We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Nearby Hotels
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tin Wis Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tofino Motel HarbourView(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamie's Rainforest Inn(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cox Bay Beach Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$264
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
130
5
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
5
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan adventureworth every pennycoho salmonhorseback ridingsea ottersexceeded all expectationsleft us feelingexceptional foodtravel insurancevancouver airportseaplane flightvarious activitiestentcampluxurybearsaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Missing Clayoquot already. Stayed with my sister and our teenage families. We expected a lot before we arrived and we got it. None stop adventure activities in a most amazing place and hosted by great people who care. Food amazing, tents just like ensuite bedrooms. Make sure you stay in Vancouver first, a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Director of Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

And we miss you Janet H!

Having your group here was such a delight and we are a perfect location to bring two families together for a vacation filled with activities!
We are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you all again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at CWR, and it is an experience we'll never forget. The activities were perfectly organized, the guides wonderful, the food so exceptional (and being from Louisiana, we know, respect and love our food!), the accommodations so comfortable and luxurious. But the memory we'll most cherish is the hugs we received, the kind words, the feeling that we were among family and will be missed when we leave. These people are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were treated like family from the moment we arrived at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort. This is by far the most unique vacation our family has taken. It will be a long time before we forget our wonderful hosts John and Adele and the unbelievable staff they have put together. Thank you to all for a truly magical 3 nights. We thank Ryan and Tereza for all the wonderful food and wine. Our 7 year old said it was the best food she has ever eaten! The guides were knowledgeable and fun. We really enjoyed our time with Dixon and Nikki, just to name a few. The resort is peaceful, relaxing and laid back, but not a detail was missed. We will be counting the days until we are able to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you Carrie H for this wonderful review! We always love to hear from our guests and are truly thankful for your wonderful words. We strive always to make this the best wilderness experience but also family vacation and we are thrilled to hear that we succeeded.

I will pass on your words to Chef Ryan and his team about his food being the best your 7 year old has ever eaten.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you all out here again one day!

Warmly,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

a while ago, I met with Tereza, the sommelier at Clayoquot Wilderness resort, and she described me her work place and I immediately knew that one day I would go there…well, it happened last WE: I got invited to this getaway that would combine food, wine, music and wilderness.
I embarked on this float plane, fulfilling already one of my kid’s dream, then it got even better when I got to sit beside the pilot…and a few minutes later we were flying over Vancouver Island and its majestic rain forest. After about 40 min, I hear in the headphones that we are going to turn left in that valley and that 5 min later we would be arrived at destination. And from there, everything went crescendo! Landing in this remote estuary, picking through the trees at the tents, being greeted at the plane by the team, getting to the resort in an horse carriage and Tereza handing us a glass of fancy bubbles!
I won’t go too much in details from now on in order for you to still have something unique to discover but just know that excellent food, awesome wines, interaction with nature, luxurious rooms with a unique feeling of showering in the forest, all the way to the moon awesome massages are around the corner.
But most all, this trip wouldn’t have been the same if the wonderful team of exceptional people hadn’t been there: attention to detail, generosity, in depth knowledge of the area’s history, world class service and pure genuine friendliness, that’s what made this trip a life time experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pintesev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Director of Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

We would like to thank Pintesev for posting this amazing review for us. Pintesev came to us through a business connection for our inaugural "Wilderness, Wine and Adventure Weekend" that took place in June 2013. We welcomed Pintesev as the wine maker from acclaimed British Columbia winery, Le Vieux Pin, as well as Canadian music legend, Jim Cuddy of Blue Rodeo to the resort for this extraordinary weekend.
We were trilled with the outcome of the weekend and are already busy planning for our second annual "Wilderness, Wine and Adventure Weekend" in 2014. Stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

i've been to a lot of high end resorts but to be in the wilderness, in luxury tents with fully functional bathrooms with heated floors !, an outdoor shower and in the middle of nature - priceless

John and the entire staff are top shelf - the food, the wine, the activities are second to none.

we started our first day with some yoga, had an amazing breakfast with homemade saugages and an egg white fratata - we then went hiking up 'Peggy's falls', came back for a gourmet lunch, then went white water kayaking down rapids- had a massage and a gourmet dinner with some outstanding wines......that was our first day

add in whale watching, salmon fishing, horseback riding, hikes and excursions to some amazing locations....and did i meantion the food ...

a Must go to !

Room Tip: truly outstanding - we are taking our kids there in a month from now - it was that good !
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Manager at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Hello LTD50!

Thank you for being the first guest of our 2013 season to write us a review, and what a great review at that! We are thrilled to hear that your experience here with us was such a great one. We strive each and every day to exceed people's expectations and it sounds like we succeed.

So very happy to hear that we will be seeing you again and with your kids. As you know, this is a great place for kids of all ages.

Until the next time,

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews