We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Country Inn & Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We visit Zion, IL at least twice a year as my wife visits CTCA for her follow up visits. Other than my previous visit, where we had noisy neighbors, our times there has been pleasant and enjoyable.

Dan and Stella are great at the front desk and always make sure you have everything you need. The young lady in the morning breakfast area was also very nice and made sure the food was hot and well prepared. She made sure the breakfast area was spic and span.

Planning to return next year for a follow up at CTCA and we have already booked reservations to return for our overnight lodging.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are quieter and away from the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Visted Country Inn and Suites with daughter and wife for soccer tournament in late June, 2012. It was blistering hot (heat index = 111!) and humid, but the hotel room A/C worked perfectly. Room was comfortable, clean and relatively well maintained with the exception of the shower rod which was trying to fall off the wall. We particularly enjoyed the front porches which featured comfortable wooden tables and rockers - great for enjoying a glass of wine and cooling off in the evening breeze which showed up on day two of our 3-day stay. As noted in other reviews, the walk to the full service grocery is about 75 yards. The hotel breakfast featured eggs, waffles, cereal, juices, milk, etc. and was self serve.

The hotel management and staff were pleasant and ready to please. Location was good for exploring the Waukegan/Gurnee area or as a stop over spot on one's way from Chicago northbound into Wisconsin. There is also a 6 Flags amusement park about 10 minutes from this property.
While the hotel is smoke free, some of the patrons appeared to not want to cooperate - one room I walked by reeked of cigarette smoke, even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking property. Odd, since this hotel caters to those seeking treatment at the nearby cancer center. There is a free shuttle service to the cancer treatment center for hotel guests.

Grounds are well maintained and the property is located relatively close to Lake Michigan - hence the cooling breeze in the evenings. A short drive (3-4 miles) away is the small town of Winthrop Harbor and the harbor area has a couple nice restaurants for outdoor dining.

Rate was very reasonable and I would recommend the property to others.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the woods on the backside of the hotel. It was quieter o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My daughter and I spent a few days together in Zion, IL. We stayed in one Hotel and then transferred to this hotel for a change of pace. The first thing you see is a rocking chair greeting you at the entrance to the hotel. The hotel is small and somewhat dated, but none the less inviting. The rooms are adequate and the bed offered a good nights sleep. The listing for the hotel says it had a continental breakfast, but it was a full breakfast with make your own waffles, fruit, hot and cold cereals, sausages, bacon, bagels and rolls, and assortment of juices. In addition to all this there was muffins and sweet rolls and coffee and teas.

There is a hiking trail that begins next to the hotel which has not been used in quite a while and is very overgrown so we were not able to use it.

For discount shopping lovers there is a dollar store next door and a K-Mart across the street. I remember a restaurant across the street, but I don't remember what it is. There are plenty of restaurants nearby if you have a car and a cute family restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abncparties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February 2011 while in town for appointments at CTCA during the 2011 blizzard. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of a grocery store, Dollar General, a thrift store and a few other stores. The hotel was clean and Dan at the front desk was extremely welcoming and compassionate. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank promqueen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is clean, well maintained and best of all smoke free. The staff was professional and took great care of us. Most country inns have coffee and fresh baked cookies when you arrive and this one did not but it was no big deal. Breakfast was excellent and it was really nice to use real plates, forks and glassware. It is 12 minutes to the Great Lakes Navy base and fit our needs perfectly.

Of the 20+ country inns I have stayed it South Jordan UT is still the best but I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_zion, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Jim S,

I appreciate you taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Country Inns & Suites I thank you for your business and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Lewis Williamson
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Zion, IL
847-746-0101

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are large and have a microwave and fridge. There is an indoor pool too.
The full, hot breakfast is a great start to the day.
Definitely a good place to stay in Zion, IL.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have stayed at this Country Inn before and always found the property neat and the staff was great. Of no fault of the staff this stay was not so pleasant due to rude guests. The walls are not sound proof by any means and loud guests only made problem worse.

The first evening our neighbor had a very LOUD phone conversation around midnight and then the last morning our neighbor on the other side decided to get everyone else up at 5 AM. They turned on the TV volume what seemed full blast.

I complained to the front desk when we left and they apologized. Suggestions were to stay on the third floor for future trips and avoid rooms with adjoining room entrance doors. Hopefully our next trip will have some nicer guests next to us.

Room Tip: Get on third floor to avoid other guest noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_zion, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dan,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel again. I apologize on behalf of the staff here at the hotel for the concerns that you had. Hopefully, you won't have the same noise problem on your next visit but if you do, please contact my staff immediately. It is unusual for us to have noise problems, so we should be able to identify and remedy them quickly.

Thank you again for your review as without us knowing about the bumps in the road, we cannot get better.

Sincerely,
Lewis Williamson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Market Square
1.3 mi away
The Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gurnee, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
20.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Mt. Pleasant-Racine West, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL

Address: 1100 33rd St, Zion, IL 60099-3600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Zion, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Zion
Zion Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Radisson, Zion, IL Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing