We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Shore Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Neil's - CLOSED

O'Neil's
Price range: US$16 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Scott
Transit: Metra
Description: O'Neils restaurant is a casual yet elegant neighborhood hot spot where you can always find reliable delicious food and familiar faces. We have a full bar, outdoor dining and wheel chair accessibility. Copious free parking available behind the restaurant. O'Neil's in Winnetka is the ideal place for your special occasions and your daily Lunch and dinner.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“North Shore Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Contrary to other recent reviews, we were disappointed on our return to what had been a nice neighborhood fall back restaurant - especially good to walk to in a blizzard or enjoy the outdoor patio in late afternoon summer sun. We disliked the renovation, finding it noisy and squeezed, with diner benches and no privacy. The food is the same - nice salads and seafood - with the addition of a $14 hamburger. Neither in the past nor now did we consider the prices reasonable, but the quality was even. One complaint we have this year is that they issued a Groupon offer and proceeded to close for three months! We bought one hoping to use it for our "blizzard treat," but ended up having a few weeks in spring before it expired. Head's up for your $30 Groupon, they will only credit you $15 (what you paid them 6 months ago) unless you use it certain times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You need to try this place again. Recent changes are outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have been going to O'Neil's 2 or 3 times a year for quite some time. The decor and the atmosphere weren't great, and the food was declining. Even so, the price was good and it is so convenient. So when they offered a Groupon a few months ago, we bought it figuring we'd use it sometime. We went last night and we were blown away. We didn't realize it, but O'Neil's recently completely updated the interior and made major changes to the menu.

The interior went from dark/sleepy to sleek/cool. The bar looks nice and what used to be 2 separate rooms are now combined. Most of the tables are lined up train-style such that you're pretty close to the couples on either side of you. I'd personally prefer more free-standing tables, but that's just me.

Service was very good. Everything came out in a timely manner and our server was friendly and knowledgeable. The hostess came by to see how we were doing and she was delightful.

The food was remarkably good. The duck was crispy and juicy and it tasted great. The orange sauce was awesome. Honestly, probably the best duck I've ever had. My wife's osso bucco was also tremendous. The portions were sizable and the vegetables that came with the entrees were great. The house salad was large, fresh, and had a nice vinaigrette dressing.

The prices are still very good. We each had a drink and the total would have come to about $75-80 without the Groupon discount.

I have to admit that our expectations were fairly low, but we'll be back soon based on an excellent experience. Other people that have gotten tired of O'Neil's really need to give this place another try. I think you'll be surprised.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glencoetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A North Shore Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We hadn't been to O'Neil's for well over a decade. The friends we always went with moved to Atlanta. It just fell off our radar. But it is definitely back on our radar now. We've been to O'Neil's twice in the past 3 weeks. It was better than we remembered...Truly excellent food at very reasonable prices. The ambience is lovely and the service attentive. We are so happy to have rediscovered O'Neil's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmfinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, IL
Level Contributor
241 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I purchased a Groupon and went to O'Neil's today for the first time. It will not be our last. We were treated like family as we entered the restaurant. Our waitress, Minerva, made us feel like we were the only people in the restaurant, even though there was a party with more than 30 people going on in the main dining area. My wife, who normally doesn't care for tomato soup devoured the delicious tomato basil soup, as did I. His Cobb salad (chimney stack) was fresh and delicious. I had the flatbread with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese which was crispy and light. We both shared and left feeling very full. The prices are reasonable, and the service is great. We looked at the dinner menu since we would like to go back again and both the lunch and dinner menu are limited for a picky eater (which neither of us are). I actually prefer to not wade through a short novel of a menu. The restaurant was charmingly decorated, but we were told that in February of 2013, they will undergo another renovation due to the age of the building. They have paid particular attention to noise abatement with textiles/drapes mounted throughout.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chciago
Level Contributor
431 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Delicious Small Wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Actually this place looks smaller than it really is, but blink and you may miss it. We visited early in the evening and it was a good thing, because it became busy quickly; not surprising since the food while somewhat traditional is very tasty! Cocktails were delicious and we loved the mango margarita. For an appetizer try the portobello mushroom. It was not the best I have ever had, but it was flavorful and done right. The main entrees are nicely prepared and I would recommend the pecan encrusted tilapia. The waitstaff is very gracious. Overall, a very nice experience. It seemed a bit pricey for what you get, but maybe that is because of where it is located. Also, sit away from the bar if possible. It seems the young staff likes to gather there and they get a bit loud in their demeanor. Nope, I'm not being an old "fogey", I just think that for as upscale as this place wants to be, they should present it as such. They do have outside seating on the avenue which tends to be very nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Neil's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing