We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, roomy, well-priced hotel for extended stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights while attending a conference at IU. Our 2 bedroom suite was roomy, well-appointed and clean. We had a full kitchen.The queen beds were very comfortable and each had 4 pillows. There were 2 good tvs with digital cable and DVD players. The limited continental breakfast consisted of coffee, OJ, bagels, cherrios, cream cheese, hard-boiled eggs and yoghurt. Chocolate chip cookies were available each evening.
Maid service was good except for one day when the beds weren't made up. We found someone's sock behind a chair! The toaster burnt my bagel and never worked after that. Our icemaker didn't work although ice was available in the lobby area. Front desk service was friendly but seemed to change frequently. Newspapers were available each day and you could "borrow" free DVDs to watch in-room.
There is a small outdoor pool but it was filled each night of our stay with the same group of beer-drinking men. The fitness room had a variety of equipment. There are many restaurants within walking distance including McDonald's and a good steakhouse.
Our room was often quite noisy. One bedroom was next to the stairs and people were clomping up and down at all hours. We could hear people above us walking around.The front desk person was unable to split our bill even though we were told we could do so. The handle to the "secure" hall entrance door near the room broke and was never fixed. Despite these concerns, we had a nice stay (great beds!) and think we got a very good rate with the AAA card.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2008

is was a nice stay i went here for a softball game at indiana it was a nice stay is the staff was nice and kind i head there were a pool i wish it was indoors it had a store in it is near the college it;s a nice a hotel

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SouthBendInJahoops10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

RE: Bloomington TownePlace Suites

Our family of 4 checked in to observe only 2 towels in the room. We called the front desk to request more and:

1. they said they ran out of towels in the afternoon so we couldn't get more and we might get some when housekeeping came in to wash more the next day!


2. they then proceeded to accuse me of lying about not having enough towels saying my "children took them" (note: they are toddlers)

What kind of hotel manager becomes aware of a situation like this and is unwilling to throw towels into a washing machine!?

What kind of service organization accuses customers of lying?!

I have requested my money back and and official apology. I intend to post their response or lack of response to my formal complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank asdf111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2007

Nice hotel, conveniently located on the westside. New decor; very comfortable beds and linens. Laminate flooring in bathrooms. Lobby undergoing renovation as of 4/2007. Agree with previous poster about breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2006

The Towneplace has certainly changed, based on some of the reviews here.

The hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are new, with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Marriot has outdone themselves with the new mattresses and bed linens. Truly top notch.

Loved having a full kitchen for the week. The staff at the Towneplace far surpassed any staff of any hotel (and I travel 50 weeks out of the year) I have stayed at. Friendly, knowledgeable and will bend over backward to make your stay perfect.

The room was very clean, all the amenities were top notch.

The "breakfast" they serve in the morning isn't anything special. Cold cereal and bagels, apples, oranges and juice. A carboholics dream.

Luckily the kitchens are well stocked and the grocery store is just a hop-skip and a jump from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TouringSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Deerfield, IL
11
Reviewed 26 October 2003

Marriott put 2" foam pads instead or real mattresses in the whole hotel. Box spring is a wooden box. Avoid this place! Go next door to Fairfield Inn.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2003

Not bad but,...... you could probably do better. You get a lot of space but not much service or amenities. housekeeping forgot to give us coffee for the coffewe maker almost every morning. If you're traveling with kids or a large group then the two bedroom suites with a pull-out sofa will sleep a bunch of people. Don't expect continential breakfast or free newspapers (available but they go quick). The bathroom and vanity was laughably small for two guys, the ladies would hate it. Worst of all are the 4" pads on the beds. No mattresses, just Marriotts' lame substitute that they use in some properties. The sheets don't fit, the "mattress" curls up on the edges, and are VERY uncomfortable. Avoid any Marriott hotel with these mattress substitutes. I travel a lot and have had them in a Residence Inn also. They are the worst.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomington
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Bloomington

Address: 105 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing