We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Reviewed 29 April 2013

After reading the reviews we were very worried how we would find this hotel. The registration desk was very friendly and helpful. Gave us excellent directions to our rooms and area attractions. When upon entering our room, it was very clean, fresh smelling, and spacious. We have to have a handicap accessable bathroom, this bathroom was the best one we have ever found in a hotel. It was very "user friendly" for a disabled person. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were quiet during the night. I will agree the hotel needs some remodeling, but when you considered it is an older building, it has been well maintained. The only suggestion I have is where the breakfast room is, for the number of people trying to get breakfast, it was way too small and close quarters. If we travel back to Chicago, we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Went for the navy graduation recently and googled the hotels in the area. Ramada inn came up with reasonable pricing and the photos seemed like the place would be up to par. I called in advance to ask for a crib and a room with a fridge and microwave (I have a toddler & infant). When we got there neither was provided with the excuse that "someone" didn't put it in the system properly and he wouldn't know where to find one. Huh? Got to the room and it was freeezing... Turned up the heat to the max and it was pointless. The smell of cigarette smoke hit me like a fog cloud! And the room just felt wrong for us! The next day we decided to go to another hotel and when I checked out the staff has no concern just that they had to charge me for the 1 night!!! Wow what poor customer service!!!!!! Got to the other hotel and it was like night and day. Thanks to the cold night my whole family now has a cold :-( I've resolved that you get wat you pay for but way I paid I expected better than what I got.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeltravelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It was a nice stay and the hotel was very accomodating especially when we left a day early due to my daughter shipping out from bootcamp a day early.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is in the process of being remodeled. The first night the room was unacceptable, mainly because of the smell. It had been sprayed (it seemed) with something to mask maybe a smoking odor? The carpet/furniture/walls etc. all were in desperate need of a remodel. The mattress was comfortable, and the room was clean...just...smelly and extremely dated...chipped furniture, dirty walls etc.. Also, guests obviously smoked in the stairwells (which is not the hotel's fault) and you could really smell it in the hallways. The second night we stayed in a more recently remodeled room which was much more comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful and moved us to a nicer room as soon as they had one available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Over all this was the right choice for us. The hotel lobby is being renovated right now so you have to over look some things. In the restaurant food is good, but the service is not. This is too bad because they are missing out on a great income there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
5.6 mi away
The Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes

Address: 200 N Green Bay Rd, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: £41 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing