We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Motel 6 Waukegan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Waukegan
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Reviewed 25 July 2008

First of all, let me tell you this. Don't be fooled by the negetive reviews about this hotel. It has been completely renovated and whatever apollock0124 said in his/her review is 100% accurate.

This is a great place to stay for families going to the Great America. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff is very friendly and professional. I normally do not write reviews but I felt like I owed this one to them. I was really scared reading all the reviews on expedia and other websites but they were the only ones left with rooms for that weekend. They allow pets, but the rooms never smelled like animals. They have outdoor pool but it's kept well clean and it's also heated. My main concern was if the area is safe. It could have been one of the safest motel in the area. It was absolutely amazing. There are plenty of places to eat and things to do (shopping, movies, etc) nearby. The staff is amazing!! The room was very cosy and comfortable for a family of 4 and it was clean and the bathroom was clean too. We got the best house keeping service one can ask for. Couldn't ask for more. I give them 5 Stars!! I would definitely recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jkenny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2008

The hotel looked brand new, completely remodeled. rooms were very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. the price for the room was afordable 49.99 plus tax compared to surrounding hotels, Ramada, super 8, comfort inn best western whose prices ranged from 69.00-120.00 for a single room. I was especially impressed with the free wireless internet and 24hr free coffee, and the outdoor pool was very well kept and clean.
and i found out while staying there that the hotel will be converting into a Motel 6 very soon.

The hotel and its staff made our vacation a very wounderful experience. Thank You.
The Ostrolencki Family

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank apollock0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

This hotel was disgusting. The bathroom was dirty and I would never use it. no security at all! Doors were even proped open. The staff did not have on name tags and when asked would not give their names. could not stay there and the hotel would not give a refund! Staff was
rude and not helpful at all. I will never stay there again! I will never recomend this place to anyone and I have also filed a fornal complaint with the BBB.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank penny134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Magnectic keys for any of the doors never worked, security latch broken off room door, carpet is exteamly dirty and smelly, several stains, extreamly dusty. Many cigarette burns on furniture and counter tops, bottom of bath tub severly stained, Trash and dust behind dressers, cable wire on tv just stuck intv with no connector, was always falling out, filter in heat/ac unit so dirty, wouldn't pull in any air, walls very dirty, no maid service one day, no management on location over the weekend, front desk extreamly fustrated, trying to help us with our key problem but couldn't because no management was available.
We will be notifying coroperate office about this place.
DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYBODY! IT SUCKED!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

The price of 59 a night was the lowest I got but the room was clean and bathroom good. No foul smell in room like nearby Super 8 motel that asked 75 bucks. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was almost non existent - how can you have corn flakes without milk and there was no staff available at breakfast time. The biggest scam - pool hours of 12 pm to 7 pm - who in the hell is going to be inside hotel at these times. I was refused keys to pool at 7.30 pm but later at 9 pm I found some men in pool who were given the keys when they spoke loudly at reception. I liked the clean room and 24 hour free coffee but hated to be cheated on pool as after a day in heat outside I was looking for a dip in pool but was lied to. But for that low money I guess this was the what I could have got. Nearby Ramada and Holiday Inn were asking 90.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dt17570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2004

I went to my nephews graduation from the Great Lakes Recruit Training Center, and ended up staying here.

As far as the hotel, it wasn't bad, but was sort of hit or miss. The place was clean, but not spotless. The water was hot, and the fixtures worked though. Some of the rooms had microwaves, and/or refrigerators, but the only way to know for sure is to ask for one.

The pool was under repair, and the advertised (on the sign out front) "Special K breakfast" was interesting, for sure. Every morning, they brought out set of plastic bins with Special K, Fruit Loops, and Cheerios, and set it on a counter in the lobby. The one thing that was missing was milk-and dry Special K will never be my favorite food. Fortunately, they did include donuts and bages with cream cheese spread, so it was at least edible.

Since their price is the best around (the Holiday in Epress was over three times as much, even with a navy discount), I got about what I expected. Oh, and you might want to negotiate, since I spent some time in the lobby and saw quite a few people get a better rate-not that much better though-if you're going to graduation, every hotel around will be packed.

Speaking of Graduation, here are a few hints...

When you get there, don't go in the main gate, they'll send you back to the one that says "Recruit Training." Just get in line, you'll be there a while. The parking was done in typical military fashion-a recruit guides you in line, and you stop exactly where he tells you (miss it, and you get to do it over). After, and only after, everyone has exited and cleared your vehicle, will he allow the next car to pull forward and park. They graduate nearly a thousand recruits on those Fridays, and just about every one has someone there, so it's at least a thousand cars, parked ONE AT A TIME-now you know why you're in line:-)

Once you park, don't be fooled into thinking you're going to go in the nearby hall and go to the ceremony. You go in the hall, pass security, get your hand stamped, then you get ushered out a back door, and you get to walk a little over a quarter of a mile across the base to the training hall. Don't worry, they have recruits to guide you, so you won't get lost. Oh, and no taking photographs, other than inside the training hall. That's not posted, but it is enforced.

The ceremony is incredible, and you'll remember it for the rest of your life.....

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newsshooterJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per-Arne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#9 of 11 in Gurnee
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Waukegan

Address: 31 N Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4406 (Formerly Best Inns Of Waukegan)
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: £43 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Waukegan 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Waukegan is conveniently located near Six Flags Great America, The Great Lakes Naval Training Center, Gurnee Mills Mall, and Lake County Fairgrounds. A season outdoor heated pool, Free Wi-Fi, and truck parking available. Modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Waukegan
Waukegan Motel Six
Waukegan Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing