We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The end of the rainbow”
Review of Aore Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aore Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I spent 6 fantastic nights at Aore island Resort near the end of last year...November...

Firstly,I have a fond connection with the tropical islands, having grown up in PNG and spending time in Vanuatu,at the Aore Island Resort particulaly, brought back so many great memories of those times.

Secondly, from the moment I arrived at the wharf, I was made to feel welcome by all the staff. I was rapped with the setting and accommodation. There were so many nice little touches. Anne the manager greets all the visitors which I reckon is a lovely and she allows a great connection between you and the rest of the staff/locals.

Nothing is too much trouble and the local knowledge really helps in organising the best and safest tours of Santo,which could be pretty tricky on your own.

The grounds are immaculate,the island friendly and interesting and the location is heaven. I had a great bure close to the restaurant. The front yard of the bure is a ..perfect beach...!!, with great swimming and snorkelling,not to mention the soothing lapping of the waves throughout the night.

The food was great...check out the Lobster curry,and the atmosphere in the lounge room and eating area, instantly relaxing and always friendly.

One of the highlights of the stay was being included in a staff birthday party. The party was put on by the staff for the manager Anne ,which can only be taken as a testimony to the cohesiveness of the whole resort and the morale of the staff.

You can really feel part of this place if you're willing to and there is so much to do. They have all the activities available including a great pool but I'm not really one for hanging around pools when in paradise.

I'm staying in touch with the staff and have made connections/friendships I will keep up for sure in the future. Overall it was very affordable, I managed to get a good special at that time of the year.

I hope to get back to see the gang this year some time...

All the best to all my friends at Aore.

Regards

Terry Clarke

Room Tip: If you can get a room close to the restaurant...it's easy to stay part of the place that way. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

Aore Island is a short, free ferry ride, across from Santo Island. The photos on the resort's website certainly tell it like it is - the place is gorgeous! The rooms are all bungalows with great balconies overlooking the water. We stayed in a deluxe beach front bungalow and enjoyed the extra space and larger balcony. The beach at the resort is nice - great for people with kids. There is a small area of coral out front with an interesting mix of colourful fish that can be easily snorkelled from the shore.

The rooms are clean and well laid out with everything you could want including mini bar, ceiling fans, hair dryer and iron. There is no aircon but that doesn't matter because the rooms catch the breeze thanks to plenty of slat windows.

The resort also offers the opportunity to use their free kayaks and their bikes to tour the island. The free ferry runs 4 times a day so you are not isolated from any local tours or buying drinks and snacks from the local stores.

The resort has a nice open air restaurant and the service is always friendly. The food was okay. Resort management tried very hard to cater for special dietary needs (One in the party was a vegetation) however, the local chef had difficulty at times interpreting requirements. Due to the ferry schedule guests have to eat at the restaurant every night (except Fridays) or pay a surplus for an extra ferry if you want to go to the main island for dinner. Having said that, resort management did arrange a special transfer for us to the mainland at no extra charge, on our day of departure so we didn't have to spend too long in the rudimentary Santo airport. A nice touch!

We also stayed a few nights at Village de Santo on the main island (see our separate report on that hotel)

Room Tip: Pick the beach fron rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

In two minds about this place, will list the ups and downs:

UPS
- good location, in front of Luganville, snorkling around the island is fantastic, we saw turtles, massive corals and lots of fish. There is even a lion fish that lives by the jetty.
- food is good
- beachfront studios are clean and comfortable, light and elegantly basic
- staff are very helpful and lovely
- the garden was tidy and the distribution of the resort was comfortable

DOWNS
- there is no swimming on the beach, there are too many rocks and it is too shallow
- only breakfast is included, and not everything, just the buffet, that does not have hot plates
- garden one bedroom fares are dark, gloomy and there is not real separation between the living area and the bedroom, you are better off in a studio.
- the kitchen was not clean and we saw big rats next to the garden fares and the restaurant
- they charge for the snorkling gear and everything else, they charge by the hour for the SUP gear
- our reservation through booking.com was missed and it was by chance that there was a free room for us

Room Tip: Go for a beach front, t he price difference is not much but the rest is
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I just celebrated a milestone birthday at the resort. From our arrival we were made to feel right at home and our time there was pretty much perfect in all respects. The food was excellent and the accomodations spacious and clean. Service was personal and attentive at all times.
Rex helped set up any activities that we desired whether it was there at the resort or off site. If you have a chance, take the Plantation Walk and enjoy the scenery and learning about the plants that surround you.
We dove the local reefs with Santo Divers (Aore does not currently have a functioning shop onsite) and if diving is your thing, ask to go to Tutuba Point and Cindy's Reef! These reefs are spectacular!!!
We also did hire a car and drove to the top of Santo one day, this was well worth doing. There are lots of places to stop along the way, take your time and enjoy the day. Not much going on in town so we spent most of our time at our own lovely resort!
I cannot imagine a better place to spend a week!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

From the moment we were met at the airport, the greeting at the resort to being waved off ten days later, we had a lovely relaxing holiday - just what the doctor ordered! We selected the Aore Island Resort because we are a couple and we value our privacy and peace and quiet, and we needed a tranquil relaxing break. Having said this, we didn't want to be stuck in a remote spot, and Aore resort provides several ferry trips each day to the main Espiritu Santo Island where you can visit the local restaurants and market or hire a car and explore the fantastic beaches and traditional villages in more remote areas.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly, the restaurant provided a wide variety of good food at virtualy any time of day. The included continental breakfast was well adequate, the indevidual bungalows were neat and clean with fresh flowers tended daily, and not placed too close together. Most had bushes between them and the best part was the child free area so you don't have to suffer other people's children while their parents sleep in! The best bungalows for complete quiet and privacy would be the studio beachfront nos 7 or 8, these were farthest from the restaurant and really private.

The beach is sandy with some coral, the sea is sheltered and calm. Snorkeling straight infront of the bungalows was pretty good with a very wide range of sea-life, we saw lion fish, trigger fish, parrot fish, octopus and trumpet fish to name a few. The coral is better viewed from a dive, we dived with Coral Keys as they have their own special coral locations. We also dived the Coolidge wreck which was a short boat ride away. Canoes and bikes were also available for use, and the swimming pool was cleaned daily.

An excellent experience.

Room Tip: Couples, no 8 studio beachfrount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzyShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We would definitely recommend this for a relaxing holiday. It was far above our expectations. It is a very professionally operated resort with a personal hands-on charm. Welcoming cocktails and flowers in the rooms were a lovely touch and indicative of the attention to detail that applies to everything including the food. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosannePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent 5 days at Aore Island Resort. The plan was to relax and that is exactly what we did. Relaxed around the pool, relaxed on the bungalow verandah, relaxed over breakfast, lunch and dinner. We didn't have to think about a thing. From the time we stepped off the plane and were met at the airport by Rex we felt welcome. Anne and the other staff members met us at the resort, introduced themselves and took care of our every need. Even our plans for coming home were taken care of by Anne. Nothing was too much for the staff and every request was met with a wide smile. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacMayTsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aore Island
7.4 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
309 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
121 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aore Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aore Island Resort

Address: Aore Road | Espiritu Santo, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Aore Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Price Range: £116 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aore Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aore Island Resort is a stunning Pacific Island retreat with an authentic and welcoming culture nestled in a unique natural paradise. Experience the raw luxury of our private boutique bungalows and indulge in an impeccably fresh beachfront dining experience overlooking the crystal clear waters of Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aore Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aore Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Aore Resort Santo
Aore Hotel Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing