We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety of home type cooking”
Review of Ridgeview Grill

Ridgeview Grill
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Wilmette
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great variety of home type cooking”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Love the variety of food available from burgers to lamb chops to grilled cheese sandwiches. Comfortable atmosphere and the wait staff is very gracious. A few Greek dishes definitely worth trying and my family and I ate there three times in one week it was so good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank joeei b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This Greek owned mostly American cuisine restaurant has been a staple in Wilmette for over 40 years. The family who has operated this restaurant went through renovations a few years ago and it went from being a basic diner to an upscale reasonably priced restaurant. The food is consistently good in quality and quantity. I really enjoy their meatloaf, harvest salad and California omelette. Service is quick and the servers are very nice. The atmosphere is quite comfortable too. The recently added a low key bar for people who like to sit on a comfortable stool, have a beer and watch the game or read the paper.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelercat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Upscale Diner Food”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I like the Ridgeview. The food is consistenly good and fresh. There is a good selection of salads, sandwiches and entrees, including a few daily specials. They also serve breakfast. The place is very clean and the service is usually efficient. The Ridgeview remodeled several years ago and I kind of miss the old place, but that said the new Ridgeview is much more attractive and the menu is better too. They have a vegan pasta dish which I loved even though I am not a vegetarian or a vegan, but it is so good I plan to order it again. I go here once or twice a month either with my husband or with our kids.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois USA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tasty Patty Melt”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A pleasant choice for informal dining. Very roomy, friendly clientele. Quirky service, but they get it done.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpzeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Upscale Diner Food”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We went twice in about the span of a week. Once for dinner and once for breakfast. We were very impressed with the menu selections. The pricing was pretty average for the area (a little on the expensive side) but definitely do-able. Service was quick and the food tasted good. Breakfast was probably better than dinner with some very interesting/yummy sounding options!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echodumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ridgeview Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing