We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Clean, pleasant room, but rather small. Helpful staff. My husband and I only stayed 1 night as we dropped my son off at IU. We would recommend staying at this hotel and would return there for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank normcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your stay! It was great to see you found the rooms clean and comfortable and that our staff was both helpful and attentive. We do have a variety of room sizes at the Biddle Hotel and so on your next visit we'd like to invite you to select one of our King or Queen size bedded rooms. These are a bit larger and we also do have several suites located in the building if you need quite a bit more space. Welook forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

You cannot beat the location and ambiance!! Beautiful setting in old part of this great campus. Easy access to campus locations, walking trails thru campus, and access to downtown with a walk down Kirkwood. Located in the IU Memorial Union, there is an excellent bookstore just down the hall from the hotel side, with an excellent variety of IU clothing and gear, as well as books. Wonderful quiet lounges in the IMU for reading, or just relaxing. This hotel provides you with a great "campus" experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Thomas J. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Go Hoosiers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel, best location in B-Town, worked out great for a wedding, didn't have to leave the building for hotel/ceremony/reception. Bed not quite firm enough for my preference, appliances in bathroom could use a facelift, but clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steve872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We truly appreciate you taking a moment to tell us about your stay. The staff was excited to see you rated us so highly in both guestroom cleanliness and our overall service during your most recent visit. We hope you will get a chance to come back to B-Town and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent service and a clean, comfortable room within the Student Union of Indiana University. Beautiful, historic building, centrally located on campus and within walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We appreciate you rating us as Bloominton's Best! The staff at the IMU is very concerned about our guest's IU experience while they are in Bloomington. The building is unique in many ways and the feel of the Union really gives the visitor the full college experience. The IMU has many dining options within the building and is just a short walk to Kirkwood Avenue where many of great local eateries are located. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is located on campus and the staff is great. If you like an older, charming hotel, you can be happy here, but beware - no restaurant for breakfast and room service ends at 9pm. Local restaurants are close by, and many will deliver, so it's not like you have to go hungry. But for my teen raised on flat screen TVs, a Hilton Garden Inn would have served his needs better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mom2teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. It was great to see you rated us highly in cleanliness, staff service, and as a great location destination. The Biddle Hotel is attached to the Indiana Memorial Union and while in the timeframe between the summer session and the fall session many of our restaurant outlets close early they will resume next week to normal hours. I am sorry that this impacted your stay. This happens rarely but when it does I can see where it would be an inconvenience. We'll see what we can to do to provide other options to our guests. Thank you for letting us know what happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fire alarm at 11:30 at night !!!! Would need an incentive to stay here again. This hasn't happened to me since I lived at McNutt quad 40 years ago. Room was clean, front desk service was excellent and parking was free.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking a few moments to tell us your most recent trip to the Biddle Hotel. I was glad to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful and our guestrooms clean and comfortable.

I would like to apologize about the fire alarm disturbing your stay. In this type of situation we want to minimize any inconvenience. Our first concern is always our guest's safety and abiding by the law. Because the IMU is classified as a high occupancy building (as are most hotels in Bloomington) the alarm system rings directly to the fire department which dispatches fire fighters immediately. We must first acertain why the alarm went off and the fire department must give an "all clear" before we can declare a false alarm. A late night alarm is nevertheless a "bad wakeup call". Fortunately, this happens rarely but we would want to err on the side of safety. Conveying relevant information to our guests is important in a situation where an alarm goes off and we all want to silence an alarm as soon as safely possible. Thank you for letting us know how it impacted you. We will also review our process to see if there is anyway else we can minimize the inconvenience while maintaining our commitment to guest safety.

We do want you to feel comfortable in returning to the Biddle Hotel. You had mentioned some type of incentive in order to return. I realize this was an unexpected inconvenience and am certainly willing to see what we can to to make it right. I will reach out to you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful. I had a block of rooms reserved for a wedding and all that attended had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JeffreyF540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Congratulations to the Bride and Groom! The team at the Biddle Hotel and Conference Center appreciates you letting us be a part of such a special event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#1 of 24 in Bloomington
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cascades Inn
Cascades Inn
#15 of 24 in Bloomington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 900 E 7th St, Bloomington, IN 47405-3905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £72 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. Nestled in the heart of Indiana University, our Bloomington boutique hotel offers 189 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, which include classic furnishings, luxurious linens, signature bath products from Gilchrest and Soames ®, flat screen televisions and spacious work areas. Situated inside the stately and elegant Indiana Memorial Union, this upscale Bloomington hotel is perfect for travel to Indiana University. We are located steps from the Sample Gates, as well as the famed Kirkwood Avenue and Bloomington Entertainment & Arts District, offering a diverse restaurant scene, arts and entertainment, and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel Bloomington
Indiana Memorian Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing