We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we tried it!”
Review of Ivy Restaurant

Ivy Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ivy Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Wheaton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Metra Train
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glad we tried it!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We decided to try this place for a Saturday lunch and we're glad we did. It was a beautiful day so we sat on the outside patio which is tucked between 2 buildings so it sits back from the sidewalk and street noise. Inside the restaurant was very nice also - pretty with great architecture. The menu offers a good selection and we chose a variety of things - everything was quite tasty. Favorites included the pepper shrimp appetizer (shared among 4 & quite generous), the beet salad which included a good amount of goat cheese (restaurants often are stingy with goat cheese), and the Parmesan tomato side dish. Other items we had included crab tilapia, brushcetta salad, chipotle turkey sandwich, bean soup and house potatoes. For us dessert was gelato and bread pudding - thought the bread pudding was a bit on the dry side. Service overall was average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sewjourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    86
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, very welcoming to our group”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Three couples got together to share an evening and a meal. The owner stopped by to recognize us as the "party" table and we learned about the history of the building and the restaurant. I started my meal with the Almond French Encrusted Brie. The include artisan bread (toasted hard), blueberries and baby greens. It was very nice and big enough to share with another person. My entrée was the Ivy Summer Salad. Chopped iceberg and romaine lettuce, with sweet vinaigrette dressing, fresh blueberries, grapes, mandarin oranges, grilled chicken and sliced almonds. It was hearty enough to call a meal. I really prefer to order meat, but I have been trying to drop a pound or two and this fit the bill. The others at my table had Parmesan Encrusted Salmon, Oscar Style Filet Mignon and the Bone In Ribeye steak. All complimented the chef for the accuracy of the preparedness (medium rare was pink with a little red, medium included no red meat) and the delicate balance of flavors and textures. We will go back soon. Don't forget the crème brulee for dessert.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samiamiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was nervous coming here for lunch in the middle of a work day but service was quick and friendly. I ate outside on the patio and it couldn't have been lovelier. Salads are great here but a little heavy on the dressing and a little pricey for an average lunch ($13-$15 for salad), though portions would nice sized.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
468 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went to a wedding dinner upstairs at the Ivy. Nice atmosphere. Had a bathroom on the second floor as well. Appetizers were good. Entrees, very good. Had two petit fillets on breaded tomatoes with béarnaise sauce. Fresh asparagus and mashed potatoes. The meal was extremely good and as a guest, would definitely recommend others to have functions there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Perfect Day for Patio Dining”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

While the weather could not have been better for afternoon dining outside at Ivy, the parmesan encrusted salmon made the experience outstanding. The crab cakes were filled with lump crab. Both meals were delicious.

Also, I took a group of people to Ivy for Thanksgiving. Traditional turkey and all trimmings, including dessert, beside a lovely fireplace in a beautiful setting, made for wonderful memories and ample leftovers.

Ivy has great atmosphere and dining. HIghly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeecup1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivy Restaurant also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Glen Ellyn, DuPage County
 

Been to Ivy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing