We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievable!! A wonderful experience!”
other traveller has booked this property
OTHERS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OTHERS
OTHERS OTHERS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Courtenay...
Matawan, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!! A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Toucan during the 1st week of September. We didn't really know what to expect but all of the reviews seem to be great so we went. We had a wonderful time here! Villa Toucan was clean, and the views were incredible. I brought a book with me to catch up on reading, but never read. I was too distracted by the monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds, all of the wildlife right in our own very backyard! The whole house is open, with the exception of the bedrooms which you can close shut. If you close the doors at night, no bugs will come in so don't worry! You wake up to Howler Monkeys which is amazing. The bathrooms were so cool! They are outside, but facing the jungle and very private. I loved it and now I prefer it this way!! There are tons of beaches (gorgeous beaches, incredible) and places to eat/shop nearby. You do need a car as the villa is located up a large hill and the towns are spread apart. Villa toucan was very safe/remote. The owner, Emmanuelle and her daughter were SO NICE and extremely helpful. If you need anything, Emanuelle is there. Fresh eggs from her chickens, yoga classes (which we attended one w/ her at Treehouse Yoga down the road, AMAZING!), dinner suggestions etc...whatever it is, she is very accomodating and ready to help. Again, the Villa was very private so you don't feel like anyone is on top of you or even checking in...Oh - and we also had a cleaning service come a couple of days as well. Fantastic! We learned a lot about nature, wildlife, and just life itself being out here in Costa Rica. It was definitely an adventure, we saw things we never dreamed of, and all in all it was an increbible journey off the beaten path....I would highly recommend Villa Toucan in Punta Uva if you are looking for an experience like this one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Living in the jungle and waking up to the Howler Monkeys
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphaele...
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most fabulous place on earth”
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay in Villa Toucan. We were woken each morning by the roar of the howler monkeys and treated to a bird show every afternoon as we watched the toucans flying by right in front of our porch. The windows and doors are all well screened, so we didn't have any bugs in our rooms, yet we were still able to see very interesting creatures like grasshoppers and walking sticks all around the property. The girls were able to eat fresh eggs from the chickens and we had filtered water in the kitchen. Although we did walk to the beach once, it's preferable to rent a car if staying here as it's faster to get to the beach that way. Oh, and even in the middle of the jungle, there was excellent wifi so we were able to skype with family back home! We love staying here, we will be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and wildlife
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Sussex
Reviewed 30 May 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Va
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yabbayabb...
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just sit back and enjoy THAT view!”
Reviewed 26 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Villa Toucan is located at Punta Uva, Caribbean coast, set back in the forest but with a stunning vantage point. From the deck you can look out over the vista of trees and shrubs down to the ocean.
The house :-
Central, well equipped kitchen, open to that view with a bedroom and bathroom on either side. There was a 'welcome basket' of various fruits etc. The owners, Emmanuelle and Manuel live in a house close by so, although you feel you have the seclusion there is someone on hand to help with any questions. The bedrooms are well presented, shiny clean with plenty of storage space and with window shutters that open onto a little balcony and the view! At the back of each bedroom is an 'open air' bathroom - they are cleverly situated so each is quite private.
Outside is a covered 'bohio' with hammocks for relaxing. The garden immmediately around the villa is beautiful and well tended.
Where it is :-
We arrived without a car but found we needed one so we did hire one (which was easy). We were travelling with our daughter and son-in-law. They had not been to Costa Rica before and wanted to see all the sights so a car was essential. If we had been staying at Villa Toucan alone (having been to the Caribbean coast before) we may well have walked or hired bikes to go to the beach. There are two fairly steep hills to walk up and down to get from the house to the main road, then a short walk along the main road and a turn off to the beach, it all depends how you feel about excersize! (Punta Uva beach is truly beautiful and there is a handy little beach bar for food and drinks)
We did walk down the the closest restaurant (which, in our opinion is the best on the Caribbean coast) two evenings. You need good torches but the walk is well worth it even if you have a car. We saw agouti and iguana on the walk as well as numerous small and interesting creatures.
A word on the wildlife - one magical late afternoon more than twenty toucans were in the trees around the villa. Parrots were overflying all the time, a blue headed parrot landed so close but didn't stay long enough to get that shot! The Potoo was around with its eerie call.
All round we would say that not only is Villa Toucan beautiful it has one of the best spots on the coast - go there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor living
Liked least: The very small ice box!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing