We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a group of noisy, not too particular golfers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Penrhyn Bay B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok for a group of noisy, not too particular golfers.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

When booking, I was told that the accommodation was "basic". This was true! Hot tap in bathroom not working properly, TV not working properly. What I was not told was that "bed, breakfast and dinner" did not include pudding, for which we had to pay extra. Food ok. There was a large group in the bars who drank, shouted, played pool and banged about until gone 4 am, despite being asked politely to quieten down at 2.30 am. Ended up having 2 hours sleep. Bucket in restaurant to catch drips from leak in ceiling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countrywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    3
    6
    14
See reviews for
9
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My son & daughter in law held their wedding reception at the golf club on Saturday 10th August 2013. My husband and I and another party of relatives who travelled from Scotland also booked accommodation for the weekend. Throughout the whole weekend we have nothing but praise for all the staff who were extremely helpful, nothing was any trouble. I dealt with Sharon mainly by email in the run up to the big day, she was extremely helpful and organised all the accommodation which was very clean and comfortable. I would also like to mention Alison and her son Josh who helped with setting up and decorating the tables, they were marvellous. The three course carvery was delicious, plentiful and piping hot, a big thank you to Angela the chef she was also extremely helpful. The golf club also had a golf tournament on the same weekend, the fact that they dealt with this as well as our wedding reception show how professional the tem are. Even on the Sunday morning when we had a few late risers, well after breakfast finished, there was coffee and toast on the table within minutes. I would have no hesitation in recommending Rhos on Sea golf club for any type of celebration, they were great. So a big THANK YOU to everyone for making a memorable weekend for my son, his new wife and all their guests.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank BorofanMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our son and daughter in law held their wedding reception at the Golf club on 23/03/2013. Relatives who had travelled to attend the wedding stayed for 2 nights at the club. We all met on the Friday evening to start the celebrations,,the reception was on Saturday then we finished it by meeting there again on the Sunday morning for breakfast before the relatives travelled home. Throughout it all we have nothing but praise for the staff especially Sharon,who oversaw it all and was continually ensureing that we had everything that we needed. We cannot praise the food enough,,,there was soup or pate,,,a 3 meat roast followed by fudge cake or cheesecake. The service was fast and efficent,,the food was hot,,tasty and there was more than enough to satisify even the largest appetite.
The evening buffet which was ordered for 30 could honestly have fed 2 or 3 times that amount of people,,,there was an excellent choice of food and it was beautifully presented.
I would recommend anyone to have an event at this venue and I dont think it could be beaten.
So THANK YOU to all the staff at Rhos on Sea Golf Club,,,and a BIG THANK YOU to Sharon,,,and also the lovely owner for your little treat which was greatfully accepted by all,,,,xxx

Helpful?
1 Thank chrystalchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

just spent a night here, oh my god the bedrooms are filthy with dust and cobwebs and the shower is black with mildew got the owner to have a look who looks at you blankly and pulls the shower screen around so you dont have to look at it, The breakfast lovely thats what my stars are for the rest needs a few sticks of dynomite to tidy it up a bit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank j0an62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penrhyn Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My family and I stayed at the golf club last week. We had a family wedding evening party at the club itself and we all had a great time. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. I believe they have had a new chef in the last few weeks. I looked at the reviews before we stayed and really wasn't sure whether to stay there or not. It just shows you you can't please some people looking at some of the reviews on here. My wife, my 2 young sons and myself stayed in the flat and although it's not the best hotel we have ever stayed in, it was clean and tidy, well maintained and we all enjoyed it and will probably go back and stay there in the summer. For what it cost us it was excellent value. It was the first time we have been to the area and we loved Llandudno, it is a beautiful place with so much to do

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We can only praise the staff at this location. We had no problems whatsoever. The room was very clean and the decor in good condition. We could not fault the food and the club members were extremely friendly. We will certainly go there again. Our trip took place in June 2010.

Helpful?
Thank bobandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Having read a previous review on this site I can only think the writer must have a grudge as it has no relevance to the experience I had when staying at the Club in September 2007.

I was greeted by the very friendly manageress on arrival who quickly sorted out the room details and checked with the golf pro that buggy reservation's were in order for the next day (which they were).

Being rather tired after travelling we thought we would try the on site restaurant and were very impressed with the quality of the food, especially at the very reasonable prices charged.

The room was compact but clean with what appeared to be a new en-suite bathroom. The views over the course were an added bonus.

The golf course has improved beyond recognition from the last time I played here some five years ago, the club have obviously invested heavily in upgrading it and the process is still continuing. The head Greenkeeper, Mike, is a very knowledgeable chap and also a sage of advice on the local area in general.

The bar was very comfortable with a plasma screen showing whatever sports happened to be on and the staff were pleasant. On the second night the bar was still serving when we retired at 1:30am!

Altogether a comfortable stay and very good value for money.

Helpful?
6 Thank PeterJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyn Bay
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kinmel Hotel
Kinmel Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ashmount Hotel
The Ashmount Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Point Hotel
West Point Hotel
#4 of 10 in Colwyn Bay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club

Property: Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club
Address: Dormy House Hotel Glan y Mor Road, Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno LL30 3PU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno > Penrhyn Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rhos-On-Sea Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing