We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room was nice”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

After leaving another hotel my family and I came upon this hotel at 4am after talking with ken who allowed my wife to see the room first he went out his way to assure my wife who was still Visible upset the room was nice the staff was nice there continental breakfast could use some work but over all I enjoyed my stay


Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    20
    15
    13
See reviews for
80
17
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Outstanding customer service from all staff. Ken (manager) definitely knows what customer service means. I am in hotels across the US all year long due to my work. I have decided to stay in this hotel instead of renting an apartment even though I will be here for 1 year working. Have not had a cleaner hotel or better staff in past 8 years anywhere in the US. There is a small exercise room which is always a plus. I will be there through 2015 and I am extremely satisfied.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but the king suite is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel for serval days. The rooms were decent for the price, but the customer service was excellent! They were hands down the friendliest hosts I've ever encountered, and I work in a business where I'm at hotels a lot for wedding receptions. It is also very close to the Navy base (if you are in town for a graduation). It's also within walking distance of several restaurants. They also have free wifi, breakfast, and vending machines. Once again, the rooms are decent for the money but the customer service is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grady19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The staff was very helpful...especially Chris! Everything from recommending places to eat to printing our return boarding passes was handled with a genuinely courteous smile. The room was clean & at a good price. Somebody give that young man a raise!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

we made a quick weekend to see lighthouses and Lake Michigan. The hotel was very clean, and quiet. having been the middle of the week there was very little activity. fast check in and the continental breakfast was fresh and all areas of hotel were clean and odor free

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived on Christmas Eve and stayed 11 nights so we could see our son on Christmas and his graduation from naval boot camp. That left us 9 days in a strange town in the midst of 2 snow storms! This hotel made all the difference. Ken and Luis went out of their way to find places open on Christmas for our visit with our son, and then detailed descriptions of sites in both Chicago and Wisconsin to visit on the other days. Thanks to them, we had a blast! The hotel is clean, the coffee is ready very early and our room was always clean after we returned from our outings. Everybody wears a big smile. After being there so long, we felt we were leaving family!! If we ever return to visit the area, we won't even consider another hotel. Also, we were amazed at how low the final bill was. We most definitely got our money's worth!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D and L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The room was large, clean and functional and the bed was comfy. It was also very quiet but only a few rooms were occupied on the night I stayed. Just a couple of issues. The continental breakfast (rare for a Red Roof Inn) was sparse and had been removed entirely before my wife went down to grab a bite during their breakfast hours. We needed a roll-away and got one at no charge but it was really old. It would not remain folded up and the mattress was brutally lumpy. There was a flat screen TV but channel selections were slim and I could not even find ESPN.
All in all, this was the nicest Red Roof Inn I have stayed at...but this franchise doesn't set the bar very high. That being said, I would stay again if I was in this area.

Room Tip: Superior King rooms have more room and two chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTruth61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
111 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan

Property: Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Address: 3031 Belvidere Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6013 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Red Roof Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Waukegan
Comfort Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing