We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleasantly surprised with the kitchen...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Reviewed 8 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is updated nicely and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Junior.
This is an extended stay hotel and seems to have become a long term residence for a number of families/people. Returning from an evening at work there was a large number of people gathered at the front entry socializing and smoking and I had to walk through them. The hotel should encourage these folks to move to the gazebo with the gas grills at the end of the building. Not a good experience!
Housekeeping failed to refresh the room. When I called the front desk, they sent them immediately however they did not refresh the coffee or toiletries. Not impressed...
As others have mentioned, the air conditioner was very loud requiring constant adjustment of the TV volume. Not sure what can be done about that though.
I did not partake in the breakfast as I work late and it ends at 9:00 but I was very pleased that I was on the top floor which was quiet for the most part. As a wood constructed building, I highly suggest the top floor to avoid stomping from above.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was recently completely refurbished. The rooms were nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. The price was excellent for the area. But the extra loud air conditioner was enough for me to say I wouldn't stay here again. I will assume it was new like everything else in the hotel. I slept reasonably well with it, but my wife and I couldn't even understand each other over the noise unless we spoke very loud. The television had to be cranked up extra loud to be able to hear it. Then when the air conditioner shut off, the tv would be so loud they could probably hear it from two rooms away. There was nothing wrong with the air conditioner. It was just a very, very loud fan. I don't understand how the people who design these rooms can think these are acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I would like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience in regards to the A/C unit in the room.
If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me, I will ensure your suite is up to brand standards and exceeds your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Overall, the hotel itself was nice. Far away from downtown, but near a quaint neighborhood.

Room: Comfortable room, and well stocked, though housekeeping did not come once on a weekday, when they were supposed to.

Service: The breakfast was poorly attended. The fridge had expired milk. None of the employees seemed motivated to fix this problem. Besides, it was hard to even let them know in the first place as no one was at the front desk half the time. We were also given wrong information on the trains, creating a commuting complication.

Stay here for the room, but don't count on the service!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlexZawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornsuitesMgmnt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than expected. We do follow protocol to enssure the saftey of our guests. If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me, I will ensure your suite is up to brand standards and exceeds your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 2 in Prospect Heights
323 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chicago North Shore
2.8 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling

Address: 8000 Capitol Dr, Wheeling, IL 60090-6478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range: £52 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection by Sealy Posturepedic. Wake up to a fresh cup of coffee! Wheeling, an all-suite property, is the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment or temporary housing. Each suite consists of a fully equipped kitchen: dinnerware, silverware, pots and pans, dishwasher, stove top and a full size refrigerator with an ice-maker. Working area has a spacious desk with two-line phone, voicemail and complimentary high-speed Internet service. Relax in an oversized lounge chair while watching your favorite shows on HD cable TVs. To curb those late night munchies, visit our designated vending machine area. You have a companion? No problem! We re pet friendly. Conveniently located west of Interstate 294, 30 minutes from Chicago and only 10 miles north of O'Hare Airport, we are a perfect location if you re visiting the North Shore, Rosemont or the Northwest Suburbs area. Located only blocks away from Chicago Executive Airport and many of the Fortune 500 Companies, only a couple miles away from the Westin Chicago North Shore Conference Center, we are a perfect fit for a night or a temporary home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Northbrook Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago - Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Candlewood Suites Wheeling
Candlewood Wheeling
Wheeling Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing