We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value priced hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good value priced hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We traveled to Waukegan for our sons graduation from Great Lakes RTC. We were traveling on a very tight budget and ABVI fit the bill.

Hotel is small but well maintained. Rooms are clean and spacious. Equipped with the standard mini-fridge, full size ironing board and iron and one-cup coffee pot.

Beds are comfortable and pillows are very nice (not the standard flat as a pancake variety!). Bathroom is large.

Pool is small but clean.

Staff is what makes this hotel a great place to stay. All went out of their way to make our trip as easy as possible. Restaurants suggestion, directions to and from the base, even loaned me their laptop to check-in online for our return flight.

For those traveling on a budget I recommend the ABVI.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    7
    19
    34
See reviews for
57
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

My wife and I drove up from the other side of chicago for my daughters graduation and didn't feel like driving back (chicago traffic is horrible), and we chose to stay at this hotel because they seemed to have all the amenities we were looking for: internet, breakfast, king size bed, and indoor pool. The price was great for the amenites and cleanliness.
The best part of our stay there was how helpful the staff was. They had directions and maps ready for us of the area that listed restaurants and shopping etc. And they are super close to the naval base and six flags great america.
I'm planning a six flags trip with my family this summer and i'm definitely going to stay here since they have discounted tickets and a free shuttle to the park.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daviiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas,Tx
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

Recently I had to travel to Waukegen, IL for business and chose to stay at Americas Best Value. Their WIFI worked super and the rooms were large and very clean. I usually stay in Marriots and Hiltons, but my secretary set me up there and I have to say that place is just as good and I payed only $69. The pool seemed nice but never got a chance to use it, but I did check the water and it was heated (wish I brought my swimming shorts!! maybe next time)

What I liked the best was the fact that the hotel staff was extremely knowledgable. It was my first time there and didn't know where anything was and the people there really helped me with directions and to find good places to eat.

One advice, me being from Dallas, Chicago is very very cold!!!! Make sure you invest in a coat before you go. I thought my suit coat would be good enough...ended up buying a coat there...

  • Liked — WIFI, service, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1_cowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlands, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

I was pleasantly surpirsed. It was old but kept clean and stocked. The people that ran the front desk were very helpful and attentive. It was a great stay for the price and I would stay again.

  • Liked — the people and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veryterry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naperville, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my family for my son's graduation at the Navy base. The staff was awesome, they were very helpful with all our needs. The room was comfortable and the pool well heated. The breakfast wasnt the greatest, but its a free continental; wish they had hot breakfast. Overall i was very satisfied with this facility.

  • Liked — clean, friendly staff, and updated facilities
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bubbletea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2007

We stayed here Nov 14-19 in one of the suites at the rear. The room was clean, comfortable and very convienient with no stairs to gain entry. We were here for Navy graduation and this location is very convienient to Naval base. There is a lack of decent restaurants adjacent to the hotel but we did not find the drive to Gurnee Mills mall area bad.

The staff was very pleasant and accomodated all requests quickly. We would stay here again. It is not 5 star but more than acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tav73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We stayed here for a realitive's navy graduation, They advertised a shuttle, after check in they told us they only drive there 1 time and if graduation runs late they only return once at a certain time, there is no sign up, just first come first served at 6 am, the fire alarms went off all night, once my dad went to the desk at 3 am to see what was going on, the employee was sleeping at the desk, the rooms smelled stale and the pool was filthy, do not waste your time or money, navy familys should steer clear of this hotel

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank myjeepsalemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waukegan hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Address: 411 S Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4823
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Americas Best Value Inn Waukegan
Best Western Waukegan
Waukegan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing