We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“quiet and cozy”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nice back from the highway 3-story motel up to Country Inn standards. Being near a major cancer hospital many of the guests are patients and a shuttle runs between the center and the motel all day. There seems to be a continual caderie of smokers who gather outside the motel and can be irritating. The elevator could use an overall but all in all a well-run, clean, and very quiet motel. A few decent restaurants locally on Sheridan Rd. but foodies best head north to Kenosha for higher quality dining choices (15-20 minutes north). Watch out for local speed traps which seemed very frequent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildchough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    33
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
19
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zion, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have traveled extensivly for fifty years, both in business and personal travel.
The Country Inn in Zion provideds most comfortable, home-like feeling, the moment you enter their facility. Their staff is the most friendly, professional, and qualified group of employees I have ever encountered in a hotel facility. I have some physical needs that require special equipment and attention. Every need I have, has been graciously meet, many of them without even asking. Their rooms are spacious and proffessionally decorated and equiped with all the emenities of home, They inclued phones, internet access, microwaves, refrigerators,tv's and many other items if desired, such as in room whirpool, recliner chairs, roll-in showers, bath room assists. Their swiming pool is bright and airy with a large whirpool available, The exersise room has been greatly appreciated. They present
a complementary breakfast that provides a large selection of hot and cold choices to be enjoyed in a large dining area.
What makes the experience extra ordinary is that everyone from Lewis the manager to the fromt desk staff, the house-keeping staff, the maintenance personel, the breakfast manager, are all unified in providing every guest a genuine, warm, home-like atmosphere while they are at the
Country Inn and Suites in Zion

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benji080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stay here at least once a month, for 2-3 days at a time, while my husband undergoes cancer treatments. They are fantastic, the staff is all helpful and nice. The hotel is usually pretty quiet and offers a nice indoor pool and spa, also a fitness room. The breakfast isn't very good compared to other hotels that include it. Better than just a continental type, but the waffles are just frozen ones they put in the microwave - so soggy! The biscuits and sausage flavored gravy is very bland. I don't think there are any meats at all in the breakfast menu.

Nice restaurants and shopping nearby to drive or walk to. Good neighborhood too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSU1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We visit Zion at least once a year since my wife has checkups at the Cancer Treatment Center of America.

This is our favorite place to stay when we in town as it is always clean and the staff is great. My wife always recommends the Country Inn & Suites to new patients.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I work for another Country Inn Carlson property out of state and I must admit that this hotel is the only hotel better then our own!!!! I absolutely love this Country Inn and Suites hotel. However, the last time we visited the front desk staff Rachel was there and she was wonderful. We were "bummed" to hear that she moved to another job at the hospital. We hope she is doing well. Everything is still great at this hotel. This time though we got the two room suite. Which is what we recommend to everyone when vacationing here if you have 2 or more in your party. The separate room we used as a dressing room and it was so conveinent for us. A new restaurant that is in the plaza area next to the hotel is "Green Tomatoes". This is a must for you tourist. Buffet restaurant and the food there is so fresh and good. There is also a Dollar Tree for any extra amenities that the DH can run to and fetch since it's so close to the hotel. We have family in the Waukegan and North Chicago area but I love your hotel so much that I stay with you guy's instead of with my family (smile). Yes, I enjoy it that much! Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspertame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Was in the area for a short trip. I got in late at night and had another motel booked it was horrible as soon as we could the next morning we got out of there.
I tried calling Country Inn and it was booked so we went and ate brks. and I decided to drive the main road of the area to see if there was any decent hotels. There weren't. So I stopped at the Country Inn to see if maybe something opened up.
I explained the situation to the ladies working and they were wonderful. There was a suit available. The main room had a couch, table & chairs,closet, micro,fridge,coffee pot,sink area, tv and a king bed. then there were glass doors for a small room with 2 twin beds & tv. Really no view just parking lot and trees. Bathroom was a nice size. Everything was clean and new looking. I paid more then I wanted to but it was worth it. There was an indoor pool, wirlpool area with towels and an outside sitting area. The hotel is no smoking even in the front outside where the rockers are but they have a gazebo and swing area you can smoke in. It's also in walking distance of stores and food. It's about 5min. drive from the state park & beach.

  • Liked — The ladies working there
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

every thing here was really great. the people at the service desk was really nice. The rooms were very clean. family friendly place.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andrewgta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Market Square
1.3 mi away
The Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
11.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kenosha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Inn Motel
#1 of 2 in Winthrop Harbor
14 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion
Address: 1100 33rd St, Zion, IL 60099-3600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Zion
Zion Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing