We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boot Camp Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Oviedo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boot Camp Stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place could not have been any better if they tried. From the moment we walked in to the lobby, we were immediately greeted with a smile. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time but that was not an issue. We were immediately assigned a room - we reserved the queen suite. We were handed a handy packet of information which included graduation information, transportation info and local eateries along with a small packet of tissues to take to PIR. The room was clean and comfortable - plenty of room for 2 of us - there was a kitchenette including a full fridge. Bedding, pillows and sofa were comfy, too. The location was convenient to base. Be sure to take advantage of the dinner provided Mon-Thurs and the great (daily) breakfast. Well worth the money that we paid to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdell87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Jdell87,
Congratulations to you and your family on your Sailor's graduation. We're very happy for you all. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding our service. We do our best to cover every detail. Residence Inn's are truly a great value. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    48
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
114
9
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited the area for our sailor's graduation from Great Lakes RTC. Everyone at the hotel was so thoughtful and kind! They even provided us packages of tissue for our weepy moments at the ceremony! At first we laughed, but did, in fact, go through 2 packages! LOL! These folks are all about making sure you are in a safe, comfortable environment. At check-in, they provided a whole packet of info for the Waukegan/CHI area. It included driving directions to various attractions, restaurant recommendations, and lots of boot camp graduation details! We were very impressed and would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting CHI for boot camp graduation - or any other reason! Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Breakfast was nicely done each day with some variety of offerings. Location is about 10 mins from RTC and easily reached with no confusion on driving.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vconvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review Vconvey! We know a bit about taking care of our Navy families. We're so glad you were able to spend time with your Sailor. You should be proud of their accomplishment. Please extend our thanks and best wishes to them and your family. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falling Waters WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee. I am employed at a hotel that is a member of another hotel chain which makes me eligible to receive significant hotel discounts at other hotels within this chain. But after reading posts from other Navy parents, I decided the Residence Inn was THE place to stay regardless of the cost. I am *SO* glad that I followed their recommendations. It is an absolutely beautiful property. The recent renovations make the hotel look totally brand new. I reserved a studio room and it worked out perfectly when my son came back after graduation to stay until his leave was over. Granted, he only stayed there for part of the day and evening and could not stay overnight, but believe me when I say that having a spacious, clean, beautifully appointed room along with the convenience of a kitchen, made it incredibly pleasant for all of us. We spent some time outside by the pool which was delightful. My son had to stay in uniform when he was in public so he did not get to use the basketball/volleyball court or the pool and hot tub, but he was thrilled to have the chance to relax in the sun. I totally agree with the posting made by another Navy mom that it was worth every penny to upgrade to the Residence Inn instead of a cheaper hotel. After having gone to the emotional and moving Navy graduation ceremony and then getting the chance to hug your son (or daughter) for the first time in 8 weeks, believe me when I say that you want the rest of the day to be equally outstanding. The Residence Inn helped make the day one that all of us will remember forever. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating in every way. They bent over backwards to make sure my room was right near the room that my son's Dad and wife occupied. When we checked in, they gave up tissue packets for the ceremony! So funny, but SO appreciated! Also, they had a packet of info including clear, concise directions to AND from the entrance to the base. My recommendation is to leave between 6:00am and 6:15am if you can. As we Navy moms and dads know, those few hours we have with them after graduation and before they leave for their next school are precious and to be treasured. Every second with our sons (or daughters) matters. Another plus with the hotel is that it is only @ 1 mile from multiple restaurant choices making it totally stress free and easy. We went to Anastasia's and Buffalo Wild Wings. We did not have to wait for a table at either restaurant and we had terrific meals. The site of Sarge's Meet & Greet the night before graduation is right in the same area-again less than 1 mile away from the Residence Inn. Parents-don't miss the Sarge's Meet & Greet. It was the icing on the cake of an absolutely wonderful weekend! Thank you to all of the staff at the Residence Inn for all that you did for us!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Sandy G,
Thank you so very much for all of your kind feedback. We're so glad to see that our team was able to provide a superior service experience for you and your family. Congratulations on your Sailor's graduation. We can't be more proud of those who serve and protect our wonderful country. We look forward to having you all back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stay at Residence Inns quite often and in comparison, this one is only average. Four of us traveled and we got a one bedroom suite. We all had a terrible 2-nights sleep because the air conditioning unit was horrendous. The air in the bedroom blasted freezing air, while the air in the living room (pull out couch) was tepid and almost nonexistent. Two of us froze and the other two tossed and turned from being too hot.

Customer service was also average. This actually was our second room because of another issue when we first checked in. We didn't want to press our luck about another room. We used hotel points vs. paying and thought maybe they give the crummy rooms to nonpaying guests.

On the upside, the room was clean. The outside pool was great for a warm summer night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dewitttraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Dewitttraveler7,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your recent trip. Each and every guest is important to us and we strive to provide a consistently high level of service. We do value your loyalty and appreciate you taking time to share your feedback as this will help to ensure a more consistent guest experience. We truly look forward to having the opportunity to serve you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had some issues during my stay and might have only given the hotel three stars but I was very impressed with the way things were handled. The beds are comfortable and the room is well appointed, There is a small pool which is heated, but not over heated. The breakfast is so-so in a small room that can get crowded. There is plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room way from the washing machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
MS06,
We're happy to hear your overall stay was enjoyable despite the couple of items you mentioned. It is our team's goal to impress every guest, every day and they'll be happy to hear they were able to accomplish this during your stay. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The rate is so reasonable for this property. The area is safe, the rooms were immaculately clean and the small touches were wonderful. The beds were beyond comfortable and the pull-out couch with attached chaise lounge was perfect for our son and daughter. The hot breakfast was more than substantial with items like sausage, eggs, waffles, yogurt, cereal and much more. We would undoubtedly stay here again. It was only about 8 minutes from 6 flags which was the reason for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crenee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Crenee1977,
We're so glad we were able to make your family's stay such a positive experience. It is our #1 priiority to focus on providing a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations. Our team is very excited to see they successfully accomplished that goal. We can't wait to see you all the next time you're in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and they let us check in anyway. Our room was upgraded for us at no charge. I booked the wrong room type but the helped me without question. If you come for Navy graduation, this place is great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Momows,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our service focused team consistantly strives to satisfy each and every guest. We're thrilled to see we were successful in doing that yet again. Congratulations to you and your Sailor! Please stop and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 1440 S White Oak Dr, Waukegan, IL 60085-8300
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#3 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysThe Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee offers superb convenience and comfort among Waukegan and Gurnee, Illinois hotels. Choose from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites at this hotel, with separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Work comfortably at your spacious desk with voice mail and free high-speed internet, and take advantage of your fully-equipped kitchen with our complimentary grocery shopping service. Start your day right with our daily free hot breakfast, and join us Monday through Thursday for a complimentary light dinner social, featuring our Manager's Barbeque on Wednesdays. Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee is located minutes from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, major corporations, Six Flags® Great America and Hurricane Harbor theme parks, fine shopping at Gurnee Mills or Premium Outlet Malls and a mix of history and fun at Bristol Renaissance Faire or in Historic Long Grove. Welcome to our little piece of Chicago at Residence Inn Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Residence Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing