We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if you dont want to sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok if you dont want to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Front lobby looked nice, and staff was also nice! The hallways smelt of a old and musty! It is the perfect place to stay if you want to party all night! It felt like we were in a college dorm, there was partying in the halls and in rooms, guest were very loud with no concerns about other guests! tried calling front desk at 1am to see if they could do something about the loud guests but no one answered! So all in all if you want to have a rowdey weekend this is the place to stay, but if you want to relax and get some sleep then this is probably not the place for you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brecat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear BreCat72,

Thank you for noticing our newly remodeled lobby and generously kind staff. We are continuing remodeling into the hallways to remedy that old and musty appearance you saw. I'm sorry no one could take your call at 1am. Sometimes the night clerk must also serve guests away from the desk and will return shortly.

Ron Shelton
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    179
    278
    295
    347
See reviews for
898
100
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were in town for Navy graduation with the family. There was an issue getting the room type that we reserved several weeks in advance at check in and had to stay in another room. Lobby men's restroom smelled like a port-a-potty on a hundred degree day during our entire stay (we used it while at the pool). Hallways looked dirty and felt like they were not cleaned regularly. The hot tub was out of order and drained. The pool open an hour after the posted time. There was a strong mildew smell in our room and down the entire hallway. Housekeeping did not leave towels in the room two days in a row and the front desk only had a couple to give us. WiFi did not work the entire time we stayed. The printer in the business center was not working to print boarding passes for our flight. Management was almost non existent. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear John W.,

Thank you for choosing our Ramada for your Naval Graduation visit. We are privileged to share this proud moment with our guests. Sometimes, room types cannot be guaranteed if an unforeseen maintenance issue arises, and we will subsitute with a similar or better room. I appreciate your patience with our hot tub, it is now fixed and full of hot bubbling water.

Ron Shelton
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

After reading all of these reviews I still booked my stay. The bad reviews just kept getting worse. I tried calling to see if any of these things had been fixed, the assured me they were. I told them you guys have really bad reviews online, they told me if I'm so worried about it I should may cancel my stay. So I found space at the navy lodge wroth great reviews and as advised I canceled! ! Thank God I didn't make it there worth my children.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Eva D.,

I'm sorry you decided not to stay with us.

Ron Shelton
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Worse place I have ever stayed at. They offer a free shuttle to and from Six Flags. Get there and they say the shuttle will be back at 10am. At 10:20 no shuttle, so instead hired a sketchy taxi driver that nearly starts a fight in the parking lot upon our arrival to the park. Then call the hotel later to find out how we are going to get back. Offer to call us when the free shuttle has returned to pick us up at 10pm, they neglect to do so, and when we called, they informed us that they really have no idea where the driver is and tell us to take a cab. We got in the a cab, and the the cab driver told us that this isn't the only time that this has happened with them. When we get back to the hotel to talk to them about how horrible they are doing and we are not pleased, the guy gets an attitude with us when I call out the horrible customer service that we have received all day. We then said "we don't even know if we want to stay here." They said it would be unwise to cancel because "Every hotel in the city is booked." So he offers to pay for our room for us. 3 minutes later says okay you are all set. Asked for our key and he said "You just told me you where leaving, so I checked you out." Um No we didn't say we where leaving because we needed a place to stay and you said you would pay for it because of the service. He said "I'm not paying your room." Well formerly well respected Ramada Inn, you're right I will not stay in a place that says one thing and does another. So we took our business to the hotel down the street. Oh, and they did have available rooms. Ramada had the worst service ever, then got an attitude when you tell them that you are not pleased. Never felt more disrespected by a place like they treated us. ALL of the Ramada's have lost my business because of this one place.

Room Tip: Want a good room, and great service go else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiffany549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tiffany549,

I am very sorry you were not pleased with our service and I will discuss your experience in detail with my drivers and front desk staff. We do offer free shuttle service to and from Six Flags theme park. If our driver is not available, we will contract a local taxi to shuttle for us.

Ron Shelton
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and lobby updated. Overall hotel is a little run down but fine for one night before going to six flags. Pool area seems old. Breakfast was ok for a free breakfast. Waffles bagels and fruit. Staff was friendly. Overall good for the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank loomomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Becky K.,

Thank you for choosing our Ramada for your Six Flags Great America vacation! We are currently working to update the run down parts of this hotel. Renovations began with the updated lobby. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our free continental breakfast and friendly staff.

Ron Shelton
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Dirty, stinks of sweat, cigarette smoke and feces. Black mold spots on bathroom ceiling. Dried blood on lamp cord. Very unprofessional staff. Did not honor my reservation for the type of room I had booked. No wash cloths or hand towels provided. Manager spends too much time online replying to these reviews when he should be addressing some major issues with the operation of this property. I wish I could give a negative rating.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada W, General Manager at Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jerry F.,

I appreciate that you took the time to give a detailed response of your experience here. Trust that your complaints are all being addressed. Sometimes there are unforeseen maintenance issues that can make some rooms unavailable, and we will make substitutions as needed.

Ron Shelton
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 200 N Green Bay Rd, Grand Ave & Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waukegan Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Ramada Inn Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing