We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aore Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aore Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aore Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Certificate of Excellence
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aore Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our family of five has just returned from 12 nights at Aore Island Resort.
We enjoyed the warm welcome and wonderful hospitality of owner Anne and the friendliness of staff Annie, funny Michel, Rocky, Rose and Manson (and Mitch too). We arrived in time for the New Year's Eve party which was a fun night with lots of singing, games and fireworks.
We had the unique position of staying in the gardenview bungalows as well as a beachfront bungalow. We were quite content in our gardenview bungalow (still had ocean views toward Luganville) but were impressed when we had the opportunity to move to a beachfront. We had our own walkway to the beach, where you can snorkel 10m from the high tide line. Lots of beautiful coral with an abundance of fish and starfish.
The beds were very comfortable, the rooms serviced everyday and immaculately cleaned.
We could be as active or inactive as we chose - we snorkelled, kayaked, rode the mountain bikes to a magnificent rocky point looking toward Tutuba Island, where it seemed we were the only people in the world. The Plantation Walk was great too, with Rocky leading the way.
A trip over to Luganville was quick and easy using the scheduled ferry, but you can go over at any time. We found our tour guides waiting for us once we got to Luganville.
Tours were easily organised by Anne or Annie and we got to appreciate the local area.
We had the meal plan, with one course lunch (that was plenty) and two course dinners. Our hungry teenagers were satisfied with their meals, and tried just about on the all-day dining menu. Each days' specials were so tempting, it was hard to choose between the chicken, beef, poulet fish, prawns, lobster and some vegetarian options. I think I tried all the cocktails on offer, and my husband enjoyed the Tusker beer. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, with pastries or muffins, wonderfully-tasting fresh fruit, cereals, toast, juice and nice strong coffee or tea.
Having visited some of the other resorts in Luganville, I am confident we made the right choice to stay at Aore Island Resort. We had a great time, came back fatter and would eagerly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosKaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    61
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
152
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The bungalows are so close to the water were there is excellent snorkeling. Anne the owner is very hospitable as are the staff. Meals are fantastic and the Santo beef the best organic meat one has ever tasted. Had a lovely relaxing massage with Marie and a lovely walk over other parts of the island. Highly recommend the resort for a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: Bungalows are well spaced
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hesined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just off the spirit no diving available two streets from wharf free ferry to the most magical place
beautifully kept grounds good snorkeling had a fantastic meal 1x whole cray approx 28 AU$,
we did not have accommodation at resort we had lunch & it was magnificent,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is going to be a really short review, I mostly wanted to add a few photos from our trip at the end of November 2013.

It's a lovely resort, well spaced out along the beachfront (even the 'garden view' bungalows all face the sea). The staff are all really friendly and looked after us so well - and as the other reviewers have already said, Santo Beef is *fantastic*!

We went on a couple of dives on the Coolidge with Santo Dive - great trip, very relaxed and professional dive crew and easy to organise with Anne etc from the resort. We also went on the Millenium Cave Tour - superb and well worth it if you're up for something a bit more adventurous, just take a shockproof, waterproof camera!

The coral out front of the resort isn't anything spectacular, but having said that, the diversity of sealife was truly excellent, on a two-hour trip we saw dozens of different varieties of fish, including several pipe fish, lion fish, a moray, some (mating!) nudibranchs... loads of cool stuff, and lots of different types of coral - they're just spread out a bit - head left out from the resort jetty and just keep going!

OK, that's it. Hope this helps

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James99999999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Aore Island Resort was possibly one of the best places we have stayed while on holiday! The staff we all very friendly and kind, the view was fantastic, our bungalow was perfect and my partner (a steak lover!) recons the steak in the restaurant was the best he has tried. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday right on the beach with lovely coral right at your front door, this is the place for you. We will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

After a rough year, my husband and I needed a peaceful place to unwind. Aore Island Resort is the perfect place for that, along with the ever friendly care and service received from the staff. Every new guest is personally greeted by the owner, Anne, and provided with a welcome fruit drink. The bungalows are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The beachfront bungalows have their own little private piece of the beach where you can snorkel or swim straight off the sand. We were extremely impressed with the menus, food, and the nothing is too much trouble attitude of every single person who works at the resort. The tours are great and very flexible depending on weather or if you change your mind, nothing is a problem. We made some great friends and we can't wait to come back. Thank you Anne and all of your wonderful staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfingsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We keep coming back to Aore Island Resort: both for diving holidays with groups of friends and family, and for romantic down-time as a couple.
Staff are professional yet so friendly. All guests comment on how welcome they feel and nothing is too much trouble. The resort is run by the owner/manager which means that there is extra commitment to making sure guests are well looked after.
The bungalows are very clean and serviced to a high standard with comfy beds, big verandahs, fly screens and louvers - ideal for the tropics.
The Resort is a pleasant 10 min ferry ride (free for guests) across the Segond Channel from the main town of Luganville on Espiritu Santo. This gives guests the feeling that they are on their own private tropical island (although there is the whole island of Aore including school, villages etc behind the resort). The views across the channel are pretty, day or night.
The resort has a pool, kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling gear, push bikes and many other items guests can use during their stay. Divers have a choice of a few dive operators to select from n the area - a great base for diving the President Coolidge.
The food is very high quality (make sure you try the Santo steak), cooked by excellent chefs. My only difficulty with the food and menus is trying to choose.
We will keep going back to Aore Island Resort.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are a bit more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aore Island
7.2 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
1.7 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aore Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aore Island Resort

Property: Aore Island Resort
Address: Aore Road | Espiritu Santo, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Aore Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aore Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aore Island Resort is a stunning Pacific Island retreat with an authentic and welcoming culture nestled in a unique natural paradise. Experience the raw luxury of our private boutique bungalows and indulge in an impeccably fresh beachfront dining experience overlooking the crystal clear waters of Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aore Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aore Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Aore Resort Santo
Aore Hotel Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing