We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful mansion, awesome staff”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Karen Gables .

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nairobi Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Falko P
1 review
“Beautiful mansion, awesome staff”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great stay here as a young couple. We arrived very late which was fine for the staff. The staff over the duration of our stay did not stop to amaze us with their friendliness and service. The house is stunning; very nice room as well; great pool; great food; small garden to wander around in. We'd list stuff that we didn't like, but there simply wasn't anything to complain about. We didn't really see the owner (once buzzed by in a bathrobe) but spoke to the very kind parents. They have a very big and very sweet dog which we found adorable.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Looking forward to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick V
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I had an excellent welcome and time at Karen Gables. The room was very clean and cosy. The hosts are really friendly and are always ready to help you with questions. The food is delicious and be sure to try their perfect wines. I really enjoyed my stay! It's definitely the place to be if you're looking for day(s) of relaxing surrounded by a beautiful garden with pool. It can’t get any better!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
its good to know you enjoyed your stay at Karen gables .looking forward to hosting you soon ,.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WADG
White Stone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gem in Karen”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A super little B&B that transcends the service offerings of a traditional bed & breakfast. Fred the butler, waiter, wake up service, porter, chef and chief bottle washer is a super guy who creates the personality of this establishment.

Set in the cool, leafy superb of Karen in Nairobi, this oasis is a welcome retreat after the frantic adventure of an East African Safari.

The homestead replicates a traditional Cape Dutch home from the Western Cape, boasts large airy bedrooms, lovely quite spaces, dinning areas beyond the traditional dinning room, a swimming pool that begs to dived into and a rollong green lawn that ends overlooking a cool fresh stream.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
We are grateful to read your positive review and looking forward to host many people drawn by your it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byaman
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, peaceful place to begin exploring Kenya!”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The room we had was very well furnished, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom. Very quiet and peaceful setting. The staff were excellent to. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
great to know you enjoyed your stay with us , looking forward to hosting you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasper920
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dutch picture book boutique hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing location just a 20 minutes drive outside Nairobi and close to the National park. Located in one of the savest and well established neigberhoods of Karen Gables. Clemence and Frederik are perfect hosts and you can easily feel at home at this superb place. Seamless service along with the relaxing atmosphere of the house and the large garden is a great experience. We are looking forward staying there next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
thank you very much for your review and we work towards meeting your expectation and above in your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
331kirste...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homey yet elegant”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The new small boutique hotel Karen Gables is absolutely fantastic. It is a spacious and beautiful house furnished in eclectic antiques gathered by it's Dutch owner. The grounds make you feel you are hidden away in a paradise, surrounded by terraced lawns and a lovely pool. Service is top notch and friendly, the food excellent. Definitely a great place to recoup when staying in Nairobi. Ill stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
thanks you for your positive comment , we look forward to hosting you and friends again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davesA863...
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime excellence!”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

tucked away in a superlative part of Upper Nairobi aristocracy lies Karen Gables, truly a spectacular property with huge garden, lovely beds with superb finishes and excellent Full English Breakfasts, wish I could stay here forever!
huge pool and lamu style bar area. great staff, Fred and Hillary on hand and Silas and Juliet attending to your needs. well managed and well stocked, close to everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: huge property! lovely staff!
Liked least: not applicable!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
we are glad to have met your expectation and we look forward to host you again.
Karibu!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing