We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No place better”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is my first review, but was my fourth trip! Bedwell is sort of one of this magical places you almost don't want to tell anyone about for fear of it getting crowded and thus as a visitor having less of an experience. With the four year break between visit three and four, I found the place even more exceptional. The attentiveness and true caring of an awesome staff is one of those things you wish all resorts did, but don't. This trip I brought 4 teenagers and my friend who didn't think she could participate due to a health issue. They absolutely bent over backward for her..helping into a boat to go salmon fishing was the ultimate! The kids were everywhere doing all different things, together sometimes,part other times. As usual I had to qualms about their safety as guides look after everyone very very well. I felt the same security I did when mt son was ten and we first went there. One of our teenagers caught four salmon on two trips out..last one a 25 pounder! A whale beached right next to their boat! It always expecting the unexpected that adds to the adventure that is CWR! The new tents are perfect...I admit to not being excited about not having indoor plumbing...the new tents are aren't just that..it's a cedar bathroom w/heated floors, a door that opens to an "outdoor" private shower with 2 different shower heads...looking up at the stars through the rain forest. It simply doesn't get better than that! While some may be "put off" by the price...just add up all the adventures, top notch gourmet meals, drinks, 24/7 available snacks, top guide costs, boat rentals, equipment rentals, time to find all that stuff, horse rental..the list goes on....add it up and it actually would be more frustration and cost than the wilderness resort!!
I can go on, but you get the idea. Book early, as they are getting popular....yet, when it's full, with all the various activities it never ever seems crowded in any way.
One caveat. Although don't allow smoking in the tents or building, they did allow a group of German tourist to smoke in the common area, which means if you are a nonsmoker can't stand cigar smoke, the common area..where you sit around a wonderful outdoor fire and compare adventure stories with the other guest....was not available. To make things worse, the smoke would drift into the the lodge so we had to go to the very back to get away from it. The staff didn't look to happy about it, but of course, would necessary say anything.
Overall, on a scale of 10. This, despite the smoking policy that should be changed, is a 12+!

Room Tip: Kids love the older tents w/outdoor compost toilettes..but pay the extra for the new tents for the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC-USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I hope the title got your attention, because this place really deserves it. The restaurant is indeed superb, particularly given the fact that it is 18 miles from the nearest paved road. And yes, some of the older tents have chemical toilets outside, but they are immaculate, and apparently good enough for Scarlett Johannsen who was married at Clayoquot in 2008. (It's not Clayoquot's fault that it didn't work out) If the restaurant were located in a metropolis, it would definitely be among the very best, and worth a special trip. The ingredients are mostly locally sourced, and expertly prepared. The sommelier is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about introducing diners to Clayoquot's collection of eye-opening British Columbia wines.

And the culinary experience is only a sideshow to the real heart of Clayoquot, the stunning Vancouver Island environment. Trees, trails, rivers, bays, mountains. Whales, seals, eagles, bears. You can ride a horse, hike, kayak, cruise the bay and the Pacific looking for whales or fishing in a Zodiac. Zipline, paintball, skeet shooting, mountain biking. And the spa is first-rate.

There was so much to do that it felt like we were there for more than four days, but at the same time, at the end of our last day we didn't want to leave.

John and Adele Caton have, along with their very special staff, created a wonderful place in a spectacular wilderness. It's pricey, but more than worth every cent you spend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrydog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Hello Harrydog44 and what an enticing title you have there. Certainly got our attention! You have nailed Chef Orr's delectable dinning experience to a tee, well done! We strive to make everyone's experience here the best the will have and it sounds like we accomplished that here.
We hope that we will stay in your memories and that we will see you again in the future!

Until next time,

Kathy MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The early morning sunshine is creating shadow patterns of the surrounding rainforest on the walls of our Prospector tent. We are snuggled in a king sized bed under a cozy down comforter. One of the neighbourhood black bears can be heard on the tidal flat below our porch turning over rocks looking for his morning breakfast.

This is no ordinary Prospector tent and this is no ordinary holiday.

My wife and I are nearing the end of 4 incredible days here at the Clayoquot Wilderness Resort. This special place is an enclave of remarkable luxury and outdoor adventure. Our time here has been a memorable blend of self-selected outdoor activities and quiet reflective moments. We have enjoyed the breathtaking scenery and the glass-flat water of the inside channels and the fiord that stretches toward the Pacific. We have fished for salmon and watched grey whales in the rolling waves at the edge of the Pacific Ocean. We have kayaked in the Bedwell River Estuary and around the Resort in the mist of a quiet early morning. We have experienced the silence, the mystic, cathedral-peace and the rugged beauty of the area’s old growth forest. We have been inspired by the passion and the commitment that the Resort staff have to their environment, the animal habitat they share and its sustainability. And in the midst of all this wilderness, we have been fueled by astounding 5 course meals of fresh, local seafood, meat and organic vegetables, creatively paired with an infinite variety of some of BC’s very remarkable wines. And, we’ve had meals “to go” that defy the traditional definition and contents of a “boxed lunch”.

The staff of the Resort has done so much to enhance our experience here. Personable and quietly attentive, nothing has been too much trouble and everything has been possible.

For my wife and I these wonderful days here at the Resort have been all about new experiences, a dramatic and refreshing change of pace, sharing some “alone time”, renewing our connection with the natural environment we enjoy and balancing some energetic outdoor activities with precious, reflective moments. The sum total of our memories will be as much emotional as they will be physical and as much about how we felt, as what we did.

Others have defined the Clayoquot Wilderness Resort with a three-word phrase “remote, refined, remarkable”. In that simplicity is the truth. This is a special place, we have had a very special experience and we are taking home a very unique collection of memories. To all of you who have made this possible and so uniquely special, THANK YOU! ……. beyond that we are speechless.

R and B "on the road"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandBontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

If you have children, this is the vacation you all will enjoy! The thrills, memories and amazing photos will elicit conversations for years I'm sure. We all participated in activities together and individually, it was our choice. The salmon fishing was my sons’ favorite; catching a 32-pound trophy fish helps! My daughter loved the horseback riding through the old growth forests. The staff was organized, worked well together, and were more than accommodating to ensure this was an amazing adventure for our family. Thank you all at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen2004_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Everything at Clayoquot is astoundingly perfect, from the fun luxury tents to the fresh, delicious, local gourmet meals. Everyday is a fabulous new adventure, led by expert guides. The kids adore fishing with Chuck above all else in the world, whilst riding through the ancient forests makes my heart sing. I am thinking we'll be back...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethandtheboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Wonderful staff, guides, owners, dogs, bears. Kitchen is world class. You'll be introduced to BC wines that will surprise and delight you. Tents are as advertised but get one of the bathroom attached tents. Walk to and from the kitchen to tents takes you through what feels like Jurassic Park. Quiet abounds. Scenery so abundant the blind can enjoy it. The dogs travel with you on hikes and other journey providing a comforting early warning for the occasional bear encounter. John and Adele couldn't be more accommodating. The price is pretty high but the price/value equation is in line. Don't know when we'll be back, but we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaldPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I gave this long weekend to my family as a christmas present because I believe in giving memories not stuff....we travel first class a lot and this resort created an experience that we will not forget for a very long time...in fact next year we are going back again I hope! It is pricey but well worth it....you cannot take your money with you and this is an amazing way to enjoy it! Luxury Camping does not really give the accommodation justice but that is what it was....antique furnishings and outdoor showers in a tent....very cool....five star cuisine with wine pairings....you could roll up to the bar anytime and get an amazing meal.....the activities are what thrilled my 14 year old...horseback riding in the forest, fishing, whale watching, bear watching...from 10 feet away! To paint ball, rifle range, painting lessons, and a great spa to name a few things we did together....

Just go and thank me later
Cheers
Cheryl

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you jcwheeler for your fantastic review. You definitely have the right view on life and we are overjoyed that you chose us to bring your family for vacation. Here's hoping that we will become a wonderful family summer tradition for you.

All the best until next time!
Kathy MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayoquot Sound
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Property: Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing