We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Westin Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chicago North Shore
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was here recently for a business function. I experienced a very pleasant stay. The onsite restaurant was very good. My room was nice. nothing out of ordinary but nice. If you are in area for business this is a good choice

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your nice comments , i am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its surrounding restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I found that the WESTIN branded SPG properties are amazingly consistent. This property proved to reinforce my observations.
Clean, contemporary,professional staff, wonderful beds and bedding, and quiet on the guest floors. Check in smooth. I'm Gold SPG and they accomodated my few requests with alacrity even when stay was booked via a third party source.
I did not eat at the restaurant but peaked in on the Sunday brunch which looked very good but just a little generously priced. They included champagne and a bloody mary bar so if you plan to imbibe then the price point is reasonable.
Ate at the Coopers Hawk restaurant just in front of the hotel and this was very good and moderately priced.

Room Tip: The ice machines are in closets so they won't be a noise issue but wise to request a room near e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoy the Westin brand and that we were able to meet the level of service that you are use too. We appreciate our SPG partners and look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed for the 4th year running at this hotel in October, attending an annual conference. Whenever I have stayed at the hotel, the staff have been very helpful and efficient. The rooms are clean and tidy but the furniture is now getting rather tired and in need of a facelift.

The irritating issues include bedroom doors that close with a loud bang and poor noise insulation between rooms and the corridor. The breakfast buffet has not changed or improved over the 4 years I have been visiting the hotel and for me is rather disappointing; the prices have increased however. The food tends to be lukewarm and lacking in choice.

Overall I find the hotel comfortable and a place I would return to. The general ambience is set by the staff and they do a good job.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel will be doing a refresh in the very short ipcoming months, and this should correct some of your concerns with the wear and tear of the furniture. I will address the food and pricing concerns with the restaurant and get this back on line. We do appreciate your committment to this hotel over the years and want to make sure everything is up to your standards when you come for year five!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business since the hotel opened. The staff have been extremely helpful in providing a pick up and drop off service for visiting local malls or going to my office building. The rooms are the high standard that you would expect from the Westin. There are a few restaurants close to the hotel. The Ram across the road offers good bar food. If you make a booking at the hotel using expedia be sure to call the hotel in advance to confirm your booking. I would recommend booking directly with the hotel or SPG to prevent any problems with overbooking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for the nice comments in regards to the property and our staff. We are glad that you enjoy your stay when here and that you are taking time to visit some of the great restaurants in the area. The Ram is also one of my favorites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have been staying at this hotel since it opened. The last year or 2, it had slipped. The service wasn't what it had been, the rooms weren't as clean, and the whole atmosphere was so-so. Happily, there has been a noticeable difference! The staff was more professional, and the rooms were spotless. The food has always been quite good, but there was improvement there as well. It would be nice if there was bar service a little later during the week. It would be a 5-star review but for the furniture in the guest rooms. It has taken a beating, and needs spruced up. Still, it will continue to be our go-to hotel in the northwest suburbs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TypeATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for noticing are recent changes as the hotel was judt recently taken over by new management. We have been working exteamly hard with our team to create a better customer service atmosphere. More good news is that the hotel will receive a refresh in early 2014 that will take care of some of your other concerns in regards to the furniture. I will pas on the information about extend bar hours to our restaurant owners so you get to enjoy some more time in their great establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I most recently stayed at this property in August. It is a beautiful hotel although it is starting to show some wear and tear after 7 years. The service is typically pretty good. The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin, nicely appointed with great Heavenly beds. The fitness center was recently renovated and is very nice, however, most of the weight lifting equipment has been removed in favor of more space for yoga and other activities. As far as dining options go, the hotel has a very good Italian restaurant called Saranello's. There is also a Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant on the parking lot, as well as, several other good restaurants neraby. Overall, the property is an excellent option for a business trip.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks Randy, for your nice comments about our Westin. Looks like you enjoy your stay when you are here, but specially your experience with the signiture Westin Heavenly Bed. Not sure if you are aware or not , but you can purchase the Heavenly Bed online or if you would like to reach out to me I would be happy to provide you with more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The friendly and helpful staff is the best thing about this hotel. They even offered us umbrellas when we were leaving on a rainy day. The location has easy access to the Tri-State Tollway and the North Shore suburbs.

The room décor could use refurbishment. The room is bland, but not in a stylish way. The bed was comfortable, the room size was good, there were enough electric sockets to charge one's technology, the WiFi is better than most, there is a full-length mirror in the room and everything was clean.

The room lighting is a problem. I understand the need for energy efficiency, but the lighting in the room and even the bathroom is surprisingly weak and dim. If the lighting is going to be this dim, there ought to be a lighted makeup mirror to compensate, but the makeup mirror has no light. There is mildew in the grout in the tub/shower, and it needs to be re-grouted. There is a bar to hold onto while getting into the tub/shower, which I like, even though I am an able person.

There is a good restaurant in the building, called Saranello's. Overall our stay was fine, but this Westin could use an update.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_WCNS, General Manager at The Westin Chicago North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your most recent stay. GOOD NEWS! We will begin a refresh of our guestrooms in the early part of 2014 and address just about everything on your list. If you are interested about finding out more about the refresh please let me know. Thanks again for being loyal to the Wenstin Chicago North Shore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
1.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago North Shore

Address: 601 N. Milwaukee Ave., Wheeling, IL 60090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range: £105 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago North Shore 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 16 miles north of O’Hare International Airport in the stylish North Shore district, The Westin Chicago North Shore blends style and elegance with the convenience of a full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago North Shore Hotel Wheeling
Westin Hotel Wheeling
Westin Wheeling
Wheeling Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing