We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid American Fare”

Chapman's Restaurant
Ranked #232 of 349 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State Road 446
Transit: The city bus stops within one block of the restaurant.
Description: Chapmans Restaurant and Bar is a new American fine dining restaurant and catering venue. We serve lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. We are a from scratch kitchen that works with local farmers to provide fresh and flavorful meals for discerning palettes. We have an extensive and expertly paired wine menu to match our dinner menu. Our banquet hall is the perfect place for parties and presentations of all sorts. Our spacious and immaculately maintained ballroom has hanging chandeliers, tasteful mirror arrangements, and luxurious accouterments to meet the needs and budgets of all parties. We have the most reasonable pricing in town and can scale up to any budget.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Solid American Fare”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Chapman's is solid American Fare - nothing too adventuresome, but always good quality and reasonable prices. The ambiance is nice, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    4
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely not worth the price :(”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I expected fine dining, but instead got a long wait time, and below average food. I had a Cesar Salad with grilled chicken. The chicken was very tough frozen grilled chicken. And judging by the very limp lettuce, the salad had been made the day before. I definitely wont be going back. :(

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hobart_Indiana_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
“Poor Easter brunch”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We expected the Easter bruch buffet to be up to the standards of a fine restaurant. Instead, we Would have had better at a Golden Corral. Waitstaff was over-extended with a long waits to place orders and get check. Buffet, in a hall down a corridor from the main restaurant, was mediocre. Limited omelet ingedients, one guy with two pans tried to keep up with demand. Salad bar was just that, no shrimp, seafood salad or anything special. Limited bread and pastry. No Carved meats-everything was in chafing dishes, with overcooked sliced ham and beef swimming is liquid and lacking in fresh sliced texture and flavor. If the vegetables-corn, corrots and beans-were not canned, they made them seem so. Scrambled eggs were cold, dry and of an odd texture (egg beaters?) We found a long hair in the ham. Bacon, no sausages. Overall impression was that profits trumped quality that day. Website offered unlimited Mimosas with brunch, no exception mentioned for Easter. Not available that day. Don't know if this place has slipped in general or or this day was exceptional. I don't care to find out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldcheapskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, Good Food”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Visiting family in Bloomington, and sis in law made lunch reservations here. Not necessary as place nearly empty. Server sat us in nice dining room near fireplace. Small but adequate lunch menu. Had read reviews and tomato Gouda soup got raves. Sis in law ordered it and I had a taste-very good!!I had to have Italian wedding soup and it was superb. House salad was fresh and crispy. Two diners ordered the ham quiche which they said was very good but TINY portions!! None of us eat big portions of anything but these portions were really small. Service was very good although I suppose with so few customers, it should be. Dinner menu looks very good, too, and would like to go on a Friday or Saturday when live music is offered.

Helpful?
1 Thank carocross61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Who cares?”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

With so many good restaurants to choose from, I can't imagine why anyone would drive all that way for bad service and frozen food. None of their entrees taste fresh. Get with it Chapman's, this is the 21st Century.

Helpful?
Thank Snotnosepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapman's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chapman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing