We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and thought it was okay. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast which is really good. There's also a fitness center and a pool in the hotel so if you have kids they will enjoy these amenities. There is a bowling place behind the hotel which the kids would love to. I would have given this hotel four stars but I because if customer service and getting the wrong information from different people i settled for three stars instead. Definitely call numerous times to check the info you got was right.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gabby t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHILR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Good day to you. We greatly appreciate when our guests let us know about their stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay at the hotel and our amenities met your expectations. But we do apologize for any issues you experienced with information being incorrect for reservations. We strive to give our guests a great stay from start to finish. And we will be addressing this issue. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope that we will see you again. Hope you are having a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    47
    25
    2
    7
See reviews for
66
8
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Check in was quick, Reserved a 2 bedroom suite as as it was husband wife son and daughter, it had 2 beds and sofa couch, we thought bedroom would actually be bedrooms, separate rooms but was actually one long room with partition separating the 2 beds, it did however have 2 tvs which was nice, once you close partition and have to use restroom you have to slide open and walk past the bed and couch to use bathroom, its 2 beds but not 2 bedrooms. I wanted to wash a couple of things but they have no laundry room. Couldn't use pool as someone had thrown up in it and it was closed. Bath water could have been hotter, Rooms were clean, sofabed was old and sagging and beds were hard around edges and soft in center, Breakfast was descent. The hotel is a easy drive to Great Lakes Naval base about 4 to 5 miles, about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear surfingmo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I am happy to read you like our convenient location. However, I deeply apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the room accommodations and hotel facilities. Your feedback is important to us which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest.

Again, thank you so much for your valuable review. We hope to see you again in the future and provide you a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice, new hotel with modern finishes & conveniently located to shopping & great restaurants. Our hotel room was very spacious & clean. The continental breakfast was great!

Our complaints:
- The pool was very cold & the whirlpool was only lukewarm (hence the reason we didn't use this area for long)
- The wall are VERY thin & you can hear complete conversations..
- The people in the room above us were playing VERY loud music & banging around late at night. It started around 10:30pm and we let it go on until 1am, at which point, my husband went down to complain to the front desk staff. She said she would address the situation, but the only thing that got better was the music was turned down slightly. We could hear them banging on things & swearing... this all went on until after 3am... We didn't get a good night sleep.

At checkout (a different staff member than at night), the front desk clerk didn't even ask how our stay was. If she would have we would have told her exactly what we thought. We were so tired & upset that we didn't bother to complain again. I feel we should have been offered some sort of a discount by the night staff as the problem was never taken care of. We expect to sleep when we go to a hotel & for the price we paid for the room, this was ridiculous!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60270Familyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were there just for the weekend. We ended up with a flat tire and one of the staff members, Arturo, helped us out tremdously with this!! Thank you Arturo!! Great Place to stay, good price and clean

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was very nice. Not noisy at all as other reviewers have mentioned. Elevators were REALLY slow (I think one was broken on the second day we were there). Breakfast (complimentary) was quick and filling. They always have the coffee going in the greatroom area where the breakfast was served. My one negative would be that one of the desk clerks needed to be trained in customer service skills. She was surly and had a poor attitude about helping customers. She also disappeared for a good 5 minutes when she saw me coming to check out. Perhaps she would be better working at the Wal-Mart across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel in general, as well as our room, was very modern, updated decor, and incredibly clean. I was very pleased with the cleanliness. No signs of bed bugs either.

Staff were quite friendly. Good location.

A couple of rants, however:

Hotel doesn't provide in-room luggage stands. Very inconvenient.

Continental breakfast area was very poorly staffed and furnished. Very few tables for a busy weekend. Many people left unhappy. Also, food was not prepared timely or kept stocked on the buffet.

Pool area reeked of chlorine, which is not a good thing. Area surrounding pool was moldy and mildewy and pretty gross.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHSB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Standard Holiday Inn. Easy check in with some errors on final bill. Straightened out by friendly manager. Nice room. Ladies - bring shower cap and make up mirror. Poor bathroom lighting. Standard breakfast. Local chains for food in the area. There is a Starbucks nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Address: 611 Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Waukegan, Illinois is near Six Flags Great America and Great Lakes Naval Base.Our Waukegan hotel provides premium amenities and an ideal location off I-94 near the Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, the Greenbelt Forest Preserve and the scenic Illinois State Beach Park. Your family will enjoy a comfortable stay at our Waukegan hotel near Six Flags Great America, one of the largest theme parks in the US. Our hotel in Waukegan also offers quick access to many other area attractions, like the Rink-Side Family Entertainment Center, Russell Military Museum and the Wildlife Discovery Center. Downtown Chicago is just 45 miles from our Waukegan hotel. Business travelers looking for lodging in Waukegan will be pleased by our Waukegan, IL accommodations, located near Amhurst and North Point Industrial Park and area businesses including CDW, Abbott, Baxter, Akzo Nobel and HSBC. Take advantage of our business services, which include three large meeting rooms, catering available. 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience. During your stay at our smoke-free hotel near Six Flags be sure to enjoy the indoor pool, relaxing whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Waukegan hotel room deals and start planning your trip to the Great Lakes region today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Waukegan
Holiday Inn Express Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing