We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rainforest Beach Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
The White Cottage reflecting in the pool at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White Cottage reflecting in the pool at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Pool in the jungle at 'Ginger & Cacao'. The White Cottage and the pool area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The White Cottage reflecting in the pool at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Pool in the jungle at 'Ginger & Cacao'.
The White Cottage and the pool area.
The pool area and deck at dusk. Perfect for romantic dinner by the pool.
Welcome to The White Cottage!
The White Cottage interiors.
Views of the ocean and the pool from the cottage.
Fully equipped kitchen, with dishwasher including, and dining area at the cottage.
Verandas. Perfect to relax after a long day at the beach and enjoy the ocean views.
Ocean views from 'Ginger &  Cacao'.
Verandas for al-fresco dining.
Bath & shower at the cottage. Not on the picture, a spacious walk-in closet.
Alfa-male howling monkey on our trees.
White face capisine. Always curious, always adorable and always looking for something to steal:)
Our most beautiful visitors, the amazing toucans!
Punta Uva beach at its best!
Villa Cacao at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Ocean view deck at villa Cacao.
Ocean views from villa Cacao.
Sitting - sleeping area at villa Cacao.
Fully equipped kitchen, with dishwasher including, with jungle & ocean views at villa Cacao.
View of bar & deck from the kitchen at villa Cacao.
Deck with bar at villa Cacao.
'White Corrals' bedroom with master bath at villa Cacao.
'White Corrals' bedroom.
Punta Uva beach on a perfect day.
Puerto Viejo beach.
Punta Uva beach at low tide.
Sloth-mama, the most gentle animal.
Villa Ginger at 'Ginger & Cacao' property.
Villa Ginger with jungle & garden decks.
Dining area by the jungle deck at villa Ginger.
Fully equipped kitchen with dining area at villa Ginger.
'Red Corrals' bedroom by the jungle deck at villa Ginger.
'Red Corrals' bedroom.
'Red Corrals' bedroom.
'Blue Ocean' bedroom at villa Ginger.
Bathroom with jungle views at villa Ginger.
Guapo & me. We found him on the ground, enjoyed few special moments with him. Now at the Sloth Cente
Punta Uva beach at sunset.
Caretakers' cottage, with the property laundry.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EmmaFlind...
Flinders, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rainforest Beach Retreat”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the whole property (it has three houses on it) so that we would have privacy, and it was a perfect place to hang out if not out exploring the area, and had everything you would want - full kitchen, wifi, tv etc. Zvezda, the owner, went out of her way to make sure we had everything we wanted, she even made a trip from San Jose with some groceries I had asked for which she didnt think we could have got in the area (we didnt have a car). There was a mini supermarket though called El Duende Gourmet nearby that did stock everything, along with the most sensational freshly baked croissants - chocolate filled ones were sensational! The caretakers, Claudia and Adonis were very helpful and although they didnt speak English and I have limited, very basic Spanish, we were able to communicate. It was wonderful waking up in the morning to the sound of the Tucans croaking! The sound of howler monkeys were equally great, but they sound like something out of a alien horror movie! The only negative of the location would be the hill leading up from the main road, OK at night, but in the middle of a hot, humid day, you nearly expire walking up it!!!! but luckily there is an outside shower and pool to fall into upon reaching the property! good exercise anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor area around the pool, hammocks, shade, beautiful tropical garden
Liked least: Walking up the hill leading to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The jungle in style...”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ginger and Cacao presents the jungle and it's inhabitants within a few steps of your door while providing a manicured landscape for your poolside comfort. The loafing hut with hammocks and exercise equipment provides a serene outdoor space to rest or workout as you desire. You can't go wrong with any of the accommodations since the floorplans are all thoughtfully planned and each is uniquely and tastefully decorated; both the art and the home goods.

Zvezda and her team keep the property in impeccable shape and are as available as you want them to be to help with anything you need. I was personally greeted by them all upon arrival and invited to join the trip to Saturday morning market and breakfast. Punta Uva is a friendly and welcoming community. Zvezda proliferates opportunites for inclusion with introductions to people, places and events.

If you are looking for a stylish retreat in the jungle, this is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you, Mary for your review! You were a wonderful guest and we enjoyed having you! And thank you for your generous donation in support of our Puerto Viejo Dog Rescue Group! Your contribution will make a difference and is much appreciated! Hope to have you back at the property soon:) Best, Z
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seamag1
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Eden-like Property for a Special Family Getaway”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented all three dwellings on this magnificent jungle-like property for my wife and me, our son, his wife and our 2 young grandsons for an entire week. We woke up to Howler monkey roars in the distance and flocks of squawking parrots flying by. We viewed a sloth, toucans and monkeys in our trees. The descriptions and pictures of the property were accurate and our experience exceeded our expectations. All three cottages were well appointed and extremely clean. We took full advantage of the beautiful pool and the cabana, which were well used by our 2 and 4 year old grandsons.

We were close to any number of beaches, restaurants and stores with our rental vehicle. We took advantage of a night tour (CEIBA) just up the gravel road running by this estate. Zvezda went out of her way to set up reservations for my wife's birthday during our stay at a great restaurant (Koki Beach), where a sloth visited us near our table.

The onsite caretakers were always available, friendly, but never intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beauty and location of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Dear Stan, thank you for your wounderful review! I'll pass it to our caretakers and will let my friends from the Koki Beach restaurant know of it too. I'm happy you had a good time here at the property and in the area. We work hard and your satisfaction is our utmost reward:) Say hi to everybody! My best to you all! Zvezda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mer A
Mahahual
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavalette
toulouse
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Lavalette, thank you for review! All of us are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience in our beautiful Caribe Sur! You were wounderful guests and we enjoyed having you! I agree with you that a sign to the property of the main road will be helpful, and we did have one, but the local municipality removed all signs as they were working on the road. Until that job is completed we can't put new ones. However, I always send detailed directions to the property and make sure that our guests find us easily. Thanks again for choosing us for your vacation, take care and be well! And come and visit us again:) Best, Zvezda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;