We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Waukegan...just trust Residence Inn to offer you the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're in Waukegan...just trust Residence Inn to offer you the best!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been staying with Residence Inn since Feb'13 and I keep coming back to them because of their flawless customer service, superior standards and comfort. This is my 6th stay with them and 6th in Chicago. David Compitello leads his team from the front and that's why their customer service is second to none! I travel a fair (Australia, Japan, Singapore, other locations in US) bit and the service here ranks amongst the best I have received! Facilities like free shuttle (within a 5mile radius), evening socials, grocery service (they'll get the items you need if you give the list by 9am!) and newly renovated rooms all add up to a wonderful experience. I'm contemplating staying 6mths with them due to an assignment I'm on, in Chicago, this time (Oct'13-Apr'14)...I'm that satisfied with them! Great job, David. Keep it going.....

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your fabulous review Vineet. Our team here is truly passionate about service and it shows. We all work very hard to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. We're so happy to see you. It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    48
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
112
9
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a typical Residence Inn in terms of layout and amenities as far as that goes. The staff and their care, however really did cause it to stand out. The breakfast times were adjusted earlier to accommodate those going to Navy graduation, so you didn't have to wait for two hours on an empty stomach. Also, we were given a small pack of Kleenex when we checked in. If you are looking at this for business travel that may not mean much to you, but for coming in for an intensely emotional weekend, it showed they understood. The cost is on par with other of their properties, so it isn't the cheapest option if you are on a tight budget, but for sacking out between events, and being able to cook in the room etc I don't think you could beat it. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello Evan B,
Thank you very much for the awesome review. We're glad your stay was so enjoyable and we were able to provide all the services and amenities you needed. Our team is very passionate about service and truly goes above and beyond for every guest, every day. Congratulations to you all and best of luck to your Sailor. You all should be very proud! We hope to see you again in the future.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with 2 baths, kitchen and a living room. Not quite as many beds (2 Q and 1 pullout couch) as getting 2 regular rooms, but you are all together in a single unit and have the kitchen. Plus each bedroom with bath was a legit separate room, which was good for privacy. Everything was clean and nice quality. Good breakfast in the morning (hot items beyond the standard waffles). Pool looked inviting and they had a basketball court with drainage matting even.

Only complaint was that the rather loud and somewhat struggling AC unit interrupted my sleep (admittedly, I am a lighter sleeper).

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are in the same building, so you might want to ask to be in the main one where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
DKTKT,
We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to the Waukegan area. Most guests who've experienced our Two Bedroom Suite are amazed by their size and comfort...and love the fact there are two separate bathrooms. As well, the expanded hot breakfast is very popluar. All of our A/C units have been replaced within the past 2 years but our Engineers will be sure to address your concerns immediately to ensure this is not an issue moving forward. Hopefully you'll have the opportunity to try out our outdoor pool which was also refreshed during our complete renovation this past Spring. We hope to see you soon.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights for our son's graduation from Navy Boot Camp. Staff was so accomodating, no matter what we needed. Breakfast was very good. We had issues with the people above us being loud at all times of the night. Staff took care of that & called to inform us it was taken care of. Room was well kept & housekeeping did a great job during our stay. Very conveniently located to the Naval base, along with easy access to other attractions. The beds were soooo comfortable. No problems with the wi-fi. We didn't make it to any of the manager's receptions so cannot comment on that. This will be our hotel of choice when in the area again. Keep up the great customer service!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Another very satisfied and Proud Navy parent! Thank you so much DonnaF for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to see your son. I'm pleased to hear our team was prompt in addressing your concerns regarding your neighbor. Our associates genuinely care and make a daily commitment to ensure they provide a special experience for all of our guests. Best of luck to your son. We can't wait to see you again.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had weeks to plan our stay for my daughters US Navy Boot Camp Graduation. I struggled over locations close to the base, but eventually decided on Residence Inn. My Wife and other daughter met my Mom at O'hare and we all stayed in one Suite, quite comfortably. My niece drove in from Detroit and we added her in at the desk. The staff brought bed linens for the pull out sofa. Pickup up my daughter, daily from the Base and ate Breakfast for all for less than $120/night. There is no way we could have stayed anywhere else, had a fine breakfast and we were able to cook in our suite as well. All that would have cost much more separately. So impressed that Residence Inn is now our preferred stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myles136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Myles136,
Congratulations on your daughter's graduation from Navy boot camp! You should be very proud. We know there are many other hotels you could've chosen and we are so happy you stayed with us. After reading your comments we see you too are happy with your decision. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to having you as our guest again.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night; location is convenient to US 41 and access back to I-94, but hotel is RIGHT beside Waukegan Rd, which is a very busy and at times, noisy street (especially since my room faced the road).

Rooms are recently renovated and well taken care of. Breakfast was decent, but furnishings in the gatehouse are a bit too big for the space.

Overall, I'm satisfied with the value but would recommend getting a room not facing Waukegan Rd.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktown_traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us ktown_traveller04. We aim to please all of our guests. Although you felt the new Gatehouse space was a bit small we're glad you felt our hotel was a good value. We will make every attempt to honor any requests for a room away from the road during your future trips to our area. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is an AWESOME hotel.
This was a stay with Marriott Points - however, will definitely stay again even if we have to pay. :)
Hotel location: A few miles from Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall and Six Flags.
Staff: Welcoming - courteous - friendly - professional
ROOM: Great - Super clean - very nice size - Large fridge; sink; etc... Separate living area; Two Large TVs (1 in living area - the other in the bedroom) which is a nice touch since normally other hotels will have the large TV in the living area and a very small one in the bedroom.
The furniture was modern; comfortable; the bed and pillows were great. Actually had a really good night's sleep.
Coffee/Tea available; nice size vanity and bathroom.
Breakfast: Very, very good. Great selection; hot and cold. Also a Manager's reception - which I forgot about :( - but the Hubby was able to try the meatballs and he said they were delicious. We stayed here on a Monday night; So this may be a nightly Manager's reception - and if so - don't miss it! Oh, and complimentary soda/pop; beer and wine. And that so needed Wi-Fi which worked well.
Overall just great. This will definitely be our hotel of choice when we are back in Gurnee!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVIEGrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
EVIEGrandRapids,
Thank you so much for your continued loyalty as a Marriott Rewards Member. We are so happy you to hear you enjoyed your stay with us for your birthday/retirement get-away. It is our goal to provide the highest level of guest experience for every guest, every stay. We look forward to seeing you during future trips to the Waukegan/Gurnee area.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 1440 S White Oak Dr, Waukegan, IL 60085-8300
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#3 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysThe Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee offers superb convenience and comfort among Waukegan and Gurnee, Illinois hotels. Choose from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites at this hotel, with separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Work comfortably at your spacious desk with voice mail and free high-speed internet, and take advantage of your fully-equipped kitchen with our complimentary grocery shopping service. Start your day right with our daily free hot breakfast, and join us Monday through Thursday for a complimentary light dinner social, featuring our Manager's Barbeque on Wednesdays. Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee is located minutes from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, major corporations, Six Flags® Great America and Hurricane Harbor theme parks, fine shopping at Gurnee Mills or Premium Outlet Malls and a mix of history and fun at Bristol Renaissance Faire or in Historic Long Grove. Welcome to our little piece of Chicago at Residence Inn Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Residence Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing