We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable, lovely service, great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chicago North Shore
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, lovely service, great business hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2010

One night stop for business meeting. The hotel is large and very comfortable, big rooms with the lovely Westin beds giving a great night sleep for the jet-lagged. The service was faultless, they also have a complimentary shuttle bus to take you from hotel to local areas and back to the hotel. The rooms were good value too. The wi-fi connection was excellent and on $9.95 for 24 hours. Handy for airport too, but would not recommend if you want a venue in the centre of Chicago, this is some way out. Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    187
    68
    20
    14
See reviews for
82
78
34
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

If you are traveling to the Chicago suburbs, this is a great hotel. The hotel wasn't full when we stayed so we had the place to ourselves. The staff was great (as they usually are at a Westin) and the room was clean and spacious. There is a great restaurant on site and several other places to eat within walking distance and more within a very short drive (less than a mile). I will stay here again when I travel to this area.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank randomlytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

What sort of $200+/nightly business hotel refuses to serve food -- or even a drink -- at its bar at 9:30 pm on a Monday? That would be this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJAinLA90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We were back at this Westin for the second time in October 2009 and liked it even better than in 2008. We were there for the Pinball Expo, and the hotel gave participants a really good rate on the rooms. Unlike last year, when we had to order the expensive breakfasts, they had a delicious all you can eat breakfast buffet this year, which had a fair price - that was fantastic! And they have excellent tea too!
One morning, a bunch of very big eaters had completely cleared out the buffet within 5 minutes, and there was practically nothing left for guests arriving after them.
The staff was great - they really raced around to serve everyone and refill the buffet. It was really stressful for them, but they stayed graceful, friendly and patient!
The cleaning staff was also really nice, only the front desk people seemed a bit bored and weren't so patient at times. I had a few questions every now and then, and was a bit disappointed about their responses. But overall, I found the service to be better than in 2008!
Someone else wrote something about the fast elevators - that's true - you never had to wait for one!
I love their high-ceilinged lobby, tastefully decorated rooms (e.g. the black and white photo prints of Chicago everywhere), and last but not least the truly heavenly beds!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Being only 1 of 2 hotels in the area our company hasn't much choice but to put us in the Westin every time I have to attend a seminar in the area. The rooms and decor are amazing, cleanliness isn’t a problem and check-in staff members like Cassandra are very helpful and courteous, the restaurant service is decent, however, you can’t rely on the complimentary shuttle service or concierge service for anything.

My co-workers and I have heard several versions of their Shuttle service policy none of which make sense. For example: two shuttles, two drivers but only one shuttle has ever been made available at a time. Want to go to dinner and reserve the shuttle for the evening? Come back in the afternoon or every 20 minutes prior to departure in the hopes of being able to get your name on a list which disappears half the time. Another great example was when I requested a ride to our office literally a 7 minute drive down the street with both shuttles parked at the hotel, I was told to get a cab instead because the drivers were "busy". The crew that manages the shuttles is uncouth and I along with the rest of my peers have learned not to bother and call cabs to take us 8 miles down the road. Need recommendations on places to eat? Don't bother, they'll simply point you in the direction of their own restaurant or the two located in their plaza. All others require them to drive you.

I've been quite happy during my stay at other Westin properties; but the Westin North Shore has left a bad impression the last few times I've had to stay there. With a bad economy and many companies opting to relying on hotel shuttle service to get their employees around, the Westin needs to step up their game. Heavenly bed, hellish shuttle service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magoo190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I stay in a lot of Starwood hotels throughout the world because of my company. I ended up staying at this Hotel for 4 days because my SO had a conference at the Hotel. My first surprise came when I found out that this Starwood Hotel is almost double the price of the one I stayed at in Paris several months earlier. That was the conference rate too.

Unlike the amenities at most Starwood Hotels, this one seems to be focused on extracting time and money from clients whenever they can. The other reviewer is right on, it is very expensive. A can of pop is $5 (rather than $1.50 in PARIS) and others things are EXTRAGAVENT.

The staff is also very unfreindly unless you pull up in a limo. The high end crowd seems to be the focus of the staff of this hotel and you know from the attitude of the staff which "crowd" you fall into.

Also - Do not lock you key in your room in this hotel. You will undergo a examination that is similar to waterboarding of terrorists. They asked me in writing to list the contents of MY room, why I was there, etc. etc. Took almost 2 hours... I telecommute and told the staff I have telecons scheduled, but they did not care. I was the one who locked my self out of the room so it was not their problem.

If you are not cindy Crawford or George Cloony, say somewhere else.

BTW: The very nice desk clerk at the NY Westin I was at two weeks before told me that Westin pays their staff to enter "nice comments" about their hotels. If you look at my other reviews you can see I am not a Starwood employee. I wonder about so of the other reviews here./

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denewco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I chose it because I'm a Starwood junkie and it was close to where I needed to work. It is conveniently located near a small shopping center with a Massage Envy and full service salon as well as several restaurants. It takes about 20 minutes to get to Ohare without heavy traffic, also convenient. The hotel is quite new so rooms are clean and fresh. The service is hit and miss. I had to wait for help from room service, my wakeup call never happened. Also, they have a very limited room service menu (sandwiches, chips, nothing hot) after 10pm which is bad for me since I work nights and get back to the room late and hungry. However, if you are in the area and want points, it's not a bad bet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
531 reviews
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chicago Marriott Suites Deerfield
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Deerfield/Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago North Shore

Property: The Westin Chicago North Shore
Address: 601 N. Milwaukee Ave., Wheeling, IL 60090
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago North Shore 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 16 miles north of O’Hare International Airport in the stylish North Shore district, The Westin Chicago North Shore blends style and elegance with the convenience of a full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago North Shore Hotel Wheeling
Westin Hotel Wheeling
Westin Wheeling
Wheeling Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing