We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate long stay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Tough call on whether to give this long stay hotel a 3 or 4. In the end it just was not special enough to round up from 3.5

Pros were a comfy bed, quality TV and picture, full kitchen and friendly staff. Good work area and internet.

Cons were very weak breakfast and breakfast area, cheap kitchen appliances and minimilist kitchen supplies/dishes/pans etc. Too cramped to be practical to use fold out couch.

To me this one comes down to will you use the full size fridge, stove and dishwasher and what rate you get on the room.

Location is fine with some restaurants within walking distance and shopping close by. About 12 minutes drive in low traffic to IU.

It was clean and quite and I could easily have given it a 4 despite the cons because the rate for longer stays booked in advance was about that of a normal hotel. For me the breakfast and feel of the cheap appliances just did not justify 4 stars. The appliances worked well enough and if you get a good rate and plan on cooking your own meals this is an excellent choice as Bloomington hotels are not that great and rates are high.

A "moderate long stay hotel" and it gets a moderate rating.

Room Tip: Try and get the discount for multiple day stay. Pool is outdoor. Only one elevator. Get what breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreindsofMishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. We are pleased to say that we have recognized many of the points you mentioned and are addressing those during our current renovation. Upon completion of our renovation we will have a new breakfast room with expanded food options and all of our suites will be refreshed to include brand new appliances. Hopefully you will come back to try us out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

This property had very friendly service, comfortable rooms, and a relatively convenient location to get into downtown Bloomington and to IU's campus. Unfortunately, we were in the area at the height of Fall foilage season, so all the hotels in Bloomington were overly expensive that particular weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel met all your needs, Unfortunately, rates can be a little high during the summer and fall with so much going on in Bloomington but hopefully you will be back when it is a little more calm in Bloomington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few weekends ago visiting family in the area. It was a great experience. Everyone was friendly and helpful as previously stated. Next time we come through the area we will definitely stay here. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the top floor and it was quiet. No noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBumES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to your return next time you visit Bloomington. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the same friendly service that you had anticipated from reading our prior reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were visiting colleges for our son - and enjoyed our one night stay at this property. We had a one bedroom suite for my husband and I as our son used the sofa bed in the living room - spacious and comfortable for all 3 of us. Nice breakfast - very clean room and hotel. Hannah at the front desk was so personable - and helped us find a fun college pub for dinner and to experience the campus life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnmommykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

It is so great to hear that Hannah was able to direct you one of our great local dining options in Bloomington. Out town has a lot of great places so we hope you will return to see us and try out some more of them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I come to Bloomington about two times a year, and this was our first time staying at this hotel. We had a studio room, which was just perfect for us. The hotel is conveniently located and clean. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to provide exceptional customer service so thank you for letting us know that the service you recieved was helpful and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were in town for IU freshman orientation. This was a perfect place for us - 2 queen bedrooms and a sleeper sofa made for plenty of room. Comfortable beds and a quiet room, everything very clean. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathbowg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you a lot over the next 4 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

For a Marriot property we were quite displeased. The carpet, paint, etc has not been updated for years. Just not the experience that we have had with other Marriot properties. Location is immediatley off of St Rd 37 which is convenient.

Room Tip: Try another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your review. While we are anxiously awaiting our upcoming renovation, we continue focus on providing the things that really seem to be important to most of our guests such as clean rooms and exceptional customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#5 of 24 in Bloomington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Bloomington

Address: 105 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £85 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing