We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! Close to Navy graduation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service! Close to Navy graduation.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and they let us check in anyway. Our room was upgraded for us at no charge. I booked the wrong room type but the helped me without question. If you come for Navy graduation, this place is great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Momows,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our service focused team consistantly strives to satisfy each and every guest. We're thrilled to see we were successful in doing that yet again. Congratulations to you and your Sailor! Please stop and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    48
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
112
9
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for our Son's recent Graduation from Navy Boot Camp and the team at the The Residence Inn out did themselves! Kudos to GM David Compytello on having such a warm, careing and service orientied staff. All of his team members we encountered during our visit went above & beyond to make sure our stay was a great one. Some of the wonderful, careing staff we encountered at the Residence Inn where Brittany,Perla,Jym,Jerine,John and Mario also the entire Houskeeping staff did an outstanding job! Truly the only place to stay when visiting Great Lakes Navel base!

Thank You,
The Kleisners

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words Kim K. We're so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that so many members of our team stood out to you. They're always working so hard to provide the best possible guest experience and we all appreciate the recognition. We're glad you were able to share in this all important day for your son. You should be proud. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Rooms were very comfy. Everything is located right next to this hotel. Can't get more convenient then a Walmart and a Starbucks right outside. Staff was very friendly and rooms were very clean. Late checkout was not a problem at all. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khasai_stayfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
khasai_stayfly,
Thank you for taking time to send your comments. We're very happy to see our team of dedicated associates exceeded your expectations. They are truly the best and go out of their way each and every day to make our guests feel at home. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel with other family members. Our grandson graduated from the Great Lakes Naval Base. Great hotel and they also have decorations in the lobby for the Navy graduates. Standard continental breakfast. We stayed in a 2bed/2bath suite. Rooms was nice. There was a problem with the hot water, which maintenance fixed fast. But then room service did not clean our room nor did they replenish the toiletries and towels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vahat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Vahat,
Congratulations on your Grandson's graduation from the U.S. Navy boot camp. We're so happy you enjoyed the spacious 2 bedroom suite as well as our tribute to our Navy families. Our team is so proud of each and every graduate. We do apologize for maintenance issue and housekeeping's oversight with regards to servicing your room. This is certainly not the level of service we know our loyal guests come to expect. I've shared your comments with our team to ensure similar issues do not occur. We sincerely hope to see you again during future visits. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel was very nice, you could tell that it had been recently renovated and the furniture was very nice. The mattresses were comfortable and the room was spacious. The hotel was decently priced and the staff was friendly and very attentive to our needs as guests. The downfall was the cleaning staff could have spent a little more time dusting off all the surfaces and wiping out the drawers so that we could have put our clothes in the drawers. Besides that, our stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: The Studio rooms are very open. I would recommend one of the studio rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Michele152,
Thank you so much for choosing the Residence Inn Chicago/Waukegan during your recent trip and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We're happy to hear you were pleased with the design of the hotel and felt the price value was fair. We want to ensure we provide an above average experience to all of our guests and we're sorry the cleanliness fell short of that goal. I can assure you this issue has been addressed with our team. We look forward to seeing you again and for the opportunity to prove we can exceed your expectations, every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spotless apartment, separate bed area , nice living area with brand new couch, kitchen with full size fridge and stovetop microwave and dishwasher, even candies on coffee table, like home away from home, nice touches was quiet there also, breakfast was excellent, waffles, eggs, sausage, fruit, french toast, bread, bread, yogurt, cereal, juices, coffee. I have stayed at a two bedroom residence inn in salt lake and it had 2 separate bedrooms on either end of apartment I dont know if its the same here, but probably so, well, I hate to say but comparing residence inn to holiday inn express Waukegan, Express is a dump compared to residence Inn well worth the few extra bucks to stay here. I stayed at Holiday Inn Express for my sons graduation from Navy boot camp. I am sorry I didn't stay here for my sons graduation as I had my husband son and daughter with me on that trip and the so called 2 bedroom at express was a hotel room with a partition in center and billed as a 2 bedroom what a joke.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Surfingmo,
We're so happy your experience with us was so a memorable one. Residence Inn remains committed to being your preferred hotel by providing the highest quality of service and amenities. It is our goal to always make you feel at home. Our team was truly excited to hear your comments and hopes to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Dave and his management team made me feel special....I really enjoyed my stay. Everything from finding restuarants, to making sure breakfast was just right to candy in my room....I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Ray,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and for your high recommendation. Our team is truly passionate about service. I'm thrilled to hear they succeeded in making you feel special as this is always their focus. It was a pleasure to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 1440 S White Oak Dr, Waukegan, IL 60085-8300
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#3 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysThe Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee offers superb convenience and comfort among Waukegan and Gurnee, Illinois hotels. Choose from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites at this hotel, with separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Work comfortably at your spacious desk with voice mail and free high-speed internet, and take advantage of your fully-equipped kitchen with our complimentary grocery shopping service. Start your day right with our daily free hot breakfast, and join us Monday through Thursday for a complimentary light dinner social, featuring our Manager's Barbeque on Wednesdays. Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee is located minutes from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, major corporations, Six Flags® Great America and Hurricane Harbor theme parks, fine shopping at Gurnee Mills or Premium Outlet Malls and a mix of history and fun at Bristol Renaissance Faire or in Historic Long Grove. Welcome to our little piece of Chicago at Residence Inn Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Residence Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing