We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Tipsi Monkey - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tipsi Monkey
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Two friends and I ate at the Tipsi Monkey on a weeknight. The service was good, which I would have expected since we were the only customers in the restaurant. We ordered Guacamole and chips as an appetizer. Given it is a Mexican/Southwestern type restaurant, I was excited to try the Guac. Very disappointing - I took one bite and that was all, as did the rest of the party. Food was ok. We all ordered Strawberry Margaritas. While none of us are big drinkers, I suspect there was little, if any, alcohol in the drink, which was ok, except that you get charged for a full drink with alcohol. Maybe we were just there on a bad night, but I probably won't go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbird1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bummer”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Service was horrible - waitress couldnt answer simple questions about the menu or what types of beer they had. Fish tacos were very basic with minimal fish.
Fajitas do not come with pico de gallo, cheese, etc. - restaurant charges $1.50 for a very small serving of each - ridiculous.
Was very hopeful that it was going to be a good place to grab a quick meal and a margarita.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xKAKx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Food is delicious. Staff is wonderful.new management excellent. Will be back soon.they are know open on sundays all day amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romelcarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific food. Unexpected great service!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Sign says great Mexican and burgers. Thought we were in for a bar with good food. Totally surprised by renovated building with great service and EXCELLENT Mexican food. Aboda chicken tacos were very tasty. Totally worth the visit and a great addition to Winthrop Harbor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The staff here is amazingly friendly, they make feel as though you are a close friend from the moment you step in the door. Top that kind of service off with really good food and creative drinks and you've got a great place to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuisine-prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tipsi Monkey also viewed

Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
 
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
 
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
Winthrop Harbor, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing