We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NAVY FAMILIES, EVER SEEN THAT EPISODE OF COPS...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NAVY FAMILIES, EVER SEEN THAT EPISODE OF COPS...”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I should have known we were in trouble when I told th woman behind the counter how pretty her grand daughter wqs and she said, "I know". We went into the first room, and it was relly dirty. the carpet looked like it might have been red about 20 years ago, but now it just had a black, greasy feel to it. There was no way I was going to put my baby down anywhere in that room. so i went to the desk and changed rooms for one upstirs, she said the carpets had just been cleaned, so i thought it might be better. WRONG! this room was even worse, the toilet didn't work, and there was a fabulous view of the jiffy lube (or midas, something) bays and trash cans. They were kind enough to refund my money, although they wanted to keep $12. I got all my money back. This place was on the MWR brochure, and you should know tht anyone who pays can advertise there. Did i mention we were charged $213 and their weekly rate was $225 advertised on their sign. STAY AWAY FROM ANYWHERE ON GREEN BAY ROAD, THEY ARE ALL DUMPS!!!! We were fortunate after calling frantically every other hotel on the MWR, and the clerk Paul at the Comfort Inn on Belveder Rd held their last room for us. Upon arrival, Paul and the manager Ken went out of their ways to be accomidating, we had a clean room overlooking a beautiful grass field, and we felt very welcome. Ken and Paul saved our trip! When we go back for our sons A school graduation we are looking forward to going back there.

Room Tip: get a room at the comfort inn on belvedre road instead. its around the corner and they bend over bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prncsss2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    8
    20
    36
See reviews for
61
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Dan and his family were very accommodating and went above and beyond for us. We had a free ride to Great America, even the next day when we checked out they drove us over there. Very satisfied, Room clean, Will stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Good....short drive to the Naval Center
BAD: musty smell, dirty pool, very poor and tasteless continental food (termed breakfast).. PRICE CHANGE on cancelled rooms... despite several reassuring conversations with the management, and meeting the cancellation deadline by more than 48 hours REFUSED to refund the full amount....more than a $10 'fine'/room assessed for the cancellation.
I would recommend the NAVY take it off the list of travel plus and will notify them as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhaganmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel is very run down and dirty. The room was horrible. Holes in the walls, wallpaper was falling off, the floor was dirty, furniture was old. Room smelled musty. The beds were hard and squeaky. The breakfast was just toast and stale cereal. The pictures on the internet made it look pretty nice, but we were fooled. We could not wait to check out. Not worth the money.

Have to say the staff was very nice. We shuttled to six flags and they were very prompt and nice. They checked us into our room early.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, IL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This wasn't the cleanest hotel we have stayed in. The price wasn't bad. Continental breakfast very basic. Toast, English Muffins, toaster waffles, cereals, coffee and juice. The indoor pool is small and the water was not heated. The hotel did not have a very fresh smell. They offer free shuttle to Six Flags we did not take advantage of. There are not any good restaurants close to hotel. Staff seemed somewhat friendly. Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pg211purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We booked this hotel because of the amazing deal they had 4 2 day passes to Six Flags and a one night with free shuttle to and from park on both days for $345 w/tax. Sounded great! The staff was friendly but when we got there and I realized that they kept our credit card number on file in paper, that was a red flag! I know its common for places to keep them in crypted files on the computer but I was very uncomfortable leaving the card number unsecured on paper, especially because the neighborhood didn't seem like it was the best in the world, even though I never felt like I was in danger.
The biggest complaint I have for this place is there were ants!! Almost everywhere!!! We noticed them initially in the bathroom, which we decided we could deal with, considering it was only one night. In the morning, I set my soda down on the night stand and within 15 minutes there were ants crawling on the rim. GROSS!!! Then my husband notices that they are on the bed...I know they are only ants but its still an insect!! If we can SEE this many, how many are there really?? AND what else is crawling around?!
When we got back to the hotel from Six Flags, we asked for more towels and they didn't have any clean ones?! Really??? You are a hotel!! The ones we did have were stained and looked gross, I can only imagine what the stains were!!
The shuttle service was prompt and on time, so that was super convenient!
Upon returning to our home, my husband realizes they he forgot his wallet at the hotel in the room, when I called there to see if anyone had returned it, I was told no one returned the wallet. Don't know who it was(front desk, cleaning staff, etc), but someone there is dishonest.
Overall, I don't think I would go back to this place, considering that for an extra $50-$150 I can stay at a place where I won't have to worry about insects crawling on me in my sleep!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindy2235805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Room was clean and comfortable, my family enjoyed our stay. Staff was outstanding, more personal than even in much more expensive hotels. They went out of their way to help us get to Six Flags and also accomodated my need to make a business call in a quiet location above and beyond the call of duty. Would go there again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mn_reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waukegan hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Address: 411 S Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4823
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Americas Best Value Inn Waukegan
Best Western Waukegan
Waukegan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing