We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Quad Cities
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a great hotel with a great staff. I have stayed here many times and am always happy. Great location with easy access to food and many are attractions. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms. Very comfortable beds. Fast and easy-access wifi for free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docjgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Docjgw,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. It means so much to us that you took the time to share your great experience!

You can also look forward to our entire rooms renovation coming in January 2013!

We look forward to your next visit to Waukegan/Gurnee!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    94
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
206
25
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

There are not enough words to tell you what a wonderful hotel this is. They really understand the needs of their clients and take care of them. Christine Trippi, the General Manger is outstanding and it shows in her staff. They were helpful, thoughtful and had brownies out for an afternoon snack. The sailors in our division had not had desert for 2 months so this was a really big deal. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is affordable. Having the bistro there was nice for breakfast and late night wine and snacks. There were too many helpful people to just pick one, plus it is a little hard to read their name tags. Oops, sign of age. There was a problem with our reservation prior to our arrival and I contacted Christine directly. She took the time out to call me and email. Wow, that is customer service! She took care of the problem and even had small package of tissues for all of us New Navy Mom's to take to graduation. Bonus, not only is there a Starbucks sharing their parking lot, they serve Starbucks at the Bistro. This was such a nice experience, I wish I had more children going through basic so I would have a reason to return to this area. Thank you to everyone at the Courtyard Marriott - Waukegan/Gurnee. You really ROCK and my Son loved the brownies!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Terry H,

From everyone here at the Courtyard Waukegan, we thank you for your generous review and congratulate your new Navy grad!! Meeting you and your two sons last week was a highlight for me and I think you should just come back to Waukegan to visit US again! :)

Truly, thank you for honoring us with the opportunity to make your stay perfect and then sharing that with the Trip Advisor family!

Much luck to you and yours!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had just stayed in the Amalfi hotel in downtown Chicago. This supposedly "boutique" hotel has nothing on the Courtyard in Waukegan. We paid triple the amount to stay in the Amalfi while the Courtyard hotel was so much better and so much less expensive. The staff were informative and kind (we were there for the Navy graduation). The room was immaculate, not so at the Amalfi. The Courtyard let you not only print your own boarding passes, but allowed us to print a coupon for parking downtown. The food was very good and nicely priced. Their interactive wall allows you to look at local weather, news, etc. We wish Courtyard was everywhere we travel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gailey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Gailey12,

Thank you so very much for the outstanding review for other travelers to see! The entire team is so honored to be compared to such fine establishments as the Amalfi Boutique Hotel.

I'm glad you love our new Courtyard Refreshing Business concept. Currently there are over 500 Courtyard properties offering these new amenities and you can look forward to all Courtyard properties having them by the end of 2013!

On behalf of the entire Courtyard Crew, we look forward to your return!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this Courtyard Marriott. From the minute we checked in until we left, these guys were pros. All of the information they provided us with or advice about the graduation, restaurants, etc. was "spot on". All of the staff was great but in particular, Sheila was most helpful. They all were well trained, professional and pleasant.
We would stay here again. Not the "Ritz" but clean and comfortable, price reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Finleydog,

WOW! WOW! WOW! Thank you so much for the sensational review of your visit with us! We enjoyed having your family and we congratulate you on your new Navy Grad!!

I especially appreciate your telling the world how wonderful Sheila is! I know this will make her feel like the superstar she is!!

On behalf of our whole Courtyard Crew we look forward to, "Puttin' on the Ritz" for your family again soon!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

THis is really a great hotel- there were 2 little drawbacks that we found. One of them being the pool was really cold for our family. We only stay at hotels with pools, so this was dissapointing to us!!! We didn't even get into it. The hot tub was nice!! There was a nice courtyard area in back. They did give us an upgrade, which we loved with small children!!
The 2nd thing was no am breakfast- we knew this going in. That is another thing we only stay at hotels with continental breakfast in the am. There was a little tiny area, that they did serve some breakfast, but was expensive!! Why not do a continental breakfast in the am. For the amt. the hotel cost, I thought this should have been included, or $10.00 gift certificate for each guest for breakfast or something like that.
Otherwise the hotel was quiet, and beautiful!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniseiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear deniseiowa,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and helpful feedback!!

I am so glad your family had a nice time here in Waukegan and that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Courtyard access room. It is such a nice tranquil place to visit with family!

The Courtyard initiated the new Refreshing Business (Bistro) concept as a result of such feedback from our guests. The consistent message has included a desire for healthy breakfast options that are cooked to order, Starbucks coffee, and technology-savvy living spaces outside of the room, just to name a few and for the traveler that would like breakfast included we do offer some really great breakfast packages that include a delicious cooked to order breakfast for a family of 5. This may be a great option for your family next time you visit Courtyard.

I am looking into our pool temperatures during the dates of your stay. Aside from being checked physically, anytime our chemicals or temperatures are not where they are supposed to be by state law, we are alerted from our Ecolab partner. Thank you for bringing your concern to my attention and know that I will be looking into it personally.

On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to hosting your family again,

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFORD
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We recently spent several days here while visiting a sick relative. Our room was spacious and immaculate. It had a very comfy bed and upscale linens. The bath area, too, was roomy with a good shower/head. It even had a roomy closet. We had requested a courtyard room, which they told us they couldn't guarantee, but would put in a request. When we arrived, we were placed in a first floor courtyard room with a nice patio with chairs and a little table which we really enjoyed at the end of the day. We visited the pool , and it, too was very nice. I must especially point out the wonderful staff. EVERYONE that we dealt with was friendly, cheerful and eager to help us. Our only concern was the lack of restaurant. While there is a small food counter, the choices are minimal. The breakfast was pricey, but ok. They serve Starbucks! There is no lunch service. Didn't see what was offered for dinner, but with no real kitchen, I'm sure it is minimal. This really isn't much of a problem, however, since there are numerous restaurants within walking distance. We will return again soon, and recommend this hotel without reservation for its quality service, location, rooms and amenities.

Room Tip: The rooms on the courtyard are especially nice in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Hazel 14,
Thank you so much for the excellent review!
We hope your relative is feeling much better. I am very proud of the team for taking such good care of you, while you were taking care of others! I know they will appreciate your generous comments. Please let me know the next time you are visiting, I would love to introduce you to our Bistro dinner service. We actually have more than you might think, ribs, burgers, wraps, wings and my favorite tomato mozzarella flat bread pizza!
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here the night before my son graduated from boot camp at the Great Lakes Navy base. Tried to get a room here when we dropped him off, but they were sold out so we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Waukegan (see my review). I liked this hotel much better. Marriott has recently refurbished all the Courtyards. Wow ... I love the new look - very modern and chic. They've done away with the buffet-style breakfast, and instead have a small food counter where you can purchase breakfast, snacks, and light dinner choices. They also have beer and wine for purchase. Wi-fi throughout the hotel. They have computers for guests to use, in the lobby. They also have touch screens in the lobby where you can access all kinds of local information (weather, directions, etc.). Rooms are very nicely decorated, very clean. Our room overlooked a nice courtyard and pool. The hotel is located next to a shopping center with lots of restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. Very nice, safe, quiet area. I would highly recommend. There are a number of hotels in the area but this is by far, the nicest one.

It is about a 45-minute ride from O'Hare Airport with no traffic, but Chicago is well-known for super heavy traffic at times, so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Book early! I tried numerous times to book a room here but they were always full. Finally got a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Spinardo,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad!! Such a fun reason to be traveling!

On behalf of our whole Courtyard crew we thank you for the rave review!! I'm thrilled you love our new Refreshing Bistro concept and we really appreciate your post telling other travelers what a great place Courtyard Waukegan is to stay!

We hope to have you back again soon!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 3800 Northpoint Blvd, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6717
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#1 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Courtyard
Waukegan Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing