We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays you'll ever have - don't miss it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays you'll ever have - don't miss it!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have been twice - the second time was even better than the first time - which we did not think was possible - as the first time we went we were on a world trip for a year and it was one of the best 3 places we visited - so we had to go back - expected to enjoy it but not be blown away - but again we had a brilliant time - great for all the family. All the staff team are brilliant, nice, helpful, great with kids but enjoy the various experiences with you as guides. John and Adele - the owners/hosts run a great ship and have loads of charisma thrown in as well. The kids may not let us go anywhere else again! just promise not to miss out if you have read this but i am afraid you won't be able to book when we want to go again! It is true Wilderness and up there with Galapagos and Amazon as experiences for the family.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the ensuite bathroom tent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

While we have had the extreme good fortune to visit some extraordinary places, we walk away (well, seaplane actually) from our recent four day stay at Clayoqout Wilderness Resort believing that what John and Adele have come up with is as fine as anything we have experienced. Wilderness—you betcha! In this remote location, as promised, there where whales and bears and tents set in a temperate rain forest – we loved that. We were equally enamored by the creature comforts such as the amazing meals, comfy beds and spa services. As empty nesters, we were originally a little worried that we may have stumbled upon a resort more family oriented than we were accustomed to, but ultimately found that watching the children delight in the place added to the appeal. It was great to enter the beautiful dining hall at the end of the day and swap adventure stories with folks that had come from all around the globe. We found it truly remarkable how the place ran—from housekeeping to dining room, to the activity coordination and execution; there were no dropped balls. Truly an excellent getaway—wouldn’t change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncwriter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We visited in June of 2009. It was an exceptional experience. The food was amazing, with top notch wine pairings and the "glamping" tent accommodations were great. The activities were well planned and incredibly fun. The packs of dogs to keep the bears at bay were a nice touch-- the kids loved it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDWny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlycue
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at Clayoquot. I was initially concerned that my expectations would be too high. The promotional material is so enticing. Well, we had a simply wonderful experience. Guide staff were fabulous - fun to talk with and extremely compitant. The food was incredibly good - five course meals every night with wine pairings - I've never had such variety and freshness in one place - three meals a day! Activities were really well handled and the tent accommodations are unlike anything we've experienced. The tents with attached bathrooms are luxurious and so comfortable. I requested an electric blanket in addition to the comforter and it was there upon arrival. A totally wonderful time - we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlycue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Outstanding....eventhough the weather wasn't great we had a fabulous time. The staff and guides were all excellent, food magnificent and we enjoyed all the activities (Yoga, horseback riding, fishing and kayaking). It is not really a place to relax doing nothing....it is much better to enjoy the outdoors and splendour of the area.

Room Tip: We had an attache en suite with heated flooring which was nice to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I spent 4 nights and 5 days with my 11 year old and 13 year old at this wonderful resort and we loved every second of it. My son fished non stop in the fresh and salt water and caught many different types of fish and loved being with Reid and Chuck, the two excellent guides. My daughter lived on horseback and happily rode the trails with Sam who helped her adjust to riding in the wild. Although I fished and rode with the kids, I also got to focus on my own interests like hiking on Flores island and partaking in some soul refreshment with 2 massages and long soaks in the hot tubs facing the mountains. The chef Ryan Orr and his staff put together some amazing meals which were a treat for me as someone who loves to eat but not cook,. They even made some simple food for my son who is not an avid eater. John and Adelle are lovely hosts and we had an amazing time and would highly recommend for any people who like luxury( tents with fire places, flannel sheets and heated floors in the bathroom), fantastic food and being in the great Canadian outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymccmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We first visited Clayoquot in 2009 and just recently returned for our second stay, this time with our four year old. I was a bit hesitant as to what activities we could do with our young child but there was no shortage of options. We went horseback riding (twice!), bear watching from a boat, mountain biking, hiking, trampolining and shot archery. Then without our daughter, I had two heavenly massages and my husband did a 5k run on the "Wild Side". While my husband and I climbed a tree, my daughter drew and painted in the art studio. Chef Ryan was amazing in terms of being able to tailor meals to my daughter's pickiness (he has a four year old as well!). The food and wine were spectacular. The staff fantastic. And the tents with the new en suite bathrooms...sensational! Looking forward to returning again in another few years when my second daughter is old enough to enjoy the resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margot k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayoquot Sound
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Property: Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing