We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Learning experience”
Review of Oliver Winery Downtown - CLOSED

Oliver Winery Downtown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Learning experience”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Part of a food tour, we were served 3 wines, a pinot grigio, a chambroucin and a catawba. We were also served some bread, a tomato basil jam, and some cheese. The wines themselves were alright, but the manager made a great effort teaching us about pairing, dryness and the five Ss of wine tasting. I would go for the experience and buy some of the wine, but not all of it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuruN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting at Oliver downtown location”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very nice location across from the courthouse, invitingly designed with bar as well as table seating indoors and sidewalk tables. We visited Oliver to sample the wines, so I do not comment on the food except to say that there seemed to be a varied and appealing mix on the food menu. I enjoyed the Oliver wines - any trip to the Bloomington area really should include a sampling of these wines. And, if you find you have a little bit more time to spare, I highly recommend a visit to the Oliver Winery itself: it has a gorgeous wine tasting room, beautiful views of the vineyards, and a very well stocked market for purchasing wines in small and large quantities, cheeses, and related accoutrements. There is also a pond on the property where guests may picnic and enjo the out of doors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vernon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“upland wine trip”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It was open late on Saturday. We had a group of 6 that attended the wine tasting here. $5 a good deal for 8 tastings. Very nice tasting room, clean, and service was very good, Very helpful, and informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank campfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good Hangout Spot; Unfortunate Wine”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is one of the best spots on the square right now. The ambiance inside is open, comfortable and inviting, if not a bit gothic from the stone motif. They have a relatively long bar with well-spaced, comfortable seats. The patio outside is a wonderful spot to sit on a decent day and watch the city go by. The staff are very nice and the service is excellent. The crowd is generally older, and this seems to have quickly become the hip spot for the over-40 townies.
Past these points though, this fails as a winery tasting room on an important level. You should not come here expecting a "winery" in the sense of a winery in any respectable wine region. This is Indiana wine; it's just not that good. People will tout Oliver's awards and profess that it's "pretty good," but I'm giving you the hard truth here: it's not. Oliver has some competition in the area but, overall, they're the best of the worst, and that's led them into this sort of unfortunate snowball affect of undeserved reputation.
I mention all of this because, at this tasting room, you cannot get anything BUT Oliver Wine. If they had a few respectable guest offerings, then I think some amount of leniency would be in order. They're also charging roughly $8 per glass for their own wine, which is high even for Bloomington's already overpriced wine lists at places that have to compete with each other.
I've only seen the food. They offer small plates for generally over $10. From what I've seen, I would not order the food here.
If you end up hanging out here though, Oliver has a couple of tolerable wines, namely the Chambourcin and the Gewurztraminer, so I would go with those or the cocktails they offer. I would try to milk that drink and just enjoy the patio though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oliver downtown”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I truly enjoy going to Oliver's on the square in Bloomington. It is such a relaxed atmosphere. They have very good wines and the flights offer the opportunity to compare the wines. A definite place to visit in Bloomington.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver Winery Downtown also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing