We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Island Experience”
Review of Aore Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aore Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From my many questions to the ever patient Anne (owner of Aore Island Resort) through to the end of our stay (with many more questions in between), our stay at Aore was amazing. The staff (Rocky, Michel, Manson, Riley and Rose to name a few) were amazing, warm and friendly and wonderful with the guests.
The food was brilliant, and if you didn't feel like anything on the chef was more than happy to make something up for us. Great entertainment - especially Island Night on Saturday - and a special birthday cake treat for my birthday.
Our fale was gorgeous - right on the beach front with snorkelling on our door step - the boys hardly spent anytime in the pool as reef and variety of fish right in front of us was more than enough to keep them entertained. The huge coral trout that swim under the jetty are fantastic (we've named the big one Taniwha!).
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and serviced daily. The resort is in two halves with a "family" end and a "couples" end - a great way to ensure people get what they want from their holiday.
The location is idyllic - we stayed in Port Vila one night either side of our trip to Aore and that was more than enough. For all of our sight seeing we went to Santo and did tours with Santo Heritage tours - Champagne Beach, the Nanda Blue Hole and Riri Blue Holes were out of this world.
The ferry ride to Santo runs often enough to never feel like you're far away from anything but if you want to just relax then this is the place to be - you feel like you are on your own island!
We can't rate this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kruzesales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had three nights in this lovely resort. Very friendly and helpful staff from the neighbouring islands. Good food and bar. Well functioning wifi in reception area. Free transfers with boat to Luganville.
Beautiful and long beach with good snorkelling. Boat trips to other locations on sale.
Enjoyful island feast on Saturday with stringband and dancers from Banks Islands and of course taste of Vanuatus strong kava.
Aore Island Resort is a very nice place to be.

Room Tip: Seaside bungalows a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After a long travelling day we were greeted by the wonderful Anne. Our stay at the Aore just got better everyday. The atmosphere at the resort was fantastic! The staff take great care of you and always make sure you have all that you need Mansen is brilliant and also Rocky, Ryan, Michel and Annie. Aore put on a really fun " Island Night" the food is amazing! They encourage the guests to take part during the day and come and watch how the local food is prepared for the night. Taking part in this was great! My wife loved it, she also helped make the traditional head bands out of the palm leaves with the staff.Even sharing a snack of roasted banana on the hot stones! Having my 40th birthday there was sensational Anne and Mansen set it up beautifully with a table outside under the palms,fire lamps and a tasty birthday cake too! This is definitely a place of high recommendation for relaxation.A great place to stay when your scuba diving with Paul from Aore Adventure Sports everyday and leaving the loved one behind! You both win!! Look forward to staying there again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good-beach or garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skilliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Watching the sun set on a beachfront balcony, warm, well fed and cosy is hard to beat. Aore Resort is one of the few places nowadays where the coral is still good, highly colourful and within a few metres of the beach. The tropical fish were plentiful colourful and friendly- aided by a no fishing zone and, (I suspect), a bit of judicious hand feeding.
Swimming and snorkelling was very good. Free kayaks were a bonus although the maintenance on them wasn't good.
Meals in sole restaurant were tasty, varied and reasonably priced as was the wine.
Our beachfront bungalow (no 24) was roomy, well appointed and clean.
The free 15 minute ferry several times daily to Santos saved any feelings of being isolated.
Owner Anna lives on site and keeps a friendly effective staff.
This is a 3-4 star resort with options for plenty of activity or just lazing about depending on inclination. I would happily return.

Room Tip: Most bungalows would have a good sea view but the inside size and fittings vary presumably with pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Aore Island Resort has all the advantages of paradise: location, weather, beach and environment.
The bungalows are self contained, clean and right on the beach. You can swim in the warm waters of the Pacific straight in front of your room, snorkel, fish and even go on a traditional dug-out canoe. Food is very good (try the lobster) and you can always visit Luganville and the rest of Santu, as the resort is only 10 min by boat to the harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed the Aore Island resort for 12 nights. Having read a number of positive reviews, I had high expectations... and the resort lived up to all of them!

Everything was fantastic from the beach front bungalow, quality of the food in the restaurant, service from the super friendly staff and owner Anne, local knowledge on the Islands\tours and of course the diving

While diving we used the resort's baby sitting service for our 16 month old daughter. Our toddler instantly loved the baby sitter (and all the other staff), which made our holiday more relaxing - especially when we were off diving

Yes, there are mosquitoes and bugs at night, but nothing some insect replant couldn't fix. Yes, the food in the restaurant is a little more pricey than in Luganville but the quality is sooo much better and very generous portions! Seriously the Santo Beef is the best steak I have ever had - pitty it's all exported to Japan, and can't source it in Australia...

The resort provides a ferry direct back into Luganville several times per day, which takes about 10 mins. Once at Aore, we found no reason to leave. We only used it twice for a tour and to visit the shops. Our dive operator picked us up via boat from the Aore jetty which is the most direct and convenient way to go diving. Only 2 dive operators do this - Santo Island Dive and Aore Adventures

For an amazing relaxing holiday (and awesome diving), we would return to the Aore Island Resort!!

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows are literally 10 steps to the sand, and come with a massive veranda to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights after staying around Luganville. Since it's on the island, it is really quiet, and there is nothing much to do at night, and you have to dine at the hotel's restaurant.
The restaurant is average and a bit pricey, and you don't have much other choices around.

There are lots of mosquitoes on Aore, and we got attacked almost constantly by the bugs, even with repellent. All the windows have mosquito nets, but even with that we got some inside every night.

Room Tip: Choosing a seafront bungalow is a plus, and you have a coral reef with lots of fishes in front of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GauthierHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aore Island
7.4 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
312 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
181 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
126 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aore Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aore Island Resort

Address: Aore Road | Espiritu Santo, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Aore Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Price Range: £116 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aore Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aore Island Resort is a stunning Pacific Island retreat with an authentic and welcoming culture nestled in a unique natural paradise. Experience the raw luxury of our private boutique bungalows and indulge in an impeccably fresh beachfront dining experience overlooking the crystal clear waters of Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aore Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aore Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Aore Resort Santo
Aore Hotel Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing