We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Previous stays have been great but not so this time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zion
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Previous stays have been great but not so this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have stayed at this Country Inn before and always found the property neat and the staff was great. Of no fault of the staff this stay was not so pleasant due to rude guests. The walls are not sound proof by any means and loud guests only made problem worse.

The first evening our neighbor had a very LOUD phone conversation around midnight and then the last morning our neighbor on the other side decided to get everyone else up at 5 AM. They turned on the TV volume what seemed full blast.

I complained to the front desk when we left and they apologized. Suggestions were to stay on the third floor for future trips and avoid rooms with adjoining room entrance doors. Hopefully our next trip will have some nicer guests next to us.

Room Tip: Get on third floor to avoid other guest noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_zion, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dan,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel again. I apologize on behalf of the staff here at the hotel for the concerns that you had. Hopefully, you won't have the same noise problem on your next visit but if you do, please contact my staff immediately. It is unusual for us to have noise problems, so we should be able to identify and remedy them quickly.

Thank you again for your review as without us knowing about the bumps in the road, we cannot get better.

Sincerely,
Lewis Williamson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    31
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
17
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nice back from the highway 3-story motel up to Country Inn standards. Being near a major cancer hospital many of the guests are patients and a shuttle runs between the center and the motel all day. There seems to be a continual caderie of smokers who gather outside the motel and can be irritating. The elevator could use an overall but all in all a well-run, clean, and very quiet motel. A few decent restaurants locally on Sheridan Rd. but foodies best head north to Kenosha for higher quality dining choices (15-20 minutes north). Watch out for local speed traps which seemed very frequent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildchough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zion, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have traveled extensivly for fifty years, both in business and personal travel.
The Country Inn in Zion provideds most comfortable, home-like feeling, the moment you enter their facility. Their staff is the most friendly, professional, and qualified group of employees I have ever encountered in a hotel facility. I have some physical needs that require special equipment and attention. Every need I have, has been graciously meet, many of them without even asking. Their rooms are spacious and proffessionally decorated and equiped with all the emenities of home, They inclued phones, internet access, microwaves, refrigerators,tv's and many other items if desired, such as in room whirpool, recliner chairs, roll-in showers, bath room assists. Their swiming pool is bright and airy with a large whirpool available, The exersise room has been greatly appreciated. They present
a complementary breakfast that provides a large selection of hot and cold choices to be enjoyed in a large dining area.
What makes the experience extra ordinary is that everyone from Lewis the manager to the fromt desk staff, the house-keeping staff, the maintenance personel, the breakfast manager, are all unified in providing every guest a genuine, warm, home-like atmosphere while they are at the
Country Inn and Suites in Zion

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benji080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stay here at least once a month, for 2-3 days at a time, while my husband undergoes cancer treatments. They are fantastic, the staff is all helpful and nice. The hotel is usually pretty quiet and offers a nice indoor pool and spa, also a fitness room. The breakfast isn't very good compared to other hotels that include it. Better than just a continental type, but the waffles are just frozen ones they put in the microwave - so soggy! The biscuits and sausage flavored gravy is very bland. I don't think there are any meats at all in the breakfast menu.

Nice restaurants and shopping nearby to drive or walk to. Good neighborhood too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSU1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

We visit Zion at least once a year since my wife has checkups at the Cancer Treatment Center of America.

This is our favorite place to stay when we in town as it is always clean and the staff is great. My wife always recommends the Country Inn & Suites to new patients.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

I work for another Country Inn Carlson property out of state and I must admit that this hotel is the only hotel better then our own!!!! I absolutely love this Country Inn and Suites hotel. However, the last time we visited the front desk staff Rachel was there and she was wonderful. We were "bummed" to hear that she moved to another job at the hospital. We hope she is doing well. Everything is still great at this hotel. This time though we got the two room suite. Which is what we recommend to everyone when vacationing here if you have 2 or more in your party. The separate room we used as a dressing room and it was so conveinent for us. A new restaurant that is in the plaza area next to the hotel is "Green Tomatoes". This is a must for you tourist. Buffet restaurant and the food there is so fresh and good. There is also a Dollar Tree for any extra amenities that the DH can run to and fetch since it's so close to the hotel. We have family in the Waukegan and North Chicago area but I love your hotel so much that I stay with you guy's instead of with my family (smile). Yes, I enjoy it that much! Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspertame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

Was in the area for a short trip. I got in late at night and had another motel booked it was horrible as soon as we could the next morning we got out of there.
I tried calling Country Inn and it was booked so we went and ate brks. and I decided to drive the main road of the area to see if there was any decent hotels. There weren't. So I stopped at the Country Inn to see if maybe something opened up.
I explained the situation to the ladies working and they were wonderful. There was a suit available. The main room had a couch, table & chairs,closet, micro,fridge,coffee pot,sink area, tv and a king bed. then there were glass doors for a small room with 2 twin beds & tv. Really no view just parking lot and trees. Bathroom was a nice size. Everything was clean and new looking. I paid more then I wanted to but it was worth it. There was an indoor pool, wirlpool area with towels and an outside sitting area. The hotel is no smoking even in the front outside where the rockers are but they have a gazebo and swing area you can smoke in. It's also in walking distance of stores and food. It's about 5min. drive from the state park & beach.

  • Liked — The ladies working there
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion
1.3 mi away
Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Market Square
11.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kenosha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant Prairie
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant P...
#2 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion
Address: 1100 33rd St, Zion, IL 60099-3600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Zion
Zion Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Zion Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing