We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirm Your reservation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
A TripAdvisor Member
Mauston, WI
12
Reviewed 17 June 2006

I stayed at this Best Western on May 24th and 25th, 2006 when taking my family to Six Flags which is about 5 miles away. I made the reservation through the national Best Western 1-800 number in April. The night before we left I just happened to call to confirm although I didn't think it would be necessary because I received an E-mail in April saying that the reservation had went through. When I called they had no record of the reservation or the rate I had been quoted. I then had to remake the reservation and bring the E-mail to get the rate ($64 Wed, $73 Thur) which they said was lower than than their usual rate. The first night I was there I was standing at the front desk and they recieved a call from someone else confirming their reservation and they had no record of it. I do not know if this is a problem with this location or the national reservation number.

Staff was courteous but possibly incompetent.
The room was described as large when the reservation was made but was average in size at best. The indoor pool was supposed to be heated but was quite cold and is much smaller than it appears in online pictures. The hot tub warm but not hot. The place was clean in general and the beds comfortable.

This place seems to rely on business from its location. Six flags and The Naval academy are both about 5 miles away. The naval academy business is from parents of
graduating sailors. I am sure the management knows they do not have to worry about repeat business due to this clientel.

Thank you for sending in your review. The community appreciates your feedback.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 91 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2006

Mold on the enlish muffins!!!! The breakfast was poor quality. The coffee tasted like they reused the coffee grounds. We found a moldy english muffin.

The room was tolerable. The AC/Heater's on/off switch did not work. We had to unplug it when we did not want to use it. The toilet became clogged one morning. Had to get a plunger from the front desk. The maid staff never took it from our room. We had to put it out in the hall for someone to pick it up. Had a hard time getting extra blankets. We were only allowed 2 extra pillows. One light fixture by the bed did not work.

The chlorine in the pool was overwhelming. Only one staff member was polite. The others appeared to be really annoyed if you asked for anything extra (pillows, blankets).

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasgal120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2005

No elevators. Unsafe, creepy motel segment attached to the back--#300 block of rooms. Beds that bend upward on both ends. Shower that seems to work via fast-dripping rivulets rather than pressure.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bangor, PA
12
Reviewed 14 September 2004

We went for recruit grad. in Sept. The toilet didn't flush, and the shower curtain had mold on it. The pool was freezing and the hot tub was cold and dirty. Continental breakfast was also terrible. The english muffins were stale and you could see through the coffee. I would recommend that you stay at another hotel if your sailor is graduating.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed 15 December 2003

I've stayed at Best Westerns most times I've traveled, and never stayed in such a hole. The whirlpool was cold (all 3 days) , kids couldn't stand the pool because it was too cold. Ice machines were broken.
Coffee pots empty weekend mornings Talked with the manager and he had all kinds of excuses, but no good ones. Not the hotels fault, but the location was not that great either from Great Lakes Recruit center. We are not complainers, but for the "discounted" price of $80 a night, it was not worth the money. They take advantage of the fact that most people staying there are service families.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Address: 411 S Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4823
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: £56 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Americas Best Value Inn Waukegan
Best Western Waukegan
Waukegan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing