We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out and relax!”
Review of Aore Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aore Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Fantastic place and very very well run compared to the other places we stayed at in Vanuatu. If you want to chill out, swim and snorkel in front of your room in quiet friendly surroundings then this is the place. It is not for those who want music blaring, nightlife, kids clubs, room service or airconditioning.

We could not fault it-our teenagers loved it the best and did not miss TV for a second. The staff are great and the place is immaculately kept. Next time we are flying straight to Santo so we can avoid Vila totally and head straight to Aore island to unwind.

If you are visiting please bring some supplies (books, art materials etc) for the island school or consider a financial donation as they are building a new school. Ask at the resort office and they can arrange for you to visit the school and hand over your donations in person. This was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rinnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

we have just returned from vanuatu. we spent 5 nights at irriki resort in port villa and 3 nights at aore. we wish it was the other way around aore was much better.it was paradise it felt like your own deserted island. the huts on the beach were great, really clean with plenty of towels. the food was yummy and a lot cheaper than iriki resort.the snorkelling was great and very close to the ss coolidge. there are 2 kyacks which was good . a catamaran would be good. jodie the manager was lovely ,friendly and attentive the owner wasnt very friendly , there werent many customers yet she didnt introduce herself to us. service was quick. we only went on 1 tour ,a trip down to the blue hole $100 for 1 half hours which was too expensive. the island is 40km and you can ride around it but we ran out of time. my mother sent me a text message that there was a tsnami warning but we had no idea! we had 3 eathquakes whist there . it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen6693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Superb location and staff. The resort is on a seperate island which gives real away from it feel. The rooms are clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. The resort boat that goes to the mainland links in with the trips

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller99nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Wanting to scuba dive on the President Coolidge, we decided to go to Santo, Vanuatu and stay at the Aore Island Resort. When we arrived we went to the dive shop located at the Resort 'Santo Island Dive' and spoke to the owner, Mal, regarding a dive package. The next day we were off diving, and loved it so much that we actually extended our dive package and dived virtually every day of our stay. Our Dive Master Alfred, was awesome. Being a local, he knows heaps of knowledge about the area, and could swim the whole of the President Coolidge with his eyes closed. His dive experience, local knowledge, and friendly personally & sense of humour can't be beaten. We also dived with Donald who was also fantastic, and on the day we couldn't dive, spent the afternoon fishing with Alfred & Matthew. We loved spending time with all the guys from Santa Island Dive and they all made our holiday extremely memorable and miss all of them.
The resort was fantastic. Its located on the Island Aore, just across from town, and the resort runs a ferry that takes you back and forth during the day. The rooms are individual bungalows that have everything you need (no phones, no tvs...heaven!) The staff at the resort are fantastic and always greet you by your first name. Make sure when you go that you get the food package. With the food package you get a large continental breakfast and then you also get lunch & dinner as well. Its an all day menu so you can have lunch when it suits you (or take a picnic hamper with you) and you can choose anything off the menu, including Lobster for dinner.
We had the best 10 day holiday thanks to all the fantastic people and beautiful location....we will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb-Pete-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay here, all the staff including Manson, Annie and Michelle were very friendly and nothing was too much hassle. We got a HUGE garden view room which was great. Had a little fridge to chill our water, the huge deck was also a bonus and I spend many an hour on there reading my book looking out onto the resorts beautiful gardens and ocean.
Dived with Santo Island Diving and Fishing which was awesome, Henry, Alfred and Don were great dive masters. My husband said diving the Coolidge wreck was amazing, and the reef dives I did were great.
Ann and Jodi the owners were very accomodating and made sure we had a great stay. Snorkelling is also great from the beach on the left of the jetty.
The food was spectacular - in particular the Santo Beef and Lobster, we got the meal plan which was great value, it meant we could order anything on the menu, one course for lunch and two courses for dinner - $55 AUD we recommend you get this before you go.
There is a regular ferry accross to the main island of Santo so we never felt 'trapped' there. There is a supermarket 5mins walk away from the main jetty on Santo where you can buy snacks etc.
Recommend the Plantation walk, and taking the free bikes for a spin!
We also did the highlights tour of Santo which was brilliant, took all day and we saw so many of the wonderful attractions around Santo including spectacular blue holes, champagne beach and million dollar point.
The photos of Aore Resort do not do it justice! The swimming pool is not the best but we were there to swim in the ocean! and they are upgrading it soon.
We would love to come back here, and we miss it already as we had such a great time there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamCannelloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We loved Aore - good accommodation, great food, lovely hosts and staff, amazingly beautiful location and on-site access to fantastic diving, fishing and snorkeling trips. Lots of superlatives I know but it really was that good!

Here’s the detail.

Location/getting around/management

We flew into Santo and were met at the airport by the customary ‘man with the sign’. Luggage loaded it was a 10 minute drive to the jetty and a 15min boat trip over calm blue seas to Aore. The resort is located across from Luganville on a large island, it has a beautiful beach and well tendered grounds. There is a free boat service that runs back and forth several times a day.

We were met by the wonderful Anne – one of the owners. She gave us a great orientation and was a delight to deal with throughout our stay. Jodie (who tag teamed to manage things when she wasn’t there) was also excellent. Advice what to do and how to do it, through to sorting out our constantly changing domestic flight – nothing was too much trouble.

Accommodation

We stayed in family bure right on the beach with a living room (where the kids slept); bedroom and bathroom. Spacious, beautiful polished floors, fully screened, good storage, comfortable beds and a deck to die for! It was my favorite place to while away an afternoon on the sun lounge with a cocktail and a good book soaking up the view across the water to the mainland. I guess maybe 4 star but it was quiet and peaceful, scrupulously clean (always serviced by housekeeping by mid morning) and everything worked including long hot showers at the end of a diving or snorkeling expedition.

Food

A decent quality continental breakfast was included – fruit, muffins, toast, cereal, tea and coffee - options off the hot menu at an additional cost. But…it was lunch and dinner where Aore really came into its own - excellent food – fresh fish, the famed Santo beef, other expertly prepared seafood options etc etc and a good kids menu. There’s a standard menu and a chalkboard with multiple wonderful dishes that change every meal. The prices were mid to high end restaurant but cheaper than similar or lesser std fare in Vila (and Australia for that matter). I really can’t say enough good things about the food except to end by mentioning the Melanesian feast on a Thursday night which was fantastic.

Activities at/from the resort – diving, snorkeling, fishing etc

There is good snorkeling in front of the resort and the kids loved feeding the fish that swim around the jetty.

A key factor in our decision to stay at Aore was the on-site dive/fishing/snorkeling facility and it didn’t disappoint! Santo Dive and Fishing run this operation and I can’t speak highly enough of our experience with them. Our first full day I asked Anne about a snorkeling trip – within the hour, we were on a boat (just our family) with two wonderful Vanuatu drivers/guides. First stop – pristine coral reef; second stop Million Dollar Point (where the Americans dumped their post WWII vehicles) for lunch and more fascinating snorkeling; third stop even better coral reef! It was a truly magical day - made extra special by the way the ‘boat guys’ interacted with our kids and the fun we all had! Next afternoon, combined snorkeling and fishing trip – 4 huge Trevally in 2 hours (we ate the best fish that night for dinner) and then another wonderful reef to dive, finished with a visit from a Manta Ray on the way home! Finally on our last day (we arranged babysitting) and did two dives on the Coolidge. Wow – this ship really lived up to its reputation as an amazing dive site – easy as well, no current and good vis. Diving with Santo through Aore we were spoilt with gear all prepared for us; a boat entry (the other operators go off the shore) and a small group.

The resort had mountain bikes you can use to explore the island – none for kids though (my only minor criticism the whole time we were there).

There is also kastom dancing in conjunction with the Melanesian feast and this was one of the best, highest quality performances I’ve ever witnessed and I’ve seen a few of these throughout the pacific. The resort owners really got into the spirit of the dancing as did the guests and it was just a great night!

Other Activities

We did the tour through Aore to the Blue Hole. There are two blue holes near Luganville and our tour visited the smaller which was actually two holes combined, accessible by canoe. We were lucky to be the only ones there and really enjoyed both the trip and the snorkel in the pristine clear water once we got there.

We organized a day tour to Port Olrey, Lonnoc Beach and Champagne Beach independently of the resort that I found on the internet. The resort’s day tour was more expensive but covered a lot more than we saw and I might be swung to that option had I had my time again. Champagne Beach is just spectacular – white sand, deep blue water and decent snorkeling. Lonnoc is nearby and has a basic restaurant good for lunch but be warned – we arrived with 14 people and they really struggled to cater for all of us. There was another group there prior and we learnt that after we left (it took a really long time to get our meals) they had run out of food! I wouldn’t visit Port Olrey again – it’s a nice beach but I liked Champagne better.

Aore Staff

There was just a really nice feel to the resort when we were there. I guess we were lucky with the other guests – everyone was just really laid back and relaxed. The wait staff remembered our names from the first day and were friendly and lovely with our kids. The same can be said for Santo in general. It was our favorite place in Vanuatu and I am already planning to go back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JodieTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

My husband and I have just returned from Aore Resort and could have not asked for more. I had spoken with Jodie before leaving for our vacation and found her to be polite, friendly and very professional. On arrival, after a very long day, we arrived in the rain to find Jodie on the wharf to meet both my husband and myself. We were greeted and booked in very quickly and settled into 8 nights of rest and relaxation and found our requests in earlier conversations to Jodie had been taken care of. It was comforting to know they had actually been listening to us. Our Oceanfront Bungalow was clean and well equipped with plenty of spare pillows, towels, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of supplies and we were even provided with Mortein. We could swim and snorkel outside our bungalow and spent most evenings watching the sun go down from our balcony. You could feed the fish which were constantly swimming around the wharf. We had purchased a Meal Plan prior to leaving and found the food to be beyond our expectations. The Menu was spectacular with new menus daily and we found the hardest thing was deciding what to eat as it was all first class all the way. The Bar and Restaurant Staff were polite and attentive and very much on the ball and we grew to love them all. We were waited on hand and foot for the whole stay. We had some rain which was to be expected but this did not deter either my husband or myself and we swam in the ocean regardless of the weather as the water was always very comfortable. My husband did a Plantation Walk his guide was Michel who explained everything along the walk and my husband stated that he never stopped eating the whole walk and he thoroughly enjoyed the experience. In fact we enjoyed the 8 nights immensely and cannot wait to do it again, which we will. The management, Jodie, Ann and Gary were gracious hosts and attended to all our needs. You only had to request something and they took care of it. They made us feel like friends and never like the people in Bungalow 2. We cannot thank them enough for what they did for us and making our vacation as splendid as it was. If you want a vacation with the opportunity to do as little or as much as you want this resort is the place to do it. If you want a resort were people really care then this is the resort for you. We went for rest and relaxation and this is what what got and with five star trimmings all the way. We simply cannot fault this beautiful little resort and got far more than we bargained for because not only did we get a superb vacation we made friends for life. We loved it and we cannot rave enough about it and we will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJimboomba_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aore Island
7.4 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
309 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
180 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
123 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aore Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aore Island Resort

Address: Aore Road | Espiritu Santo, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Aore Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Price Range: £117 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aore Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aore Island Resort is a stunning Pacific Island retreat with an authentic and welcoming culture nestled in a unique natural paradise. Experience the raw luxury of our private boutique bungalows and indulge in an impeccably fresh beachfront dining experience overlooking the crystal clear waters of Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aore Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aore Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Aore Resort Santo
Aore Hotel Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing