We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Regrets! Great choice for Navy PIR.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Regrets! Great choice for Navy PIR.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Five mile-eleven minute trip from RTC Gate 8 for PIR. At 6 and 6:45 a.m., the hotel offers a $3 shuttle ride to the base, allowing you to bypass the long car line and security check. Return shuttles run till noon. If you're interested in the shuttle, notify the hotel by 11 p.m. the night before. Choosing to drive ourselves, we arrived at 6 a.m. and were around the thirtieth car in line, joining the multitude of cars that had already turned the right lane of Buckley Road into a parking lot. As for the hotel room, very nice kingsize bed and sleeper sofa for $94/night (military discount rate, as of 11/2/2012). Excellent maid service. Extremely helpful, front desk staff - very military-friendly. In the lobby, a large touchscreen TV, with printout, allows you to plan your activities for the day, and several computer stations are available if you choose to leave your laptop at home and forego the free Wi-Fi. Great indoor pools (includes kiddie pool), unfortunately the last thing that my "new sailor" wanted to do was swim, after passing the Navy's Class-3 swimming qualification requirements. Would definitely return and highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators/ice machine, towards the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Kevin P.,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad! Thank you so much for the excellent review and sharing all the benefits the Courtyard Waukegan offers to our travelers. I'm glad your sailor enjoyed our nice big pool and hot tub!

Our sincere thanks and well wishes to your family,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    90
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
201
25
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for our son's graduation from Navy Bootcamp and could not have asked for a nicer stay. The staff was amazing from the front desk to the pool attendant and they even set up a scavenger hunt in our room for our youngest! Clean and kind! Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLounedzmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear LouLounedzmap,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad!! I know how proud you are!!

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your visit and experienced the legendary service and hospitality Marriott is known for! I'm especially thrilled you enjoyed the in-room scavenger hunt! Thank your little ones for helping Captain Courtyard find the treasure! (We love having kids visit!)

On behalf of our entire Courtyard Crew we thank you for staying with us and sharing your review!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the location is convenient to Great Lakes Naval Base. The indoor pool and fitness room is definately a plus. There is a small shopping center next door with several places to eat as well as a Walmart in case you forgot anything!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvkayakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear luvkayakin,

Congratulations on your new Navy grad! It is our pleasure to be a part of such an exciting event! We are proud to serve our military families and glad your experience was everything we promise!

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other travelers and our team welcomes all those reading this review to come experience our hospitality first hand! "Like" us on Facebook and look for, "Check-in" specials and graduate recognition!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Waukegan while attending the Navy Graduation 10/26/12. Located about ten minutes from the Navy base, this hotel was wonderful! Beautiful decor, lovely landscaping, quiet and comfortable rooms, clean and comfortable everywhere! The lobby, lounge areas and "restaurant" were so up-to-date and inviting. They offered healthy meal options, plenty of great beverages and fun seating areas. They even had board games on the tables in case families wanted to enjoy some time together playing and laughing. The pool and spa were nice-sized, clean and enjoyable. The workout room was just what I needed to keep "on track." The staff was helpful and courteous. I can't say enough about this great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Colleen F,

We can't thank you enough for such a thorough review of all the great features of our hotel! We are honored to serve our military families and congratulate you on your new Navy grad!

At Courtyard, our mission is to make life on the road a great experience and we're proud we could do this for your family! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. I'm REALLY thrilled you enjoyed the games that we put out - you have to take some time for fun!! :)

All our best wishes to your family and we hope to see you again soon,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Had a medical school interview here at Rosalind Franklin University School of Medicine and really enjoyed this hotel. The complimentary breakfast was great (and huge!), the rooms were fantastic and the shuttle to my destination was very convenient. Overall, a great hotel and I would recommend it in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Carlo M,

Thank you so much for your excellent review! We are glad you enjoyed our new Bistro for a delicious, cook to order breakfast, and Starbucks! It certainly is a great way to start off a successful interview!

We really appreciate your feedback to help other travelers make their hotel choice and we welcome those of you reading this review to come experience our hospitality!

On behalf of the entire Courtyard Crew, we wish you luck on your interview and hope to see you again soon,

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassville, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for our sons Navy boot camp graduation and were very impressed with how helpful and pleasant the staff was. Couldn't have had a better stay. We booked a suite since we were traveling with our adult son and daughter. It was spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff helped in getting us transportation to/from the graduation ceremony and with directions on where we could take our son for the day. The touch screen they have in the lobby to help with whatever you want is wonderful. They even printed off movie times for us. We were treated like we were very important and that is something we wish we could experience more. If we are ever back in that area we will stay at this hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeneshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Greeneshire,

Thank you so much for your, "Wonderful" review! Congratulations on your new Navy Grad!

You ARE very important, that's why we treat our guests that way! :) So anytime you need to feel like royalty, just give us a call! I am excited to share your feedback with our team, it will certainly motivate them to continue delivering excellent hospitality!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I am not a 'world traveler' but do stay at over a dozen hotels a year consistently for the past 10 years.

I had an outstanding stay at the Marriott in Waukegan. From a well prepared and clean room, the bistro, a great maintained facility (all aspects), and every single staff person that I interacted with at the hotel, every part of my stay was outstanding. This is what I will compare all future stays against.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chg2winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear chg2winter,

Your review title, "Could not be better!" Thank you so much for the positive feedback for other travelers to see what a great place the Courtyard Waukegan is to stay; however I wanted to tell you WE ARE GETTING BETTER! On top of our brand new Bistro. lobby and business center, all of our guest rooms will be remodeled including new mattresses this February! I hope you will have the opportunity to come see the new Courtyard early next year!

It was such a pleasure meeting and talking with you during your stay and again we really appreciate your time posting your review!

Safe travels,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 3800 Northpoint Blvd, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6717
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waukegan
#1 Family Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Marriott
Waukegan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing