We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Well I am here in the room and the lobby and hallway and room all smells terrible! The room is mostly clean but old and gross. Not to mention the water in my bathroom sink won't turn off. If I hadn't prepaid through another website we would check out tomorrow. I am not even sure if the neighborhood is safe. Oh and the beds are so uncomfortable and hard.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Trystanlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Trystanlynn,

We are currently in a remodeling phase to renovate the images you have shared with us. We began with the lobby, Base 42 Bar and Grill, pool deck, and meeting spaces. Renovations will continue into guest hallways and sleeping rooms. We assure you our neighborhood is safe, and worth investing in. We have overnight security for guests' peace of mind should you have any concerns to call on us. Our Serta Perfect Sleeper pillow top mattresses may be firmer than what you're accustomed to at home. We appreciate your patience with our facility as we continue to improve.

Ron Shelton
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jesse J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Maltha R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This Hotel was close to our sons PIR graduation and they gave us a discount because we were there for that. Everything was clean and comfortable, however we had a lot of problems with the shower and the door that led to where we were parked was not working. The online ads claimed that this hotel had been recently remodeled and some things were new however a lot of things looked half done or unfinished.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Dawn M.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your sailor's Navy Graduation! We are currently engaged in remodeling, and apologize for the half-done facility you encountered. We invite you to visit again and witness our progress.

Ron Shelton
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were first assigned to a wing of the hotel that looked like it was a condemned building with the ceilings caving in, the walls all brown appearing like water damage.Once in the room,the room was destroyed.All doors leading into hotel were rusty and difficult to open.Our new room had a strong terrible odor like a bug bomb.Only two towels given.Shuttle promised to get to graduation never came. Had to get a cab. This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed.The desk employees were very nice though!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Christine H.,

I'm sorry you needed to take a cab to the Navy Graduation. We have free shuttle service for our guests beginning at 6:45am before graduation, operating continuously until all guests are served to arrive for seating beginning at 8am. It will take approximately 20-30 minutes for the shuttle to complete each round trip. We are currently engaged in a remodeling project, specifically updating those brown walls you encountered. We are pulling off old wallpaper and updating with a fresh, smooth, beige finish. We invite you to see our new look as it continues.

Ron Shelton
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes

Address: 200 N Green Bay Rd, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: £40 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Waukegan Great Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing