Punta Uva - delightful beaches, crystal clear seas, abundant wildlife (howler monkeys, capuchins, sloths, birds galore) and the piece de resistence, the Pachamama Jungle River Lodge! There is no better alternative!

Thank-you Estelle and Florian for your wonderful hospitality, and for a truly memorable stay. You should be very proud of all you have achieved, and we wish you great things for the future - hopefully we will get the opportunity to visit you again someday :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patters84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We are deeply moved by what you wrote. It is so nice. We make every effort to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and relaxed and had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us and we are extremely pleased to know that our goal is achieved.
Many thanks for your review. It warms us the heart
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a great stay at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge. We stayed for 6 nights in March 2014 in their Mariposa Casita. The Mariposa is their smallest cabin, and it does not have a kitchinette (just a fridge and a water dispenser), but the room is really charming and airy and the deck is simply awesome. Also, it was nice to find out that the bed in the room (which is large and really comfy) came with a mosquito net, as it was not clear from the web site if the bed did actually have one. It must be said that we didn't really have any problems with mosquitos while there, but it was a nice touch.

Estelle and Florian are really two splendid hosts, and they had been really helpful with us in any possible way: they are really offering an amazing service with a touch of friendliness that it is difficult to find elsewhere. Breakfast, which was served on our terrace, was simply amazing, and everyday different. Just an amazing way to start your day.

Punta Uva, the nearest beach, is an incredible beach and we just fell in love for it. Puertoviejo, is 8 kilomters away. We went there by bycicle once, but it is a solution suitable only during the day as at night the street is pitch-dark and it could be quite dangerous to ride, even with a flash light. A cab ride from Pachamama to Puertoviejo is quite expensive (10$ one way) but there is the public transit (even if not as frequent as one would like) that stops right in front of Pachamama. At any rate, if the idea is to explore the area, having a private mean of transportation is probably the best idea so our suggestion would be to rent a car for at least a couple of days, or - even better - a scooter (there are a few places that could rent you one in Puerto Viejo). Finally, if you are a light sleeper bring some earplug with you, as the howler monkeys (quite present in the whole area) do really howl!

Pachamama is really an enchanted place in an enchanted land and we will definitely go back there on our next journey to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kiastorta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for your 5 stars. Once again, we was delighted by so many compliments and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for giving additional details on our casita "Los Mariposas". It is true that the photos on our website have not been changed after the renovations we made.
Many thanks for everything.
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for a week in March 2014 in the Toucan cabina. The cabinas are separated by lush foliage so they are very private. There was a small kitchenette with a stove and fridge so you could cook a meal but we never cooked there. Estelle & Florian are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. When it rained, they dropped off an umbrella and were very helpful on advising us on the local area. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and have not had better service, all with a genuine friendly smile! The breakfasts on the patio were fantastic!

The location is great if you want to relax. Punta Uva beach is a short walk away and is one of the most spectacular beaches you will ever visit. On the Recife side you can find a spot where you are virtually all alone if you like. Having the bicycles is fantastic as you can ride into Puerto Viejo or Manzanillo. You will see everyone drives around on bikes. The road to PV is flat and easy and there are no pot holes as some reports have suggested. There a few hills getting to Manzanillo but it's generally an easy ride. It's a wonderful way to explore the area and feel connected to it. Bring a light for at night! The road is dotted with many small restaurants with the most selection being in Puerto Viejo. You can also hop on the local bus to get to PV for around $1 which was quite comfortable and easy. They will stop right in front of the lodge. A taxi is about $10 to town.

Don't miss the Patty Man who rides up the road every day with the most delicious home made patties!

This area is great for travelers who want to get away from it all in paradise. The jungle around the area is filled with Howler Monkeys and other wildlife. There are no large resorts, Hard Rock Cafe, McDonald or Subway. Thank goodness! The towns around are rustic and not fancy so if you want to bring your high heals for a night on the town, this area is not for you. This is a beach bum, surfer town where all you need is flip flops.

We were extremely pleased with Pachamama Jungle River Lodge and will hopefully return again in the future!

Thank you Estelle and Florian for a wonderful stay and give Linda and Letize a pat for us! Hope to see you again!

Cheers, Gary & Tracey

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you Tracy and Gary for this wonderful review. It goes straight to the heart. We are delighted that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us.
We will be happy to welcome you again at a future stay.
All our friendships
Estelle, Florian, Letize and Linda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Rustic cabinas each with its own artwork on the walls. We were in the perezosos cabina, which gives a sitting room. This was helpful because the bedroom was almost entirely taken up by the bed, which had mosquito netting--helpful in preventing bites but making it hard to sit on the bed. Ceiling fans but no ac-- ac generally not needed most nights. Lighting in the cabina is a bit dim. Don't expect a hot shower, but the heating unit at the shower head takes the chill off. Front porch provides seating area, table, and hammocks. Nice to have a safe in the room. Estelle and florian bought the lodge about a year ago. They're a really nice couple and very helpful. Every morning Estelle brings a homemade hot breakfast with lots of fruit. Some wildlife on property and across the street , including a troop of howler monkeys. Bicycles available to borrow to ride into town or to beach. Tip: bring flashlights that strap onto your head for cycling to restaurants at night. Also be sure to use lots of deet. If u take a cab it's $10 to go to town or any place between the hotel and town because the taxis are based in town-- more to go beyond town or beyond the hotel in the other direction. It helps if u like to walk or bike ride to get around. One beach area is across the street with a short walk. A relaxing place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slands2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are pleased you had a relaxing and comfortable stay at Pachamama and thank you for having expressed your opinion.
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pachamama is everything it is advertised to be and more! Estelle & Florian are marvelous hosts--friendly, helpful, charming, and they go out of their way to be accommodating in any way they can. For example, when my arrival flights were cancelled (twice!), they put much effort into arranging and rearranging my transportation from the airport so I would not need to spend my 1st night in San Jose. And even though I did not arrive @ Pachamama until 1am, Florian greeted me at the gate with a big smile. After many days of frantic travel arrangements, I immediately felt welcomed and could finally relax. And it just got better from there. Estelle & Florian felt more like friends throughout my stay. And on the day of my departure, Florian was up at 6am to see me off at the gate, again with that big smile.

I spent 2 weeks in Los Perezosos in Feb 2014. The casa is charming & comfortable, with ample space for 1-4, and everything anyone could need in the kitchen for quick and simple meals. (It is also well built and maintained--not even one gecko snuck in!) The many screened windows and ceiling fans provided wonderful airflow; air conditioning is not needed. Nor is the mosquito netting for the bed, but that is a nice touch for those who may be concerned. The daily housekeeping service could not be beat. My apologies for forgetting her name, but she too does a wonderful job, and is also very pleasant, as well as unobtrusive. She left the casa spotless every day.

The grounds are lovely and Florian obviously works hard to keep them so. The river is another pleasure. I spent 2 hours one evening in their raft on the river, just watching and photographing all the monkeys, birds, a sloth.... It is a very short distance one can go, due to a downed tree, but I do recommend it. Although, you do not have to do even that to see the wildlife. Just step out onto your terrace. It is not everywhere in CR where one can stay and see howlers, spidermonkeys, capuchins, sloths, a huge variety of birds and butterflies, etc all in the back yard, but at Pachamama you can!

Estelle was also wonderful in taking the time and initiative to show me things she knew would be of interest to me---beautiful spiders, the birds nesting on their terrace, and a path into the jungle along the river by which I enjoyed many morning hikes. The bikes are always available, as are Florian and Estelle if you have any questions or need help making arrangements for an activity/outing. They are truly the best hosts one could hope for. Oh, and I know that everyone raves about the delicious, not to mention large, breakfasts, but I must do the same. They are fantastic. A morning can get no better than sitting on your own terrace, watching the jungle world, and indulging in those incredible breakfasts! If you have an early event planned, Estelle delivers your breakfast the evening before. Estelle considers this "normal", but it certainly is not common most anywhere else. Estelle & Florian make their guests feel special!

The fantastic Punta Uva beach and a small grocery store truly are just a 5 minute walk away, Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo easy bike rides. Plenty nearby restaurants; I had thought I might rent a car when I was there, but found I never needed one. Pachamama is ideally located. I spent plenty of time in both Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo. While both of those towns have their advantages, I would highly recommend Pachamama if you are looking for the best of everything CR's Caribbean coast has to offer: it is clean, it is quiet (except for the fun jungle sounds, of course), it is a true jungle experience, the best of the coast's beaches is right there, it is a birdwatcher's/photographer's paradise, wildlife abounds, and it is easily accessible to the national parks and other activities. (Do not miss the jaguar rescue center---a unique, impressive, & vital organization. A fun tour too, both for adults and kids). But best of all, Pachamama now has Florian and Estelle.

Thank you Florian and Estelle, for a fantastic vacation and everything you did to help make it so! I love to travel, and rarely go to the same area twice, (as it is a big world), but you and Pachamama will forever be one of my very favorites and one of the very few places that I would like to return to. Best of luck and everything else to you!

PS. Say Hello to Letice and Linda from me too! ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks, Bonnie, for this wonderful review. It goes straight to the heart.
Our housekeeper, Maria Antonia, also enjoyed the comments about it. She will thank you.
We took a lot of pleasure to make your stay as pleasant as possible and are happy to know that this is the case.
A thousand thank you
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#1 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Property: Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Address: | between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Jungle River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge,” Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river. Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pachamama Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing