We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vegetarian in Bloomington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Owlery Restaurant

The Owlery Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 342 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the north side of Bloomington's downtown square, The Owlery offers high quality, vegetarian food at affordable prices. At the Owlery, we challenge ourselves to find responsible sources for our ingredients and ethical ways of doing business.At the Owlery, we greatly value the cultural significance of dining together and want to reflect what we love about the Bloomington community - its diversity, openness, and thriving arts scene. We also hope to foster a work environment where employees have input in the restaurant and feel valued as friends and workers.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian in Bloomington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The new location for the Owlery is conventiently located in the main square of Bloomington. The food is healthy and delicious! The staffing is light, so I wouldn't recommend it if you are in a hurry (30 minutes or less), but the food and service are well worth the wait!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltexas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
233 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I went to this restraurant after spotting it on Trip Advisor. The address has changed: 118 West Sixth Street, Bloomington, right on the square. My daughter is a pescetarian - fish and shellfish only - so I thought it would be a treat for her. It was, in fact, a vegan pleasure!

There were a wide variety of traditional meals with a vegan twist. My daughter and I both enjoyed reubens, while my husband had the portabello pesto sandwich and our guest a BLT. The meat replacements were tasty and well prepared. The sweet potato fries were very good, as were the regular fries. I also had a cup of califlower curry carrot soup, that was delicious.

The service was pleasant but just okay. We went at 3 PM, and everything was pretty slow. They pay a living wage to all servers and the tips are pooled amongst all staff. I tipped generously as a result, despite the slow service.

We also enjoyed chocolate cake - wonderful - with their signature ice cream, oreo with a peanut butter swirl. It alone was worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mym2bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Vegans: check this one out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We were spending just one night in Bloomington and asked at the hotel about this vegan restaurant (and one other) that we had found online. He recommended the Owlery. We were pleased. The restaurant is on the square in downtown. Yes, there are all sorts of owl figurines decorating the space. The vegan food is delicious - we even had dessert! Surprises: there is garlic in the "mac and cheese" and the chocolate-iced lemon cake is heaven!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler46321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit, but not the last...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our first lunch time visit to The Owlery on the square in Bloomington. I think the location and restaurant are somewhat new. We ordered the grilled vegetable sandwich with a side salad and shared a basket of sweet potato fries. My boyfriend was also excited to order a Breckenridge Vanilla Porter on tap. The dill viniagrette on the salad was fantastic, the sweet potato fries were perfectly cooked and not adulterated with overly sweet or cinnamon stuff or dips, and the sandwich had great fresh grilled veggies and an herby yummy taste. Service was good, could've probably had one more waitress in there as it got busy, but no major waiting. All items are mostly vegan or vegetarian which we enjoy. We'll certainly return!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank damwilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Rate Vegan Restaurant In Bloomington Indiana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

After a brief hiatus- I'm happy to announce that the Owlery has opened in a new location on 6th street on the square in Downtown Bloomington, Indiana. They've added a few more seats, a bar, and a vegan pastry case full of delights ranging from cakes made by Chelsea morning bakery, and staff-made cupcakes. All vegan, all delicious. Though they've added a couple of new menu items, the April 20, 2012 grand opening demonstrated the staying power of time-tested favorites like the BBQ seitan sandwich, vegan Cesar salad and the legendary tempeh reuben. The staff is still the same committed core group of staff.

Staff are paid a living wage as opposed to standard restaurant pay structures, so tips are pooled by all staff on hand. It's worth the wait to get a table, sometimes you have to wait 30 minutes on a packed night, but the staff immediately made the adjustment after the grand opening to manage the flow of business to a pace that the kitchen could keep up with.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FatNickelJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Owlery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Owlery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing