We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Mexicana
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

This place has excellent food. I ordered the arros con pollo. Easily my favorite dish consisting of rice topped with shredded(strips) chicken grilled to perfection. Then it is topped with their creamy white cheese dip. Good to the very last bite! The service was excellent, drinks always refilled right away. Polite staff making sure everything was good.

The only thing the place lacks is a bit of atmosphere. It has a great start with the decorations and such but it seems like there is a just a little missing. This place is very good, could be on the verge of being great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

When this place first opened up it was really good, the food seemed more authentic, no cheesy streamers hanging from the ceilings, the place was always packed. Now, the salsa tastes like ketchup. The food is basically whatever you ordered smothered in cheese and this ketchupy salsa. My kids ordered quesadillas, the cheese was not melted. If you're up for a drive go to El Reparo in Greensburg, that place is really good. Toros in Batesville is also decent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, In
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value but slow..........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Went here on a Saturday afternoon, there wern't many customers other than our foursome. We got our menus and drinks quickly, then waited over 30 minutes for our food. And the order was not that complex! The food was good but fairly bland. The quality of ingredients is much better than the other Mexican restauraunt in town.
The menu is pretty varied and the prices are good, especially the drink prices. The building is a neat, old, building with lots of wood and exposed brick. It's very clean.
I wish they could play some music other than cheesey Mariachi stuff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinSandyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, in
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good portions, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The beans are a tad runny but the rest of the meal was excellent. We ate lunch and were promptly served and well attended. The music is not loud, the food is hot, and it is a very festively decorated place. The parking could be better, but you have to work with what you have.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Give them a chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Sorry to hear about Indiana2012 and JimJ12 experiences, here goes mine: I'm not a huge fan of Mexican Food, however, This is a great inexpensive Mexican restaurant. its very casual but there is still care taken in the decor. the food is great, not too much just enough. Service was cheerful and incredibly fast. All around a good experience. And with the fast service I was done in plenty of time to hike back to work

The toros humm I have being there twice and never go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Mexicana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing