We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess needs to wake up and smell the coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hostess needs to wake up and smell the coffee”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed @ this property for one night. In town for a wedding. We had eaten dinner early the evening and I was looking forward to the hot breakfast. Got down to the breakfast area only to find the hostess sitting @ a table sleeping! There were two biscuits in the warmer that were as hard as a rock, the decaf coffee was ice cold (assuming it was brewed the day before), and they were out of the other coffee. There were about 8 guests in the area. Finally after a group of people walked in she got up, but by that time, we had to leave. i didn't want to wake her for fear of her being embarrassed. All in all the hotel was very clean, rooms were well appointed and the front desk staff very friendly. The free computer with internet was all "jacked up" and wouldn't work.. I would give it a 5, except for "sleeping beauty", and the non functioning "free" computer.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor. Very quiet., although the hotel didn't seem very full.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure what this statement means. We did recycle our towels
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bike1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I would like to sincerely apologize for the recent experience you had at our Holiday Inn Express. We take our guest feedback very seriously, please be assured that the entire staff has read your comments, and that daily one on one training is taking place to ensure this type of incident is never repeated. We appreciate you noting that the hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you travel to the Bloomington area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    64
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
148
45
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This location along w/ Linda and the entire staff was VERY accommodating to my particular situation. It is a very well-kept facility, and the extra comps come in nicely when you are doing weekly travel, as I do. I was not wanton of anything. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

Room Tip: Just check in and let these folks do the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our Holiday Inn Express when in Bloomington recently for a week long stay, and for taking the time to share your experience with others. Linda and the entire staff were pleased to see how much you enjoyed your accommodations, the free hot breakfast in the morning, as well as the evening manager's reception.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Check in was a breeze, they already had our keys assigned. We stayed on the 5th floor at the end with a Jacuzzi tub. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Hubby used the tub he said it was nice. The only downfall we had was when someone above us used their tub when the water was filling it up it was quite loud. But of course that stopped when the tub was full.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColieandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed the easy check-in process, as well as the Jacuzzi tub in your suite. We hope to continue to be your hotel of choice in the Bloomington area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

GREAT staff!! Clean rooms and located within walking distance to good restaurants; I recommend Texas Roadhouse and you can get a discount card at the front desk. Dee puts on an awesome breakfast- she was very helpful !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENIFER757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience at our Holiday Inn Express, Bloomington with others. Dee was very pleased to see that you enjoyed the free hot breakfast as well as the customer service that you received.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice sized, Clean, Comfortable, 2 Queen bed room. We had a late arrival and the beds were wonderful. Also a positive comment for the house cleaning staff. I think this is the first time housekeeping did not knock at the door when the do not disturb sign was out. Made for a good nights sleep. Thanks !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we were pleased to see that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callaway, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It's a very new hotel with a good breakfast, clean rooms and I am picky and miss Linda at the desk was very helpful and made me feel at home. Located next to major thou rough fares and multiple restaurants. I will stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingoldce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We thank you very much for choosing our Holiday Inn Express recently when you traveled to the Bloomington area. All comments are viewed and discussed with the staff, Linda appreciated your mention of the service that she provided, as our guest feedback is so important to us.
We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Bloomington area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our middle school team stayed there last weekend for a tournament at the university. Overall the hotel was great: The location was close to the highway, walking distance to some restaurants and the breakfast in the morning was very convenient. Additionally, they let us use one of their private spaces for a team dinner which was great! But I want to extend a HUGE thank you to Rob at the hotel who went way above and beyond in helping me when the battery on my car died. Not only did he jump the battery using his car and his jumper cables, he then drove to Interstate Battery in his car so I could follow behind - not getting lost. What could have been a disastrous situation turned out to be no more than a bump in the road. Thank you so much to Rob!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFSMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express in Bloomington. We were so pleased to read how much your group enjoyed the accommodations, the breakfast in the morning, as well as the hotel's ideal location. Rob was very appreciative that you took the time to note the customer service that he provided, as the entire staff strives to exceed our guest's expectations throughout their stay.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#3 of 24 in Bloomington
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
Address: 117 S Franklin Rd, Bloomington, IN 47404-5296
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing