We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relax with ease”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aore Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aore Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“relax with ease”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

I stayed at Aore Resort with some friends in three bungalows.

The welcome from the boat was warm and organised. Anne and Jodie do have a very smooth operation and are available to address any issues and provide education and support when required.

The boat service to Luganville was on time and useful. We paid for an extra trip once when it suited us and it was reasonably priced. I don't think it reasonable to expect alterations to the service without prior arrangement, so the day we went to Champagne Beach we arranged for a specific service at the time we required it, and were not disappointed.

We brought our tropical strength insect repellant and used it as anyone travelling to areas where mosquito borne diseases are present should year round. There were coils out in the evening in the main Nakamal, and the rooms are screened.

The food was consistently very good (French influenced, local ingredients etc) and the fresh - caught that morning, whole lobster spectacular! (I had it 4 times in 6 days!).

The staff, my goodness, the staff were excellent! They could not do enough for us and were very friendly and good at their jobs. Special mention goes to Annie, Michel, Ali, Rocky, Manson and the cleaners and ground staff who were fastidious (they raked the beach!). The boat captain George was very skilled too as was my masseuse!

The string band came one night and gave the evening mood an authentic Vanuatu feel, not tacky at all like some theme nights that hotels have. Everyone joined in at the end and the band performed an encore at the enthusiastic request of everyone, including the staff. People were beaming!!

Snorkelling straight from your bungalow is great with a good variety of fish and coral.

I was happy to read and relax and felt like I could really unwind in 6 days.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoned01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    61
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
152
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We booked 4 nights at Aore Island resort and four at Oyster Island resort (see separate review). This was a family holiday with two teenage boys, and we choose Aore so that one of them could easily get to dives whilst the rest of us chilled out.
I won’t go over the ground covered by other reviewers on Aore Island. The big important things are great:
- Great location with easy access to Lurganville, but with a feeling of natural tropical isolation on the other side of the channel. Snorkeling is good and really easily accessible straight from the beach and jetty.
- Good snorkeling in very safe waters, and nice pool.
- Good standard of accommodation. Comfortable, and very well presented using natural local style and materials.
- Very friendly and helpful staff. Not in the forced way that you often find. Genuinely friendly. Anne and Jodie manage a tight operation, and are always happy to help and answer our many questions.
- Reasonable and mostly interesting food which I would have been more than happy with, but at the prices charged, I was expecting something more. However, it was never bad, and always fresh.

So I want to be clear that I was mostly very happy with our stay. Having stayed a few similar places however, there are a few small touches that would have made a big difference that weren’t quite right. I hope that if Anne or Jodie read this, these are taken as constructive suggestions to make some small improvements.
- There was clearly a mosquito problem for the first couple of days we were there. Strangely there seemed to be much less of a problem the second two days. I suspect they may blow in on the wind. The resort is backed by coconut plantation and rain forest and the problem was particularly bad in there. At the resort itself we were not well prepared and were eaten alive the first day. We asked on arrival and were told that there were just a few mozzies at dusk, but there were actually lots all day and all over the resort. The resort could have dealt with this better. On our second night, we asked if we could have mozzie coils and they gave us enough for that night only! No offer of enough for the other nights. We also noted from the printed information that we could request mosquito nets, which we did. Unfortunately we were covered in bites by then. It seems to be the norm in places with far less of a mozzie problem that coils and nets are standard in the rooms. I can only think that there is state of denial that there is a problem, or it is only an occasional thing as I haven’t seen other reviewers comment on it. I recommend that travelers come equipped with some tropical strength spray and your own coils.
- There was very little information on the local area provided. It would have been good to have a local map, and some self-guided walk, as well as some history on the island – which is actually very interesting. There is a guided walk for 500vt PP which I would recommend. It goes past WW2 huts that are now occupied by hundreds of small bats that will fly out as you pass.
- They have a few bikes that are in very poor condition that can be used, but again, not much use without a map.
- Unlike anywhere else I stayed, snorkeling equipment has to be hired at a daily rate. This is not made clear when you pick it up, but it is on the bill when you leave.
- There are no games provided. We didn’t think to bring our own, but it would have been great to borrow the usually ubiquitous scrabble or pack of cards.
- There is a strange policy of billing some things in Aussie dollars like the room rate and the meal package, and the rest in Vatu, including all individual foods and beverages. I was completely confused!
- 5% surcharge for paying by any credit card. I asked if I could pay by internet transfer and they kindly said I could, but this is not advertised. Like the mozzie coils you have to ask. You may want to consider pre-paying to avoid this.
The good news is that these are all relatively small things and easily fixed or worked around. None of them would stop me from recommending Aore, but they do make the difference between good and great.
One last note… One of our sons got stung in the water by a Stinging Hydroid that looks like a seaweed but stings on like a jelly fish. This is quite a nasty sting which caused an allergic reaction. It was attached to a buoy line. – DON’T TOUCH ANYTHING IN THE WATER AND WEAR A TEE SHIRT OR RASH VEST WHEN SWIMMING anywhere on the reef. The staff were extremely helpful in dealing with this.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin, australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

We had a great stay, the bungalow was beautiful and the staff were very friendly. However the management knowingly left us on the mainland for over an hour after an exhausting day trip. Other guests were arriving, and instead of ferrying us across which would have taken 10 mins we were told we had to wait. This, and the owner not acknowledging or apologising for this mistake and instead justifying why he would do it again, really did ruin our stay at aore resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lachy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We spent 5 nights on Aore and were looked after by Anne, Jodie & the local staff,
Who keep the Bungalows & Resort very tidy. While out of the kitchen the food is fabulous especially the Santo Steak & Poulet fish.
During the day Aore and Santo has plenty to keep you distracted so you won' t miss the Luxuries from home, we loved snorkeling metres from our bungalow were there's plenty of Fish & corals to see.
The resort runs a regular boat service to Santo during the day.
We spent most days on Santo finding our way to the main beaches & sites, which is challenging as Signage on Santo seems to have been from WWII & which is now just a memory.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Fantastic place and very very well run compared to the other places we stayed at in Vanuatu. If you want to chill out, swim and snorkel in front of your room in quiet friendly surroundings then this is the place. It is not for those who want music blaring, nightlife, kids clubs, room service or airconditioning.

We could not fault it-our teenagers loved it the best and did not miss TV for a second. The staff are great and the place is immaculately kept. Next time we are flying straight to Santo so we can avoid Vila totally and head straight to Aore island to unwind.

If you are visiting please bring some supplies (books, art materials etc) for the island school or consider a financial donation as they are building a new school. Ask at the resort office and they can arrange for you to visit the school and hand over your donations in person. This was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w.a
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

we have just returned from vanuatu. we spent 5 nights at irriki resort in port villa and 3 nights at aore. we wish it was the other way around aore was much better.it was paradise it felt like your own deserted island. the huts on the beach were great, really clean with plenty of towels. the food was yummy and a lot cheaper than iriki resort.the snorkelling was great and very close to the ss coolidge. there are 2 kyacks which was good . a catamaran would be good. jodie the manager was lovely ,friendly and attentive the owner wasnt very friendly , there werent many customers yet she didnt introduce herself to us. service was quick. we only went on 1 tour ,a trip down to the blue hole $100 for 1 half hours which was too expensive. the island is 40km and you can ride around it but we ran out of time. my mother sent me a text message that there was a tsnami warning but we had no idea! we had 3 eathquakes whist there . it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen6693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Superb location and staff. The resort is on a seperate island which gives real away from it feel. The rooms are clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. The resort boat that goes to the mainland links in with the trips

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller99nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aore Island
7.4 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
5.1 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aore Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aore Island Resort

Property: Aore Island Resort
Address: Aore Road | Espiritu Santo, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Aore Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aore Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aore Island Resort is a stunning Pacific Island retreat with an authentic and welcoming culture nestled in a unique natural paradise. Experience the raw luxury of our private boutique bungalows and indulge in an impeccably fresh beachfront dining experience overlooking the crystal clear waters of Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aore Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aore Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Aore Resort Santo
Aore Hotel Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing