We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST GLAMPING EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST GLAMPING EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Words could never discribe this incrediable relaxing magical place. It really is the perfect family vacation, everyone is able to schedule their individual activates each day while discussing the options at dinner the night before.
Food.... let's just say, as everyone knows I'm a food snob- every meal is off the charts while having a fantastic wine list.
Sleeping.... Best sleep any of us has ever had!! The quietness and fresh air with a rain fall in the evenings hitting the tent was so very tranquil.
If your able to afford this trip, it is certainly one not to miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent four days at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort three weeks ago, and have NOT stopped thinking about it and raving about it every single day since our return.

The most noticeable difference between this and other five star experiences is the heart and soul that John and Adele (the proprietors) have put into every aspect of the resort. From the top notch gear, to the well cared for horses; the knowledgable and friendly guides; the absolutely fantastic comfortable and well equipped glamping accommodations; the insanely good food in the cookhouse; the keen knowledge of the sommelier...and all of her wine pairings; and most importantly the 24/7 F.U.N!!!

We got to go salmon fishing. skeet shooting, white water kayaking, did yoga every morning, went on an incredible expedition where we went bear watching (the cutest little baby bear you ever did see), went hiking on Flores Island (amazing sitka trees and vast sprawling beaches), we played in the surf in a zodiac boat, we went eagle watching, we went zip lining and horse back riding, we played pool....heck, even the float plane ride in and out was out of this world exciting!!

We cannot recommend this resort enough - we are already looking forward to our return.

Oh and by the way, we went on a romantic get-a-way - and it was PERFECT; yet definitely plan on taking the kiddos back with us next time.

John and Adele, you are incredible hosts.
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Until next time, all of our best always,
Chris Madden and Krista Lachapelle

Room Tip: room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_M_Ont_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This trip was truly magical, from the first hello to our last goodbye everything was handled with the utmost care and attention to detail. When we landed we were picked up with horses and upon arrival to Clayoquot Resort a welcome drink was the start of this dreamlike vacation. The tents are kept in sparkling condition and most importantly the staff is an absolute 10/10. Our excursions included hiking, horseback riding, whale watching, Eagle feeding, bear sightseeing to name a few and each one was amazing. The food is absolutely exquisite, your taste buds are in for a rare treat and the wine cellar is spectacular. This place is truly unique, words can't possibly describe how beautiful and majestic it is. Together with the wonderful hospitality and kindness of Clayoquot Resort you are transported to a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is our second visit and it was better than the first time. We love the ensuite! The activity guides were great, we tried river kayaking, hiking , horseback riding, fishing, shooting, bear watching! Great fun for our whole family. The food at the cookhouse was very good and all the stuff were attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We returned last night from Clayoquot, and have to say it was the best vacation we have ever taken, period. The kids had a blast and we can't wait to return. The food, accommodations, scenery, activities are all world class. However, there are not words to describe the service. Not a singe person in our family (kids ages 8,9, and 14) was ever told "no" regardless of the request. And the staff had a smile on their face 24 hours a day. We have been to some great places, but Clayoquot is the winner, hands down!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0j0grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We are one day back form our trip and it was absolutely fantastic. From the champagne as you exit the sea plane to the incredible food, fantastic excursions and wonderful people - the entire trip was top notch. Our sons left saying, "Best vacation ever!" We felt the same. The cabins are very comfortable, the environment is breath taking and the guides on each of the adventures are truly exceptional. There are not words to describe this type of vacation. We were looking for an adventure, but also not lacking in luxury - this was perfect. Something for everyone - spa, horseback riding, yummy food, fireplaces abound. The chef, Ryan, was excellent with our boys, who often ate dinner at the 'counter' while we enjoyed dinner with our new friends. Honestly, I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this incredible trip. Thanks to everyone at Clayoquot who contributed to making this such a special time for our family. A special bonus - we made great friends, who we will hope to reunite with at the beautiful Clayoquot resort!

Room Tip: Rooms with the bathroom en suite are better for families - for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah91302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited Clayoquot two years and ago and loved it so much that we had to return. This time we spent a week. I recommend a week to allow yourself time to enjoy all the spectacular actives and still have time to relax. On this visit we had three generations of our family, and everyone, from teenager to octogenarian, found activities that he or she enjoyed. Clayoquot is first-rate in every respect. The accommodations are exquisite, and the food is among the best I've had anywhere. The wines -- all of which are local -- are outstanding. The staff is amazingly accommodating and attentive. This place is simply the best.

Room Tip: Book an en suite tent. With this degree of luxury, who wants to have to use an outhouse?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Director of Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Oh Terri M we are alway so thrilled to see you and the family!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review that will help others with decision making!

Even better the 3rd time?? Only time will tell.

Hope this review has helped others. Drop me a line if you want to ask anything particular about what the experiences are like here at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort. kathy@wildretreat.com

Cheers everyone!

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayoquot Sound
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Property: Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing