We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something changed. They used to be decent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I used to like this hotel, but the last couple times I have stayed there they seem to be going downhill. The rooms aren't as clean and the front desk staff just seems to be going though the motions.
Give it a shot if the other hotels in the are are full, but don't make it your first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear j f,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. I am truly sorry our hotel was not able to live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stay at this hotel every few weeks for business, and I always have a great experience. The hotel is quiet, clean, and close to a Walmart and several restaurants. I really like the kitchenette and full-sized fridge--great for extended stays. All the staff are pleasant and do what they can to keep you satisfied as a guest. For those staying without a car, their shuttle bus makes a run to Walmart every Thursday in the early evening for those who want to pick up some supplies for their stay--handy option!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoutineTraveler138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robie S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Dear RoutineTraveler138:

Thanks you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased that you make the Candlewood Suites / Waukegan your home away from home while traveling. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Robie Sustayta
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were only at the Candelwod Suites for 2 nights but it was a very pleasant stay. Very clean and the suite had all we needed. We even added my grandson at the last minute and they had no problem. We just took an air matress for him and he slept like a bug in a rug. If we go to the Waukegan area again,which I am sure we will bacause I have family there, we will be staying at the Candelwood Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Easy access to major highways. Very friendly front desk staff. Room was very clean and inviting. In house "store" has reasonable prices. So what's the issue.....?

Bed had deep "dip" in the middle of the mattress. So much so that one naturally rolled into the center of the mattress. Felt like I was falling into a hot dog bun!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel is an extended stay hotel with living room, full kitchen and bedroom. The hotel was maintained well and comfortable. There is a free laundry center connected to a work out room. There is also a pantry on the honor system, Grills are available on a lovely porch. There is only weekly housekeeping service, however you can get fresh sheets or towels whenever you want them. Great hotel and Great value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a clean and quiet Candlewod Suites property located on the far north side of Chicago in Waukegan.
I stay here regularly as my company has an excellent discount rate with the property.
The staff is always friendly, the rooms are always spotless and the location is easy walking distance to many shopping and dinig options at the Fountain Square complex across the street.
Dont hesitate to book here if you are in the Waukegan / Gurnee area..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

In this day and time, cleanliness was my number one concern. I examined the room before unpacking, making sure there were no sign of bed bugs. Not only did I not find bed bugs, but I didn’t find one strange hair. The service staff at this hotel really takes pride in a job well done. The room was so clean! I found the beds to be very comfortable, they are very firm. The room was spacious, we had a queen suite. The hotel did have a strange road entry system, but our Garvin was able to lead us right to the front door. The fitness center had good equipment. The pantry was not completely filled up but there were no holes and there was a good selection of items. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful enough. I had to print the pass to get on base for our sons graduation and I was able to do that in the media center. It was stocked with paper in the printer. You will need the letter your recruit sent you when they first arrived at boot camp for information to put on your pass. At first the area didn’t seem like it offered much of a selection in dining but once again Garvin was able to lead us to anything we could want in less than 5 mile. It was really close to the base and in a very nice neighborhood. I think we took advantage of every amenity and found it to be very nice place to stay. We even checked out two DVD's while we were there. I have stayed at higher rated hotels but I couldn’t imagine one being cleaner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
118 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan

Address: 1151 S Waukegan Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: £54 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Our Candlewood Suites - Waukegan/Gurnee is a 4-time Quality Excellence Award Winner. Spacious and built for comfort, each of our suites has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. You can catch up on work with an oversized executive desk with two phone lines and free high speed Internet in every room. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the cable TV, listen to your MP3 or watch movies on a VCR / DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library at the front desk. Work off some stress in our Fitness Center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard, where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at competitive prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites Chicago - Waukegan is located just minutes from everything including: Businesses: Great Lakes Naval Training Center, Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, Medline, Omnicell, PCI, Uline, Yaskawa Attractions: Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills - Mega Mall, Ravinia Festival Grounds, Lake County Fair Grounds Universities: Rosalind Franklin University, Chicago Medical School, College of Podiatric Medicine, CLC We are proud to offer our guests free membership in Priority Club Rewards. Come and let our friendly staff help you to enjoy a truly remarkable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan Hotel Waukegan
Candlewood Suites Waukegan
Candlewood Waukegan
Waukegan Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing