We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aore Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
248
74
22
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
248
74
22
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront bungalowfishfree ferrypaddle boardssanto beefdive operatoraore adventure sportsnew ownerswater musicspecials boardchampagne beachpush bikesbike ridingwelcome drinkadult childrenno pressurelunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed the Aore Island resort for 12 nights. Having read a number of positive reviews, I had high expectations... and the resort lived up to all of them!

Everything was fantastic from the beach front bungalow, quality of the food in the restaurant, service from the super friendly staff and owner Anne, local knowledge on the Islands\tours and of course the diving

While diving we used the resort's baby sitting service for our 16 month old daughter. Our toddler instantly loved the baby sitter (and all the other staff), which made our holiday more relaxing - especially when we were off diving

Yes, there are mosquitoes and bugs at night, but nothing some insect replant couldn't fix. Yes, the food in the restaurant is a little more pricey than in Luganville but the quality is sooo much better and very generous portions! Seriously the Santo Beef is the best steak I have ever had - pitty it's all exported to Japan, and can't source it in Australia...

The resort provides a ferry direct back into Luganville several times per day, which takes about 10 mins. Once at Aore, we found no reason to leave. We only used it twice for a tour and to visit the shops. Our dive operator picked us up via boat from the Aore jetty which is the most direct and convenient way to go diving. Only 2 dive operators do this - Santo Island Dive and Aore Adventures

For an amazing relaxing holiday (and awesome diving), we would return to the Aore Island Resort!!

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are literally 10 steps to the sand, and come with a massive veranda to enjoy the water views!! Defiantly the way to go...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights after staying around Luganville. Since it's on the island, it is really quiet, and there is nothing much to do at night, and you have to dine at the hotel's restaurant.
The restaurant is average and a bit pricey, and you don't have much other choices around.

There are lots of mosquitoes on Aore, and we got attacked almost constantly by the bugs, even with repellent. All the windows have mosquito nets, but even with that we got some inside every night.

Room Tip: Choosing a seafront bungalow is a plus, and you have a coral reef with lots of fishes in front of your door.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GauthierHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Aore Island Resort is an excellent place to stay and to make it your base for exploring Espiritu Santos many attractions as access to mainland is easy. The bungalows are very nice overlooking the water with amazing sunsets each afternoon and the snorkelling is good. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the food in the restaurant is to die for, with beautiful Santo Beef a speciality and the best steak we have ever had! We certainly recommend Aore to anyone looking for the ideal South Pacific getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a garden bungalow that was great. Really friendly staff including the manager Anne. Welcomed with a drink when we arrived. Had the most amazing santo beef steak one night for dinner from the restaurant. Snorkling immediately in front of the resort was great. Took advantage of the Friday evening boat to have dinner at Deco Stop but would rate the food at Aore better. Would stay here again if we came back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited Aore Island to dive on SS President Coolidge, a 200 metre luxury liner turned troop carrier that sank after hitting friendly mines in 1942 with 5,000 troops on board.

We were diving with Aore Adventure Sports and Lodge which is adjacent to Aore Island Resort. Some of our fellow divers stayed at the Resort and reported that the accommodation is excellent. the clear best choice is a water frontage unit.

My wife and I used the Resort for meals on 3 occasions and drinks on several more occasions during our week on Aore Island.

The location is second to none and it is very accessible from Luganville. The food is outstanding. the Santo Beef is to die for. The seafood is fresh, well prepared and well presented. The wine list is complete and not excessively priced.

The Resort is an excellent base from which to scuba dive on The Coolidge, many other WW2 wreck sites as well as the many and varied reefs. From a convenience, experience and safety point of view the location of Aore Adventure Sports and Lodge next to the Resort is recommended. Most dive sites are within 15 minutes of the Resort and dive gear (excellent quality) is available as are courses

Room Tip: spend extra and go for the rooms adjacent to the water. The credit card fee of 5% is silly and this was my only gripe
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews